We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in dec, 2012. It is a beautifully decorated hotel. We stayed there twice during our trip. The hotel is close to the Shwedagon, which can be seen from the hotel room. The first room we stayed in had moldy smell, maybe from the aircon. On our way back, the second room was much more pleasant. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Yangon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weichem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    645
    176
    48
    15
See reviews for
161
604
73
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We didn't get off to a good start because the hotel staff were really rude to our energetic and caring Tour Guide who wanted to make sure we were correctly booked into the hotel.
Then we had to listen to endless Christmas Carols piped into the bar/reception area in the foyer. It was like being in a shopping mall in any Christian country. On the only night we were there which happened to be a Saturday we had a live band outside our window. It played rock music until 2330.
Other than that the rooms were clean but forget-able.
We could have been anywhere - resorts in Thailand or Bali come to mind. Personally I like the Buddhist Myanmar culture and would like to sample it in all accommodation in Myanmar.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor next to the live music. Upper floors seem to have a view of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for the first night in our trip to Myanmar. Rooms were nice and clean. We were travelling with our children and they stayed at the room next door which was conveniently communicated by a door inside the room.

The room was ok, nothing spectacular but with lakeview. Small bathroom with standard toilettries. Quite clean.

The children loved the swimming pool which has a wonderful view of the lake. It was a nice way to relax a bit after a long day visiting Yangon's sights.

A bit after that everything started to go downhill. For starters, they charged us the most expensive beer we had in Myanmar. We had dinner at the restaurant and the service was terrible. Prices were kind of high as well for the country's standards. But the worst part came when we got back to our room, there is some sort of club at the other side of the lake and the loud music made our windows vibrate. Impossible to sleep. Once they realize they wouldn't convince us to stay at that room, they managed to change just one of our two rooms. So our children stayed at the noisy room and we got a different one.

I acknowledge that I had high expectations in terms of the service and that made our stay at his hotel kind of disappointing. But if I only consider the bright part, I could stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms have a nice view during the day. If the club at the other side of the lake is open wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldon_region4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiari, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The overall impression of the Kandawgyi is surely positive. The place is stunning, mostly built out of wood, the architect and owner have a great taste as far as interiors go, the hotel is a perfect mix of western taste mixed with eastern architecture. The lakeview rooms are simply gorgeous.
But a few details have to be considered. Dinners were pretty awful. We ate there twice (on the first and on the last night of our trip), and both were terrible. Both were set dinners; the first one was a western-like buffet that could be appreciated for the fact that they tried, but the result was quite terrible. The last one was a set Myanmar cuisine menu, which was way worse than any other dinner or lunch we'd had, both in touristic and local venues around Myanmar. Considering the steep price (about 150$/night for a double room), you can see why the value for money is really scarce.
I would definitely consider going back to this place in case I had a half day in Yangon, or after a really, really hard backpacking trip, just to relax in luxury. If you've already stayed in top-class hotel during your trip, or if - as was our case - you only get there to sleep (we flew in from Inle at 8 pm and left the room at 7 a.m.), please don't book there.
But mostly the food (at least set menu) was terrible; breakfasts, on the other hand, were amazing, absolutely the best during the whole trip in Myanmar.

Also, you don't expect such a costly hotel to have a huge, dirty spiderweb under the desk in a room. You really, really expect them to clean it up, even though they're buddhists.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Federico V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
610 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We sayed here for 2 nights at the end of our Myanmar adventure. The hotel was beautiful, the staff were friendly and the service was efficient. There was quite a musty smell coming from our room which was unpleasant. We enjoyed our breakfast both mornings, and 1 night we dined in 1 of the restaurants and the food was absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel is a low rise hotel by the lake. The hotel exterior was very attractive with teak front and Burnese roof style. The room was very big and clean, with teak wooden floor. Each room has its own internet router; but the speed is still slow when down load. Our friends told us the reason, but not to put in writing. The air conditioned was not able to adjust the thermo, I had to turn off, due to the temp went down to 17 degrees. Luckly the weather outside was nice.
The hotel provides breakfast with vast variety of many nations; Japanese, Indian, Thai, Western and local. The Burmese Tea is a must to try. But the coffee was a bit dissapointed.
The hotel has outdoor sitting area, but there was no mosquito prevention or spray.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rungsan_Hme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here 3 times during my trip round Myanmar. Each time a first floor room but not the same. Good sized room, excellent shower and a veranda overlooking Kandawgyi lake.

This is not an old palace as another reviewer suggested but a purpose built hotel, owned by Myanmar's richest entrepreneur.

I ate in the hotel's cafe on each night adn breakfast and the food was varied and good value, with excellent service. There is a French restarant with a tantalising menu but don't expect change from US$100 a head!

A pleasant experience each time I stayed.

Room Tip: I found first floor, lakeside rooms quite acceptable. These are, I think, rated as de luxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#14 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing