We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge hotel with fantastic French restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Auckand
Level Contributor
218 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“huge hotel with fantastic French restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

the main thing we recall about this hotel was the French Restaurant. We were at the end of our Myanmar experience and we were being very careful with our last American dollars. We decided we could afford one course at this lovely little restaurant. The ambience was amazing. beside the river overlooking the Schwedagon Pagoda. It was dark and we were eating outside, The menus had little book lights attached so reading them was no problem. Staff were amazing. We had insect repellent rubbed on our ankles by a lovely young lady who couldn't have been more helpful. We had a complementary entree, a main and a complementary desert. How good is that.
We sat and watched the river and Pagoda and reluctantly dragged ourselves away .

the hotel itself. Rooms good with comfortable beds. Breakfast was disappointing with little or no service. The hotel appeared to cater more for business travellers than tourists and we were largely ignored. there is a very good shop for the last minute purchases. Location was great and the gardens were pretty and unusual. It is not a hotel I would normally choose due to its size and lack of tourist support but it would suit business travellers very well..

Room Tip: high floors overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    645
    176
    48
    15
See reviews for
161
604
73
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Kandawgyi Hotel sits right on the lake which is a great place to go for a run or a morning walk. I was concerned because it was 'out of town", but that turned out to be a good thing. There are always taxis (1970 Nissen) at the door and take you anywhere around town for under $2. My first night I was in a dark room that was very musty. When I asked to be moved the next day, the staff were very helpful and moved to a room with a view of the lake. A couple of tips - take the circular train trip for a dollar, and outside mobiles don't work at all unless on wifi.

Room Tip: With a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ActiveGirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our trip in Myanmar began at this distinctive hotel which was indeed once a natural history museum. If you go for a walk in the garden you will find a dinosaur statue LOL. Like previous reviewers, we had an enjoyable 2 nights here and the staff were friendly and professional.

We had a lake view room and if we could make one small criticism, it was that there was a distinct damp, musty smell to the room. Not enough to make it unbearable but still noticeable. The bed was very comfortable. There is free wifi in the lobby but it is very slow and sporadic (much like the rest of the country). Also, the pool was being renovated whilst we were there too.

Breakfast Selection was quite good but it is always a turn off when you get to the buffet and food hasn't been replenished etc - it looks messy and unappealing. We had to leave early in the morning so the hotel arranged a breakfast box for us which was quite good.

Take the lift to the top floor where you can get a good view of the Shwedagon Pagoda. It's also within walking distance (10 -15mins).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mister7Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My favorite hotel in Yangon. It was once the national history museum and still has a dinosaur model in the garden. Lovely pool, and outdoor ambience by the lake with views of the Schwedagon Pagoda. Comfortable rooms (like any five star hotel). Only real downside is you must pay with cash. Also, more difficult for a business trip because the internet was patchy. Price was higher end but reasonable for facilities.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KalaKatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I generally do not review hotels or anything for that matter, but feel extremely compelled to write this report. We stayed at the Kandawgyi on two separate occasions during our recent visit to Myanmar. The renovated hotel is beautifully furnished with teak wood, a classic look, and beautiful views of the royal lake. Inside the front doors (often opened by a lovely employee in traditional dress) reveals the grand lobby. Just beyond the reception area is a cozy, yet comfortable lounge area with live music and extremely attentive and courteous wait staff. The deck outside provides a perfect blend of nature and serenity to help escape a busy Yangon street. The rooms are tastefully furnished with a noticeable attention to tradition and comfort.

We loved all that we loved at the Kandawgyi, but the staff at the hotel still managed to eclipse an exceptionally managed property. The people of Myanmar are the only thing that can outshine the beauty of the country and the Kandawgyi employees are the epitome of what Myanmar people represent. Kind heart, loving soul, willingness to help, and an always friendly attitude. Our last night in this beautiful country may have been soured by a loss of something extremely special out on the deck. Within moments of the loss of this item that fell through the deck, eight employees converged on the scene. The looks on their faces spoke clearly to us. They didn't act like we lost something, they acted as though they each lost something extremely valuable. They did not relent until, utilizing the most creative techniques, they obtained this small piece of jewelry for us. Before we could even thank them, they dispersed as though nothing had happened.

This was a rare display. We have traveled to many countries and stayed in dozens of hotels, but never seen one care this much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank applaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Kandawgyi is a magnificent Burmese-style structure, beautifully situated on one of the royal lakes north of the city center. There are wonderful gardens and all sorts of places to sit outside and enjoy the views of the lake. Moreover, the hotel is a walk away from the awesome Shwedagone, and guests in certain rooms can enjoy beautiful views of the great golden pagoda, particularly at night. The service is impeccable, and it seems as though everyone is aiming to please.
The whole building is built of teak, and furnishings in the rooms are obviously locally made, which cannot be said for some of the other big hotels in town. It all has a very local character. On the other hand, rooms while borderline comfortable, are just a bit on the damp and gloomy side probably because of the heavy dark nature of teak. Bathrooms, which were renovated recently, are quite elegant, if not not very large. The air conditioning is very noisy when it comes on. When you are at the hotel, you will no doubt want to spend time in the outside public areas rather than in your room.
I love the lobby...and the artifacts on display are fascinating. The pool area is delightful. The breakfast offers a nice selection but pales in comparison to that of Traders Hotel. Still this is a nice alternative to the big city center hotels. Rates in September were still fairly reasonable, but given that the Park Royal and Traders have tripled or quadrupled their rates this year, I wonder if the Kandawgyi will not be far behind?

Room Tip: Rooms face either the pagoda area or the gardens...if given a choice, go for the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rupertpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very good choice. We really liked it. Spacious rooms, excellent views to the lake and nice swimming pool. The buffet breakfast was impresive, what a great variety! Only one bad thing: they were doing some construction works just in front of our room, and it was really noisy all day. When we asked to change the room, the front desk staff were not very helpful and finally gave us another room that was not much better than the original one. But it was just due to the works at that moment. In general, I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Az993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#14 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing