We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paid for a room with bedbugs and breakfasts with flies at USD280 per night!”
Review of PARKROYAL Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
PARKROYAL Yangon
Ranked #11 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was never biten in my life by bedbugs before this stay at Parkroyal Yangon. After only one night at this already unreasonably overpriced hotel, I woke up with at least 10 red butons on feet and arms! My fiance also had at least 5 red butons!!! I complained to the reception but they were just indifferent! In addition, during the breakfast, we had to drive away flies! I have never seen another hotel in any city which charges this price but is unable to provide the most basic sanitary conditions!!!

Our room's layout is strange with two double beds in a long single room as the hotel told us that there are only two beds rooms on non smoking floors (ie. no king bed room)...The bath stub was dirty with black stuff inside.

I will definitely never come back to this hotel and recommend everyone to blacklist this hotel. Could not imagine how this Singaporean chain is so poorly managed...Although my fiance told me before the trip that I should not have too much expectation on Yangon's hotels...

Room Tip: We were at Room 452 of this hotel, so avoid definitely considering the bedbugs!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
There are newer reviews for PARKROYAL Yangon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our second stay at the Park Royal, the last in January 2011. Little has changed except the price, which is up by a factor of more than five! That, perhaps, makes our expectations a little higher.

We had a nice enough room, with a king bed, adequate wireless internet, a large screen TV with (standard-def) international satellite service. Spoken English stations included a couple of Bruce Willis action-movie stations.

Cleaning staff will struggle for the life of this building with engineers and construction staff that did not entirely understand that water runs downhill. Several stops a day are required to clean water standing in the tub or collecting behind the sink. Nothing to be done about it save ripping out all the bathrooms, and this hotel would have little motivation to upgrade, given that it's basically full all the time.

They have adopted the irritating habit of perfuming common areas with plug-in scenters - an unfortunate choice of a very allergenic perfume. They should stop this, it is unhealthful and unnecessary.

Concierge service here is generally quite good and helpful with navigating taxi and language issues. They've taken to including women in colourful traditional dress among the door staff. The location is very convenient, a short walk to downtown and the Bogyoke market, and between downtown and the (must-see) Shwe Dagon Paya.

The hotel has three restaurants - Chinese, Japanese and general - the latter being, somewhat perplexingly, called "La Brasserie" (the last place you would go for a drink, even inside the hotel). We have not tried the Chinese or Japanese.

The main floor restaurant offers the buffet breakfast. It has a lot of items, although they do not change the menu items much day to day. Best are the egg/waffle station and the Asian soups, especially the excellent Mohinga, the local fish noodle soup, and what I take to be a Shan noodle soup.

The staff can be thin for bussing tables and servicing coffee/tea. Hot drinks are decent, if very strong. A weakness is the fruit section, which offers only two or three choices, usually watermelon and white melon. On the street you can buy two shades of pomelo, pineapple, dragon fruit, jackfruit, all kinds of other tropical fruits - the hotel should do better for the price.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms now offering "free" mini-bar - as they should, at such eye-watering room pric...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick_1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was built years ago and used to be a good midrange hotel. With the renovation of their Orchid club floor, it brought them, for us, into 4* range. My review is only of the orchid club rooms and NOT the regular rooms which I find older and in need of renovation and I would not stay in them. Also keep in mind that Myanmar is HOT right now...everyone wants to visit which has doubled or tripled hotel prices as they have limited supply of rooms....so expect to pay...or stay in a poor hotel.

The orchid club rooms were very nice. Good beds, pillows were clean and did not smell and the Orchid Club with open bar for two hours every evening was fabulous! Ladies who worked there could not be nicer....AND they serve quite alot of food as well so you could almost make a dinner out of the snacks....Like I said, The staff was excellent!

Location of the hotel is near perfect as it is 10 minutes from Schwedeggon AND 10 minutes from Scotts Market by car. A/C was cool and crisp inside though it did smell mildewey in some hallways and they use fragrance things to try and masque this. This is actually quite common throughout Myanmar as it is hot all year round and the AC is working 24/7. This hotel also has back up generators if the power goes out...which is does often! Internet connection was surprisingly good throughout.

This hotel has an EXCELLENT Japanese restaurant which offers a $35 buffet of teppanyaki and tumpura and Sushi....Delicious fresh Sushi...We have always eaten here even when we stayed at the strand in the past. The sushi is flown in fresh weekly and was pretty good quality. I am fussy, so when I say pretty good...it is most peoples very good. All the Japanese eat here so make sure you make a reservation or you may not get in.

Overall, this hotel fulfilled our needs and the club lounge exceeded our expectations. For staying in Yangon I would recommend this hotel IF you can get a club room.

Enjoy Myanmar! It is fabulous! But traffic is tough so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing AWAY from the front of the hotel which face a very busy and noisy road!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYCshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Park Royal is a nice place to stay.
Rooms are ok. They are "normal", bathrooms need some renovation in the next years.
The price is fine. So, nothing extraordinary, but very reasonable.
Breakfast is outstanding!
The japanese diner menu can also be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank X7H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband was in Rangoon on business and I accompanied him. We had a very comfortable stay at the Park Royal Hotel. The room was very spacious, and though showing wear, was clean and well serviced. Pool area is small, overlooked, and a little noisy, but you'd expect that in town - we spent a few hours beside the pool, and we mostly the only people there. Pool is cool, shady, and very clean, with attentive attendants. The bathroom was adequate though a little dated. Buffet breakfast was excellent, catering to all cuisines. Supper buffet was good too. The Japanese restaurant is highly recommended, with an excellent buffet too. There is a very good little coffee shop in the lobby, but I would prefer they serve on china rather than polystyrene cups and plastic bags, but the coffee is good as are the pastries. The Tour Desk doesn't seem to know much about what is available, and we found the English difficult to understand...... but pop down the road to The Strand..... there is a very good Tour Desk there. The bar on the lobby level is great and does a Happy Hour each evening but only for 'house pours' and 'beers'...... or pop down to Traders where cocktails are 2 for1 at @ US$5-7. The Spa only does massage, no beauty treatments (waxing, manicures, pedicures, etc), but is reasonably priced.

Of course there are not that many 4 or 5 star hotels in Rangoon at the moment, but you won't go far wrong staying in Park Royal Hotel. It is conveniently situated, and a little out of the main bustle of town, and walking distance to many attractions. Choose a room on the pool-side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Pool-Side of hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s0mersetsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A short stopover as pat of a business trip. Time spent in the hotel was minimal. It provides a good quality place to stay in a highly utilised city. It is however clearly under pressure and I suspect the 'fabric' will start to fray. Colleagues inform me that prices here have (in line with other hotels in Yangon) have tripled in under a year. Hotel is clean, staff are friendly and the experience was positive. Breakfast was very good. I would (and will) return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AandAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Booked late in a saturated market so given a tower room which was very good with dedicated staff but at great expense
Buffet dinner far better at the nearby traders bit tried the Japanese on a previous trip which was A1

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stugletKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,395 reviews
1.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Yangon

Address: 33 Alan Pya Phaya Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11191, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $129 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an unforgetable experience at PARKROYAL Yangon, one of the best hotels in Myanmar, with superb location that puts you in the heart of the city's prized cultural attractions, including the legendary Shwedagon Pagoda and its heritage sites. Explore Yangon, a charming melting pot of noble cultures, scenic attractions and ancient traditions, from our convenient location. Our helpful associates are pleased to point you towards the best local experiences. Whether you're here for work or leisure, you'll leave with happy memories of dynamic Myanmar hotel that pampers you with its superb hospitatlity and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your PARKROYAL Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Parkroyal Yangon Rangoon
PARKROYAL Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing