We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good”
Review of PARKROYAL Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL Yangon
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Booked late in a saturated market so given a tower room which was very good with dedicated staff but at great expense
Buffet dinner far better at the nearby traders bit tried the Japanese on a previous trip which was A1

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stugletKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visited this hotel in October 2012. Just started to accept Visa and Mastercard which made it unique on my trip, as the rest of Myanmar was totally cash. Nice, big rooms, bathroom with accessories, really good breakfast and dinner buffets. Friendly staff, good location in Yangon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QUIGDEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for business.

Staff appeared helpful enough and level of English is more than adequate. However, they still seemed overwhelmed at the time that we checked in (Saturday noon time). Wifi is a bonus though, good signal throughout. Room itself was big but did not feel that clean. And they ran out of non-smoking rooms despite an earlier request - the 'smoking' room that I was put in was pretty grim. The breakfast buffet was not bad, some cooked to order stations.

Overall, it was not bad, but I would not mind staying somewhere else if I return to Yangon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XpandMyHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel has all the facilities and amenities for any type of traveler.Hotel is a little old but well kept and very clean with a great location. Staff are well trained and helpful. Most of them speak English well enough to communicate easily. The breakfast buffet is easily the best in town with a wide variety of fare to suit all.The other restaurants have good quality food and the bar, located at the lobby, is well appointed.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are well appointed but if you want one with a good view of the Pagoda, the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debonnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was booked into this hotel as part of an individual tour package, and found it to be quite satisfactory as a business and tour-group oriented hotel. Wired Internet, satellite television, and an excellent buffet breakfast put it near the top of places in Yangon in terms of amenities, though it lacks the charm of the Governors' Residence. I invited about 8 local tech entrepreneurs for an informal meeting, and we were well served by the hotel staff. Although the hotel is much more expensive than most locals could ever afford, I liked its central location that made it easy to go out and walk around in the city. The shopping mall next door has quite a good supermarket on the top floor, with a wide range of choices including fresh fruits and vegetables. If I were to return for business reasons, I would either come here or to the even-more-central Traders.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluevoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A nice and comfy hotel to stay in Yangon. Close to Scott's market. Walking distance to supermarkets and restaurants. All you can eat buffet dim-sum is really worth the money. USD 16 and eat all you can. Worth the money and their dimsums aren't cheapo for the money. The club at the basement good for a drink or two. be sure to watch man dancing in "puk-su" or AKA Sarong. Be careful with the glasses anywhere. Saw once the bartender just soak in water and then served the glass to customers. Overall is good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cool_kk213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I paid USD 250+ as a weekday rate for a hotel room that was in need of a thorough cleaning and renovation. Cigarette ashes on furniture from the last occupant and a mildew-ridden bath with a tub I would not soak in. Wireless did not work in my room and was slow elsewhere in the hotel.

Most of the staff was extremely courteous and helpful with transportation and business services. I encountered a bit of an attitude from the bar staff and, by all means, do not change money with the unscrupulous people at the jewelry store.

The Traders hotel is a five minute walk from the ParkRoyal and I asked to see a room. All rooms at the Traders are newly renovated and they have a spacious air-conditioned lobby and faster internet. Traders also has a very nice bar where I had dinner one night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#7 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
425 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#6 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
377 reviews
3 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#3 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
322 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#14 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Yangon

Address: 33 Alan Pya Phaya Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11191, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $107 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an unforgetable experience at PARKROYAL Yangon, one of the best hotels in Myanmar, with superb location that puts you in the heart of the city's prized cultural attractions, including the legendary Shwedagon Pagoda and its heritage sites. Explore Yangon, a charming melting pot of noble cultures, scenic attractions and ancient traditions, from our convenient location. Our helpful associates are pleased to point you towards the best local experiences. Whether you're here for work or leisure, you'll leave with happy memories of dynamic Myanmar hotel that pampers you with its superb hospitatlity and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your PARKROYAL Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Parkroyal Yangon Rangoon
PARKROYAL Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing