We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of PARKROYAL Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
PARKROYAL Yangon
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Ballston
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

During a five night stay, I was very pleased with the hotel. The staff were personable and efficient. My room a good size, though the bathroom was a little tight. The public areas and facade have had a thorough make-over, as have (I think) the pool and tennis court. The rooms and bathrooms seem to be updated, though not renovated-rebuilt. That said, I was happy with the place all around. There are three restaurants, all of which served good food at very reasonable prices. The buffet breakfast is a bit limited for western choices, but there are many, many Asian choices. The guy at the egg station is proficient and fast and knows how to follow instructions. Alcohol is a bit dear, but that is local taxes, not the hotel. The bar has a daily happy hour (1600-1900) that you should not miss - buy one, get a second one free. The TV channel selection is not enormous, but the big names for the business traveler are there (BBC World, CNN, etc.) The desks have a small office kit in one drawer - ruler, punch, scissors, stapler, a nice touch. Laundry is a bargain - a man's shirt, skivvies, and sox are less than US$6. The spa is not to be missed for a good massage at a bargain price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at PARKROYAL Yangon, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for choosing PARKROYAL Yangon as your preferred residence in Yangon and for recommending us on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with. Our associates are our best asset; they take pride in providing service from the heart. Our rooms have recently received a makeover and we are in the process of continuously improving them further along with attention to details to make Hotel stays memorable. Our restaurants enjoy good reputation with In house and city patrons with specialty offers in Japanese, Chinese, Asian and International Cuisines. Breakfast offerings have been carefully put together with regular feedback from our valued guests; the cyclical menu caters to the diverse guest demographics. The Lobby Bar is a great venue for business entertainment as well as to wind down after a long day. It offers a variety of cocktails, mocktails, wine and spirits along with a simple snack menu for a quick bite. The afternoon Hi Tea is also popular. Hotel Spa offers an array of treatments with a special focus on Myanmar’s traditional massage. I look forward to your next visit, please be so kind to drop me a note whenever you plan your next visit.
Ram Nurani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    505
    117
    14
    11
See reviews for
66
247
115
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Super 4 star hotel in Yangon and it is 15 mins walk to city centre. Price is reasonable good and room is very clean. There is no wifi in the room. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pub in the hotel is nice with live music. For those single male traveller, this is probably the place you wont miss out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cytan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed there on a business trip. It is a quite old hotel, as in all hotels in Myanmar. Price was quite expensive, but still it is a good option if you're looking for a decent 4/5 stars. Breakfast was good and I think it will satisfy most tastes. Room was small. But then again the location is perfect, not far from main city attractions like bogyoke market, kandawgyi lake, and shwedagon paya.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agentenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's one of the few four star hotels in Yangon. There is a five star but outrageous price. This one is reasonable. The staff were all very friendly and honest. I really liked the people there. The bathrooms need some work, but somewhat expected in the context of Myanmar. The buffet is decent. There is a money changer at the hotel in a jewelry shop. Everything in Myanmar is cash based as of this writing - no credit cards. The hotel will settle your bill but with a 4% service charge since they settle offshore. Close to big flea market. Overall, I had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelguruman11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Yangon is emerging from a forbidden city to a great place to visit. People are very friendly and try to be helpful but language is a difficulty. Beware of money needs. They will accept US dollars, BUT they must be pristine and in mint condition. Ten dollar notes with Lincoln's small picture are NOT acceptable. It must be large (newer issue.) A fold in the middle is not on, nor is a fold in the corner of a bill. A smudge, or tear on the bill will be rejected.Credit cards MAY be accepted in major hotels such as ParkRoyal. There are no ATMS. Hotel rates 4-star in my books. A/C rooms, and clean bathrooms with full western plumbing. Somewhat expensive when compared to other cities, but you get what you pay for. Food prices ex-hotel will cost less than $10US per person. We had excellent buffet in hotel for $US26/person, and FREE full breakfast.

Room Tip: Overlook swimming pool and tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skyblue20040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

For the price you asked to pay the hotel is a expensive however besides the disappointing bath rooms the lobby and restaurant of the hotel are quite new. I stayed at the parkroyal for 3nights and I guess for Myanmar standards the hotel is 5stars but internationally it would be around 2-3stars. The room by iteself is ok and clean but the toilet needs major renovations specially the drainage and bathroom fixtures. Everything in the bathroom is either worn out or rusting and the whole area floods after taking a shower

Its the level attentive and friendly service of the hotel's employees specially the reception and dining areas that makes up for the terrible bathrooms.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coupdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhidham, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

i have been staying at this hotel for past 10 years now ... the best part is that the staff is extremely friendly ... they make you feel at home ... the club floor is a nice stay with the lounge at your service through the day ... the health club is also very good with a good spa to unwind ... the best value for money

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alok a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Yangon

Property: PARKROYAL Yangon
Address: 33 Alan Pya Phaya Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11191, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an unforgetable experience at PARKROYAL Yangon, one of the best hotels in Myanmar, with superb location that puts you in the heart of the city's prized cultural attractions, including the legendary Shwedagon Pagoda and its heritage sites. Explore Yangon, a charming melting pot of noble cultures, scenic attractions and ancient traditions, from our convenient location. Our helpful associates are pleased to point you towards the best local experiences. Whether you're here for work or leisure, you'll leave with happy memories of dynamic Myanmar hotel that pampers you with its superb hospitatlity and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your PARKROYAL Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Parkroyal Yangon Rangoon
PARKROYAL Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing