We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,263)
Filter reviews
1,263 results
Traveler rating
824
334
73
16
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
824
334
73
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial style captains bar shwedagon pagoda charming hotel colonial feel wooden floors pool area old world charm no lift busy yangon rooms are large an oasis the ground floor lovely pool small hotel first floor bustling city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 1,263 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2017

Very convenient location, walking distance to the swedagon pagoda
super friendly and helpful staff
Food is a bit expensive but of very good quality if you re too lazy to go out ;-)
The amenities itself are really nice and comfortable.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Dear Animir

Thank you very much for your kind review of our lovely boutique Hotel.

We are happy to see that you are highlighting the location of our hotel as indeed we are quite central.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again with us

Best regards
Savoy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017

We loved our stay at the hotel. The service was friendly and attentive. They preemptively sent me an email to check on our arrival time, which was after midnight. We had no problem checking in at that time as they were up waiting for us. The wifi worked well. The room was large and lovely. The buffet breakfast was delicious and sitting out on the terrace overlooking the pool was a nice way to start the day.

I am one for smaller boutique hotels or places with character over big, modern yet sterile hotels. I like my hotel to have a bit of the feel of the country/city where I'm staying and The Savoy definitely does. It feels as if you are in a grand house rather than a hotel.

We spent a day lounging by the pool and it was great. Really loved the pool area and the beautiful landscaping and relaxed vibe. We also easily walked to the Shwedagon Pagoda one late afternoon, which is an easy walk from the hotel. I recommend going for sunset. It was an awesome and peaceful vibe there on a Friday night, with many locals mingling and relaxing and enjoying the views. It really is magical at night and I imagine a lot less hot then during the day.

One night we ate dinner at the Friendship restaurant across the street which has decent food and good service and it's nice to sit outside and have a few drinks at a good price. Supposedly there is a very good bookstore down the street that we unfortunately didn't get to.

All in all we loved our stay here and would definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meghan_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Dear Maghan_Melbourne

Thank you very much for your kind review here on Tripadvisor

We appreciate your warm words regarding your recent stay with us.

If you enjoyed the food, please share as well your experience on our restaurant page, https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g294191-d5605968-Reviews-Kipling_s_Restaurant-Yangon_Rangoon_Yangon_Region.html

We are looking forward to welcoming you again with us

Best regards
Savoy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

I must admit that Yangon ( Rangoon) was never on my "must see" list. However, my cruise had 3 days, 2 nights in Rangoon. Rather than go back and forth to the port ( a minimum at best an hour from the city), we decided to spend 2 nights at the Savoy hotel. The Savoy is that perfect little gem that you would be thrilled to stay at no matter where you were traveling. Patrick, the General Manager, and his team were wonderful in making sure our stay was comfortable, and worry free. so we could enjoy the amazing sites, different foods and lovely people of Rangoon. The boutique hotel is in the style of the region, with lovely artifacts. Our room was furnished in the style of heavy wood with rattan. The comforts of excellent air conditioning, good wifi and satellite TV made doing business easy. One of the best features was the pool courtyard- beautiful. Of course, no review would be complete without a comment about the pagodas, shrines, different foods and kind people of Rangoon. Rangoon is in the beginnings of its tourism industry. I think the Savoy Hotel is an indication of its promise.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Dear Debbie D

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with us and other travellers.

We appreciate that you have chosen the Savoy Hotel during your stopover in Yangon and we hope you will have the chance to visit more sights of Myanmar during another trip to our golden land.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again with us.

best regards
Savoy Managemnet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

A lovely hotel and among the very best we stayed in during 3 weeks in Myanmar. Great location, excellent food, nice pool and an old-fashioned feel of colonial-era luxury to the hotel itself. The staff were excellent. No lift.

Room tip: Ours was overlooking the pool and was super. Have no knowledge of others.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sirmoorisomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Dear sirmoorisosomerset

Thank you very much for your kind review here on Tripadvisor

We appreciate your comments and will share especially your praising about the staff with the team.

If you enjoyed the restaurants, please share as well your experience on our restaurant page

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g294191-d5605968-Reviews-Kipling_s_Restaurant-Yangon_Rangoon_Yangon_Region.html

we hope to be able to welcome you again with us and remain with best regards

Savoy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

This was the first hotel we stayed in when we started our tour of Myanmar and we were not disappointed. It was quite a hike up to our room on the third floor and we felt so sorry for the porters carrying our heavy suitcases without any sign of complaint! We had a lovely view over the pool and slept like babies in the huge bed. Breakfast was cooked to order - perfect Eggs Benedict - and although we left very early on our last day it was open for us to snatch a quick breakfast. We didn't eat here in the evening as we wanted to explore and it was only a short walk to several restaurants. A perfect start to our holiday and can highly recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ka_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear ka_bee

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Savoy here on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to see you enjoyed our services so much and highly appreciate your recommendation for our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again with us at Savoy Hotel Yangon.

Best Regards,
Savoy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews