We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique heritage hotel in Yangon”
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here overnight. Although it is bordering on a nice residential part of town it is actually on quite a busy road which surprised me but the room was a delight in its heritage and colonial style. The hotel itself is lovely and the pool is a lovely area. The bar is very sociable with guests and local expat residents. The breakfast room is very pleasant as is the breakfast. The restaurant looks over the pool and is fine dining. Unfortunately I don't recall my meal being all that memorable. The staff are lovely but they could be a bit more efficient - I felt work was needed in that department....it will come I'm sure.

Certainly this is a good choice of a small boutique hotel rather than one of the large chains or non descript ones.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepOnTravelling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear KeepOnTravelling,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for your kind review; we are delighted that your stay with us was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 992 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Savoy Hotel is an atmospheric base to explore the capital of Myanmar. Lovely traditional features throughout the hotel and bedrooms but also a swimming pool and good bar/restaurant. Staff were really pleasant and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Hilary H,

Greetings from the Golden Land!

Thank yo for your lovely review and we are delighted to have read your kind words. We wish you a wonderful weekend and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely colonial hotel with atmosphere. Beautifully decorated with lovely antique furnishings. Friendly staff comfy beds decent breakfast. If I visit yangon again I would stay here. If you need to eat elsewhere, out of the side entrance over the road are a few eating places. Turn left at the friendship bar 10 min walk to golden valley supermarket ground floor has a lovely tea shop. On the same road earlier but on the right , gusto cafe,very good. Next to it monument book store

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank chitchat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear chitchat78,

Greetings from the Golden Land!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have taken the time to write a review here on trip advisor.

It is with great pleasure that we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Alex Ruether
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our stay in Yangon was made all the more special by this beautiful, tranquil oasis that smelled of newly cut flowers everywhere. The staff are friendly, helpful and have a smile for you at any time of the day or night. Our room overlooking the pool, on the ground floor, was immaculate. Each day we were given a bowl of fresh fruit and wonderful fresh flowers; roses, fuchsias and many more. The ambience is charming and restful, welcome after a day shopping and sightseeing.The food served in the restaurants is fresh and tasty and the inclusive breakfast excellent in it;s choices ranging from fresh fruit, continental, English and Asian styles. The bar is relaxing and many ex pats go there for the burgers ( which we were told are the best in Yangon), the reasonable prices.and wide choice of brands and wines. I would highly recommend this hotel to first time visitors, although there is a distinct need for more local maps and tourist information in general, ( I gave our large map to a new guest as the hotel had run out).An updated Lonely Planet book and some print off of maps would help, the map we had only had main streets, and we found side roads were quicker and less hazardous! We would like to say a big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so uncomplicated, enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to staying at the 'Savoy' on our next visit to this beautiful country.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool as the roads around the hotel get busy early and they like to beep t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank marciath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear marciath,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as our amenities.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and showcase our upgrades and additional services.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is a vestige of the country's history, and provides for a calming and relaxing place of rest. It remains relatively compact but the rooms are correctly appointed, and the bedding comfortable. The buffet breakfast is copious, but tast, with a good selection of dishes. For lunch and dinner, the restaurants have a limited number of dishes, which remain affordable and tasty. The bar area is a little small, but convivial, and bar food is available, with the Burgers a good choice after a long flight in, and where you require some sustenance for th rest of your day discovering Yangon !

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear John-Paul T,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel! Teak flooring antiques, beautiful room, service with a very big smile. Feels like staying in an era long ago! Free wifi, which amazed me by working! Several eating places nearby, hotel prices were high. Breakfast good choice and delicious too.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank chitchat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear chitchat78,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for writing up about your stay and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was our last hotel of our trip. We had stayed in the Strand on arrival and we loved both of these hotels for their different individual qualities. It's further out of town, and so closer to the airport, but still in a great spot to get to all sights easily. The rooms are the epitome of subdued elegance and have interconnecting for the children. The hotel generally is very well done interior wise and has a wonderful ambiance about it. Lovely swimming pool too. Had a drink in the bar and only downside was the very loud music which overwhelmed the small room. Difficult to hear each other!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Nicola L,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we greatly appreciate it. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our services.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,402 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,791 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#7 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $231 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing