We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savoy Hotel Yangon
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$383
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$136
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
$242
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Parkview Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$70
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$131
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$104
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$35
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
663
304
72
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
304
72
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial stylepolished teakcaptains barshwedagon pagodacolonial feelcharming hotelwooden floorsswimming poolupstairs restaurantbusy yangonno liftold world charmrooms are largethe ground flooran oasislovely poolfrench restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay. Colonial style building in white with lovely wood panneling. Overlooks the lake which is really lovely and peaceful to walk around early in the morning. The service at the hotel from checking in at the lobby to assistance during the stay was fantastic. The rooms are spacious and lovely- we got upgraded to a suprior suite. The buffet breakfast is good, although service a little bit slow. Great location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear intrepid_pixie,
Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. At the Savoy we constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and we are especially happy that your stay was just that!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!
A.Ruether, General Manager,Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a relaxed few days at The Savoy. Very friendly staff, lovely rooms, good food!
We were much happier there than at The Strand or Governor's Residence! Well located for visiting the pagoda! The breakfeast was also excellent and we had dinner at The pool.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamitanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Mamitanl

Thank you very much for your kind review and the compliments, which we will transmit to our staff.
Such a wonderful feedback is always the best motivation for the whole team to keep on performing the same way.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Savoy Hotel Yangon.

Kind regards, A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I really like this hotel for some reason even if it belonged somewhat from an old era without the modern amenities of so many hotels today...
I got a suite which was huge for one person.. ive got a little powder room, nice little office, spacious bedroom, nice spacious bathroom... the towels are like the best smelling towels I have ever had!!! I wonder what they put on those that they smell sooo good!
TV was kind of small and old which was ok..
No elevator by the way to get to the second floor, like I said, its a quiant lovely hotel..
I love the restaurant, went there several times for breakfast and also one time for dinner.. breakfast buffet was great... dinner was ok, a little on the expensive side i thought especially for Yangon/Myanmar in general...
The hotel bar is also a decent place.. lots of european expats... just kept to myself though since i ddnt really have anything in common to converse with.. just ordered my drinks and chatted with the bartenders...
staff was very friendly.. one of the staff, I forget his name but he spoke very good English and he was very nice and affable... i ddnt get to take advantage of using the pool.. it rained in one of the days I was contemplating on using it.. oh well..
it was overall a lovely stay and I would recommend it...
oh the only gripe i have it the wifi is sooo slow.. but this was true overall throughout Myanmar.. wifi was best at the lounge area.. hope that changes in the future...
place was not too far from Schwe Dagon and downtown region... the staff help you get taxi which is dirt cheap... make sure you bring crisp US dollar bills!!!!
oh by the way, no fitness center.. :( they apparently had one before.. there are nearby gyms if you need to work out... ask the staff...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JSanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear JSanico

Thank you very much for your positive Feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Hotel, the spacious hotel room and the food at Kipling’s restaurant.

We will forward your compliments to our staff, too.

The wifi is indeed not the quickest and we also hope that this will change in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Savoy Hotel Yangon.

Kind regards, A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were here for the Myanmar marathon in January 2013....the hotel is nice and small and the location is pretty good.

Our room was nice but they have two small twin beds instead of a big king or queen bed. If you still like your spouse or significant other than you had better request a big bed. The rooms all have WIFI which is nice and they have nice TVs. They have a limited number of channels (think 5) so for people from the UK it will feel like home. The pool is very nice...small area with a nice surrounding area for food / drinks....which is what we are doing right now. The hotel has a nice bar and if they have a gym I have not found it yet....nor will I given the marathon is tomorrow.

WIFI works throughout the entire hotel....which for me is a winning combination!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JeffofSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Mr. JeffofSingapore,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, relaxed at our pool and enjoyed the Captains bar. We had a gym in the past at the Savoy Hotel but as nearly no guests used it and preferred to stay at the pool, we decided to create a lounge area instead where you can relax, reading a book from our library or having a snack in a calm atmosphere.

We hope you had fun and success at the Marathon and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!

Best regards

A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy at the start and the end of our holiday in Myanmar in December and were very happy with the hotel. We had a nice quiet room overlooking the pool for both stays. The rooms were well appointed in a colonial style, if a little dark (due to dark floor I think). We found the staff to be a happy and engaging team who always tried to make conversation. Do beware though that the hotel rooms are over three floors and there is no lift so if you have a problem climbing stairs then you will need to ask for a ground floor room (staff will carry luggage to the room so you do not need to climb the stairs with suitcases in tow).

The hotel is very well located for sightseeing at the Shwedagon Pagoda, with a very good view of the pagoda from the restaurant, and also reasonably convenient for the airport.

At the end of our holiday we were lazy and could not deal with venturing out into the evening traffic so we decided to treat ourselves to a meal in the hotel's restaurant. We were not disappointed; we had a wonderful meal with courteous attentive service all to an exceptionally high (European) standard. We paid about $55/head including drinks, wine and coffee which we thought was good value given the menu offer and the fact we were in the hotel.

The Savoy was not our first choice of hotel in Yangon and was suggested by our tour operator when they had problems confirming our booking at the start of our holiday planning in Feb '12. We were very happy with the hotel and in fact in retrospect it probably suited us better than our first choice would have done.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if you have difficulty climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaverHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear BaverHare,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. At the Savoy we constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and we are especially happy that your stay was just that! We are happy to read that you liked the room and enjoyed the breakfast buffet and our pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!

A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews