We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book thru your local agent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #3 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Book thru your local agent”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here twice and like it much better than the Strand.
The Savoy is very 'days of the Raj" with agreat location and you can walk to Shwedagon and other restaurants are close by.
The first stay was outstanding. The second stay was less so.
One tip is to get a room on a high floor and a high room number (ex 306-310).
The lower number rooms face the parking lot and the road and also seem to be in less good condition.
On our second stay the a/c broke--they fixed it in a few hours, the sheet did not fit the bed and they fixed it the next day.
But the staff are very responsive and the breakfst room is lovely and the food is good too.
We learned that booking through our local agent One Stop, we got MUCH better rates than when we booked our selves.
Plus--One Stop was simply a great resource throughout our travels and I recommend Kway highly.
Another tiip, the Savoy will change USD at a good rate and gives a higher rate for 100 USD bills. (some other places do as well) As always bills must be in good shape with no marks.
We did find that you are better off using local currency on your travels. The kyat is accepted everywhere.
Contrary to posts I read before our trip, single bills USD were not at all useful. Things are changing fast but from my experience do not bother to bring single dollars. The more 100 bills the better and they are easier to carry!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear JMK2,
Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. At the Savoy we constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and we are especially happy that your stay was just that!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!
A.Ruether, General Manager,Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    263
    68
    15
    17
See reviews for
120
481
69
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay. Colonial style building in white with lovely wood panneling. Overlooks the lake which is really lovely and peaceful to walk around early in the morning. The service at the hotel from checking in at the lobby to assistance during the stay was fantastic. The rooms are spacious and lovely- we got upgraded to a suprior suite. The buffet breakfast is good, although service a little bit slow. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear intrepid_pixie,
Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. At the Savoy we constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and we are especially happy that your stay was just that!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!
A.Ruether, General Manager,Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a relaxed few days at The Savoy. Very friendly staff, lovely rooms, good food!
We were much happier there than at The Strand or Governor's Residence! Well located for visiting the pagoda! The breakfeast was also excellent and we had dinner at The pool.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamitanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Mamitanl

Thank you very much for your kind review and the compliments, which we will transmit to our staff.
Such a wonderful feedback is always the best motivation for the whole team to keep on performing the same way.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Savoy Hotel Yangon.

Kind regards, A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I really like this hotel for some reason even if it belonged somewhat from an old era without the modern amenities of so many hotels today...
I got a suite which was huge for one person.. ive got a little powder room, nice little office, spacious bedroom, nice spacious bathroom... the towels are like the best smelling towels I have ever had!!! I wonder what they put on those that they smell sooo good!
TV was kind of small and old which was ok..
No elevator by the way to get to the second floor, like I said, its a quiant lovely hotel..
I love the restaurant, went there several times for breakfast and also one time for dinner.. breakfast buffet was great... dinner was ok, a little on the expensive side i thought especially for Yangon/Myanmar in general...
The hotel bar is also a decent place.. lots of european expats... just kept to myself though since i ddnt really have anything in common to converse with.. just ordered my drinks and chatted with the bartenders...
staff was very friendly.. one of the staff, I forget his name but he spoke very good English and he was very nice and affable... i ddnt get to take advantage of using the pool.. it rained in one of the days I was contemplating on using it.. oh well..
it was overall a lovely stay and I would recommend it...
oh the only gripe i have it the wifi is sooo slow.. but this was true overall throughout Myanmar.. wifi was best at the lounge area.. hope that changes in the future...
place was not too far from Schwe Dagon and downtown region... the staff help you get taxi which is dirt cheap... make sure you bring crisp US dollar bills!!!!
oh by the way, no fitness center.. :( they apparently had one before.. there are nearby gyms if you need to work out... ask the staff...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JSanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear JSanico

Thank you very much for your positive Feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Hotel, the spacious hotel room and the food at Kipling’s restaurant.

We will forward your compliments to our staff, too.

The wifi is indeed not the quickest and we also hope that this will change in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Savoy Hotel Yangon.

Kind regards, A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were here for the Myanmar marathon in January 2013....the hotel is nice and small and the location is pretty good.

Our room was nice but they have two small twin beds instead of a big king or queen bed. If you still like your spouse or significant other than you had better request a big bed. The rooms all have WIFI which is nice and they have nice TVs. They have a limited number of channels (think 5) so for people from the UK it will feel like home. The pool is very nice...small area with a nice surrounding area for food / drinks....which is what we are doing right now. The hotel has a nice bar and if they have a gym I have not found it yet....nor will I given the marathon is tomorrow.

WIFI works throughout the entire hotel....which for me is a winning combination!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffofSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr. JeffofSingapore,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, relaxed at our pool and enjoyed the Captains bar. We had a gym in the past at the Savoy Hotel but as nearly no guests used it and preferred to stay at the pool, we decided to create a lounge area instead where you can relax, reading a book from our library or having a snack in a calm atmosphere.

We hope you had fun and success at the Marathon and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!

Best regards

A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy at the start and the end of our holiday in Myanmar in December and were very happy with the hotel. We had a nice quiet room overlooking the pool for both stays. The rooms were well appointed in a colonial style, if a little dark (due to dark floor I think). We found the staff to be a happy and engaging team who always tried to make conversation. Do beware though that the hotel rooms are over three floors and there is no lift so if you have a problem climbing stairs then you will need to ask for a ground floor room (staff will carry luggage to the room so you do not need to climb the stairs with suitcases in tow).

The hotel is very well located for sightseeing at the Shwedagon Pagoda, with a very good view of the pagoda from the restaurant, and also reasonably convenient for the airport.

At the end of our holiday we were lazy and could not deal with venturing out into the evening traffic so we decided to treat ourselves to a meal in the hotel's restaurant. We were not disappointed; we had a wonderful meal with courteous attentive service all to an exceptionally high (European) standard. We paid about $55/head including drinks, wine and coffee which we thought was good value given the menu offer and the fact we were in the hotel.

The Savoy was not our first choice of hotel in Yangon and was suggested by our tour operator when they had problems confirming our booking at the start of our holiday planning in Feb '12. We were very happy with the hotel and in fact in retrospect it probably suited us better than our first choice would have done.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if you have difficulty climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaverHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear BaverHare,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. At the Savoy we constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and we are especially happy that your stay was just that! We are happy to read that you liked the room and enjoyed the breakfast buffet and our pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!

A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Really enjoyed this place. Had a suite overlooking the pool: huge, nicely furnished, comfortable bed. No traffic noise whatsoever. Friendly, professional staff. Good breakfast with plent of fresh fruit, yoghurt, good bread etc. Old part of building retains real character. Checked out the (pricier alternatives: Strand - v. elegant but a bit more commercialised (shops etc in lobby) and no pool; Governer's Residence - a bit faux (over-restored) and souless (and 2-3x the going rate for drinks).
Savoy is within walking distance of the Shwedagon Paya and great restaurants like Aung Thang (2 mins). Easy to pick up a taxi immediately outside one- or hotel will get you one.(cost - $3 to city centre).
Has a nice pool which is long enough to do lengths but, as with all hotel pools in Myanmar at this time of year (Dec/Jan), the water is not that warm so you need to be quite hardy to brave it. Very refreshing after a day pounding the streets, however.
We booked all our flights through the travel agency the hotel uses - Uniteam tours & Travel - and they were excellent (answered all emails promptly, good English, delivered tickets to hotel). We spent a day and half in Yangon but wish we'd stayed for 3+. It's great just to walk around the centre streets looking at all the street food, markets etc. There's a real buzz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Liedream,
Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. At the Savoy we constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and we are especially happy that your stay was just that!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,550 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
523 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,437 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#6 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing