We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel from bygone days”
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #2 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night before flying back to the UK. The hotel is a typical colonial establishment having a Captain's bar and a Kipling's restaurant. We had a large, cool, well-appointed room on the ground floor over looking the pool. This was the first time in a month we had a TV to catch up with the news and the only channel that was in English and had news was Al Jezera but it was news! The staff at the reception, bar and in the restaurant were all excellent and spoke good English. We had an extremely good dinner in the Kipling restaurant apart from the wine waiter who had difficulty in determining the contents of the wine bottle. After a restful night, we had a leisurely a la carte breakfast. It really is an excellent place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for Savoy Hotel Yangon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 958 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a charming and comfortable little hotel. What I liked most about it was the intimate and personal feel of the place. The staff was very friendly. The bar was very cozy. I didn't try out the pool but it looked like a good area to chill. We ate at the restaurant the first night we arrived (we were very tired to go out after our flights in), and the food was good although pricey. Had decent wine selections. Breakfast was just ok though..pretty ordinary and too much processed bread and pastries.

The room too was very comfortable and clean. Decent size. Had all amenities. Lot of towels. (Note to women: hotel room bath products do not include hair conditioner.)

Wifi was very slow and spotty...as it is throughout the entire country.

Overall a thoroughly charming and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank probativev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The staff at the reception, the bar, the restaurant and the room service is very friendly, well-educated and informed. All can speak English very well. They proved flexibility when we forgot to tell them in advance, that we have to leave early, but they prepared a perfect breakfast for us at 6.30 am.
The hotel itself is situated 15 Min. walk from Shwedagon Pagoda, on a big junction, but within walking distance to some restaurants and coffee shops. Everything is very clean. The pool is also well maintained and run perfectly.
On some days (maybe depending on the number of guests they have) they offered a very good breakfast buffet. On the other days breakfast could be selected from the menu.
The restaurant is not cheap but dishes were excellent.
Their bar was almost always crowded and attracted not only hotel guests, service was always quick and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kruemel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights before and 2 night after a trip to Bagan. Booked on-line directly with the Savoy and found all communication prompt and straightforward, even when our inward flight was delayed and we needed to reschedule transfer from the airport.
Rooms were attractive in a dark timber / olde worlde sort of way, spacious and generally well maintained. Indeed there was a lot of painting and final refurbishment under way in preparation for high season, so that hotel, its surroundings and beautifully clean pool all looked really fresh. Staff were super helpful.
Our only concern is that rates have more than doubled recently. Perhaps you can get better through an agent but I really hope that the Savoy, and Myanmar in general does not overprice itself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oztraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited the Savoy as day visitors during a trip to Yangon. For $10 each we were able to use the pool facilities which were lovely. We had the pool to ourselves. It was a cloudy day but being English we didn't care! The pool attendant was a bit surprised that we wanted the loungers but made us very welcome! I understand that the decking is all new and the whole pool area was very pretty with hanging flower baskets. The bar was right next door so easy to get drinks topped up. The bar is cosy and has a traditional feel.
We had lunch in the upstairs restaurant with views of the Shwedagon. The meal was very nice, soup, steaks and Italian dishes on the menu.Excellent value, payable in local currency rather than $US if needed. Excellent service. Would definately recommend this hotel and it's facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Tastefully refined and charm of the colonial east of a cultured nature abounds like a classical old lady.Superb staff at reception but be cautious they are careless not not dishonst;prone to make errors.
Would stay here than Strand for quiet refinement and acceptable rates.
Beautiful colonial stylish bar comes alive in a dignified manner in the evenings with good western bar food served.Most tourists spend time here to absrb the spirit of the east. Lounge is even superior if it is old world charm of the east you seek. You are living in a bygone age difficult to capture.

Food is poor because of faulty cooking.Intake of meals to be avoided where possible.Step across the road cheaper and tasteful food of a wide range

Comfortable rooms with beautiful wooden floors but the shower cubicles leak so if you are old be careful of a nasty fall as water spills over.Hotel staff incapable of curing: ask for towels to be placed around before stepping out of cubicle to absorb surplus water

Room Tip: A excellent foot massage not to be missed at the price offered.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruvinivavuniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the Savoy on our arrival in Yangon for 2 nights and again for 2 nights at the end of our trip. My husband and I travelled with 2 young people ages 17 and 20 and by all of us it was voted the favourite hotel of our trip. All the staff at this hotel understand what it means to provide their customers with a sophisticated, quality service. All staff were attentive, and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay or to answer any queries. The rooms are large and well equipped and the pool a great relief from the heat of the city. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were happy to make us anything that was not set out amongst their elaborate buffet - their pancakes were lovely. We only had lunch at the hotel but what we tried was great. It was always a pleasure to return to this hotel after a day exploring Yangon and we look forward to staying there again on our next visit to Yangon. Would not consider anywhere else. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so lovely.

Room Tip: We chose deluxe rooms overlooking the pool and they were great. All rooms are however being renovate...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,690 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,529 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
338 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $157 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing