We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing Its Age”
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2011

It's a shame the owners don't invest some more money to upgrade this once grande dame of Yangon hotels. You can tell it once had its day -- but no longer.

In our room, the curtains were on their last legs, the woodwork was stained, and the TV looked like something I had in my house in 1960. There is one computer in the lobby and no wireless available. The room we stayed in was of ample size but looked faded in every respect.

This hotel does not restrict smoking anywhere in its public areas so the hotels and bar reek of smoke. We had breakfast twice, and the room was full of smoke and on the warm side.

In the plus side, the staff was very nice and you can walk across the street and have a choice of about half a dozen good restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vesparado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 992 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Savoy in Yangon. The hotel is quirky, filled with lots of charater and the service is (for the most part) excellent

Our first impressions weren't great, though. We had ordered an airport pick-up, but it didn't arrive. (Taxis are easy to get at the airport, anyway, so no harm done, but still irritating). The staff were very apologetic and gave us our room immediately, despite it being only 9am. Additionally, the hotel is located on the intersection of two busy roads, and we were worried about the noise, however, our room, on the ground floor was facing the pool and very quiet.

The room was large and airy, with king size bed and desk. The bathroom is looking a little dated, but was immaculately clean. There is a computer available in the lobby, but internet seemed intermittent, but that's not the hotel's fault.

There were lots of nice little touches and the service was excellent. We mentioned that we were celebrating our honeymoon, and they provided us with wine, fruit and a bathtub filled with rose petals. The front desk was also able to assist us with airline bookings and money exchange. Finally, when we checked out at 5am, they had arranged a picnic breakfast to take with us.

We did eat one dinner at the restaurant, and although a great view of the Paya, we found it quite pricy for Yangon (a starter, two mains, a beer and a coke cost $47). There are lots of restaurants in the neighbourhood with good food (we enjoyed Mai Mai Thai restaurant about a block away) for half the price. Breakfast was great, with lots of fruit, freshly baked pasteries and good coffee.

Overall, great place to stay, with character and good service in Yangon.

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CANINLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed two nights in a nice but expensive hotel. No internet connection but this is common in Myanmar. Additionally the pool was unavailable because of "in clorite shock treatment" (not suprprising!).

Room Tip: Better with pool views but not connected with another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IPBURGOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Amazing place, nice and professional people, special thanks to "Mon Mon" the smile of the Savoy Hotel. The style of this place is old fashion, but very confortable, nice swimming pool, and very good food. The place to be at Yangon!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebeoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. The colonial style is romantic, the rooms are BIG, the swimming pool and internet are available 24 hours a day, and staff is friendly and will do what they can to help you with whatever you need. The restaurant upstairs has a view of the Schwedagon Pagoda.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixweeksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed one night at the end of the trip. We were origfinally booked into a huge and very nice suite but it was right by the main room and a little noisy. Reception qwuickly agreed to move us to a perfectly adequate standard room away from the road. Had a few drinks in the bar and there was even live music (which was OK). The breakfast was not bad and the upstairs restaurant has views of the Shwegaggon Pagoda which is in walking distance

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Savoy in November, 2011, two at the begining and one on the last night of our Myanmar vacation. On both occasions we were very pleased with the Savoy, even though our 1st room was a bit worn in spots and the hot water a tad spotty (on our 2nd stay we were given an incredible suite, extremely spacious and comfortable). The Savoy makes up for any minor shortcomings with a very friendly staff (not stuffy), good location, cozy bar, large pool, nice big rooms and excellent value (especially when compared to the other top-end hotels in town). The Savoy is on the smaller side, an intimate, boutique style hotel with a pleasant colonial atmosphere that contrasts and complements the city nicely. Yangon's main sttraction, the Swedagon Pagoda, is just a short walk away and there are several good restaurants very close by. Overall, a very good choice and highly recommended.

Room Tip: most 2nd floor rooms have small balconies 1st floor suite # 105 is enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boontonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,402 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,789 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,603 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $232 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing