We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,073)
Filter reviews
2,073 results
Traveler rating
1,130
739
160
29
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,130
739
160
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shwedagon pagoda tiger hill lobby bar shuttle bus japanese restaurant swimming pool small balcony beautiful hotel lake view club floor luxury hotel breakfast buffet welcome drink special thanks nice pool business hotel rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,073 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've just checked my calendar - we have stayed at the Chatrium 6 times in the past 6 months - busy season, quiet season, gorgeous Christmas season - we've seen it all. Our stays are unfailingly wonderful, largely because of the staff. So many great staff members, but on our most recent stay last week, these stood out: John at the Front Desk, Lucy, Gary and Patrick in the Lobby Lounge, Leo and Victor at the Concierge Desk, and Htoo Htoo who cleaned our room every day. Gold stars for all of them, as well as for all the others whose names we are sorry we didn’t get.

The facilities are great, too. There is a lovely swimming pool, the food menu at the Lobby Lounge is very good, and the rooms are spacious, well-maintained and well-equipped. The breakfast buffet is extensive, with Asian and Western selections - great for those of us who like both.

Occasionally something isn't quite right, but whatever comes up, it is dealt with promptly and efficiently. Strange special requests, such as asking for frozen food to be kept in a freezer overnight, don't even raise any eyebrows. We just ask, and it happens.

Every time we go to Yangon, we talk about trying another hotel, and every time we decide to leave that for the next time, and we go to Chatrium again anyway. That's probably what we will do every time.

Room tip: Get a Lake/Pagoda View Room, and high floors have better views.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a pagoda view room for 4 nights the third week of February 2019 but did not write this review until we had spent 5 nights each in allegedly comparable standard hotels on Inle Lake and in Mandalay and Bagan. The Chatrium Royal Lake even provided competition for the view. The somewhat distant pagoda is not as good as Inle Lake, Mandalay Hill, or riverside in Bagan but for the middle of Yangon it is pretty good and well located for a walk through the park to the Shewdagon. If walking is not your thing then the complimentary shuttle bus runs two hourly from 10 am with a stop at the pagoda as well as other convenient points in downtown. As a room it came 3 out of 4 but was perfectly OK. What made it stand out was the value for money for food and drink. Chatrium is a Thai owned small chain and the management values show, particularly against any of the French Accor group hotels that have a reputation for being run by accountants not customer focused people. Happy hour 5 - 7 pm was thriving on a very pleasant terrace with drinks decently priced including very acceptable Aussie wine. Breakfast was a pleasure with a wide selection and dinner, either for the good value a la carte or the excellent buffet, $30 including unlimited wine after resident discount, were both a sure fire winner. In all our other locations we were looking to go out for dinner but we never saw anything in Yangon to compare with the hotel. Service throughout the hotel was always professional, efficient and courteous. The pool area was also pretty good. Before retirement I travelled quite extensively on business and we have always travelled at this level for pleasure. There are not many hotels I would make a point of staying at again on a revisit but the Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon is certainly one of them. As a bonus, it was the lowest priced of all the hotels we stayed in.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdrianB144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were impressed by the professional level of the Staff, the beauty of the interior decor in the lobby and lounge areas, the comfort of the impeccable room, facing the lake and Schwedagon, the sumptuous breakfast and incredible buffet (the "top " in 44 years of travels)..
In a word, the best hotel in Yangon at a reasonable price ..
Highly recommended !!

Elisabetta, Italy

Room tip: Higher floors with lake/pagoda view
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabetta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is not just old but ancient, nonetheless rooms are immaculate and well maintained. Club rooms have dedicated check-in and lounge with snacks, tea and free drinks, which was pleasant and very useful with our busy schedule. Service was great, whenever we had any housekeeping requests, it took no time at all. We had an upper floor suite and the view of Shwedagon Pagoda was amazing, especially at sunset, the kind of memory that stays with you long after the trip.
Now the negatives. Bathroom was old and dark, you barely see your face, not even mentioning the makeup. Pool area was very dirty, covered with black grime, chairs are ancient, torn and very heavy. All pool chairs are in the shade because sunny area is kept open for functions. We saw the reviews mentioning loud disco parties by the pool and thought that it only happens on weekends not on regular Tuesdays, which was a mistake. It ended quite early though, by about 11 pm. Gym is tiny and freezing cold. The surrounding area in general is quite busy, the air is very polluted so upper floor rooms are a must. Kandawgyi lake looks quite terrible, it's surrounded by slums and garbage, the water is brown and smelly. Scenic walks by the lake or exploring the neighbourhood on foot are out of the question. Taxi ride to the airport is about 25 minutes at 5 am and 45 min in the middle of the day (2:30-3 pm)

Room tip: Upper floor rooms have views and cleaner air, best are corner suites that face away from the pool and busy road but still have pagoda views.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JN217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last week i stayed in Chatrium Yangon for the first time and i was impressed by the Service level of staff in this hotel. The Thai Menu at the restaurant was very good.
The hotel is a bit dated and need an uplift in the rooms especially the toilet.
Overall, value for money for a 5 star hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gd_2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrachayaPuengpanich, Director of Rooms / Hotel's Executive Committee at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear gd_2902,

Mingalarpar.
Thank you very much for your review here on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to know that you were satisfied by our our service from our team members. as same as good menu at the restaurant.

And thank you very much for your constructive comment. We already noted for further improvement.

We will maintain our excellent as well as the position of one of the best five star hotels in Myanmar.

If you have chance to visit Yangon again, please do not hesitate to let me know. We would love to provide our excellent service to you again in near or far future.

Thank you very much.


Best regards,
Mr. Prachaya Puengpanich (Ned)
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews