We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,073)
Filter reviews
2,073 results
Traveler rating
1,130
739
160
29
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,130
739
160
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shwedagon pagoda tiger hill lobby bar shuttle bus japanese restaurant swimming pool small balcony beautiful hotel lake view club floor luxury hotel breakfast buffet welcome drink special thanks nice pool business hotel rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,073 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were impressed by the professional level of the Staff, the beauty of the interior decor in the lobby and lounge areas, the comfort of the impeccable room, facing the lake and Schwedagon, the sumptuous breakfast and incredible buffet (the "top " in 44 years of travels)..
In a word, the best hotel in Yangon at a reasonable price ..
Highly recommended !!

Elisabetta, Italy

Room tip: Higher floors with lake/pagoda view
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabetta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is not just old but ancient, nonetheless rooms are immaculate and well maintained. Club rooms have dedicated check-in and lounge with snacks, tea and free drinks, which was pleasant and very useful with our busy schedule. Service was great, whenever we had any housekeeping requests, it took no time at all. We had an upper floor suite and the view of Shwedagon Pagoda was amazing, especially at sunset, the kind of memory that stays with you long after the trip.
Now the negatives. Bathroom was old and dark, you barely see your face, not even mentioning the makeup. Pool area was very dirty, covered with black grime, chairs are ancient, torn and very heavy. All pool chairs are in the shade because sunny area is kept open for functions. We saw the reviews mentioning loud disco parties by the pool and thought that it only happens on weekends not on regular Tuesdays, which was a mistake. It ended quite early though, by about 11 pm. Gym is tiny and freezing cold. The surrounding area in general is quite busy, the air is very polluted so upper floor rooms are a must. Kandawgyi lake looks quite terrible, it's surrounded by slums and garbage, the water is brown and smelly. Scenic walks by the lake or exploring the neighbourhood on foot are out of the question. Taxi ride to the airport is about 25 minutes at 5 am and 45 min in the middle of the day (2:30-3 pm)

Room tip: Upper floor rooms have views and cleaner air, best are corner suites that face away from the pool and busy road but still have pagoda views.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JN217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last week i stayed in Chatrium Yangon for the first time and i was impressed by the Service level of staff in this hotel. The Thai Menu at the restaurant was very good.
The hotel is a bit dated and need an uplift in the rooms especially the toilet.
Overall, value for money for a 5 star hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gd_2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrachayaPuengpanich, Director of Rooms / Hotel's Executive Committee at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear gd_2902,

Mingalarpar.
Thank you very much for your review here on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to know that you were satisfied by our our service from our team members. as same as good menu at the restaurant.

And thank you very much for your constructive comment. We already noted for further improvement.

We will maintain our excellent as well as the position of one of the best five star hotels in Myanmar.

If you have chance to visit Yangon again, please do not hesitate to let me know. We would love to provide our excellent service to you again in near or far future.

Thank you very much.


Best regards,
Mr. Prachaya Puengpanich (Ned)
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel felt busy but not crowded. I wonder if that changes during high season, and what it feels like then.

For us it was very relaxed and luxurious in most aspects. But the bathroom could use an update - bathtub looked used and had some flakes. Found nasty-looking spots on the sheets that seemed clean but overused.

Appreciated the pillow-choice service, and the USB charging hub.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank YoniG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrachayaPuengpanich, Director of Rooms / Hotel's Executive Committee at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear YoniG_12,

Mingalarpar.
Thank you very much for your review here on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to know that you had a relaxing and luxurious time during your stay in our hotel especially our Pillow Menu and the charge port.

We will keep on maintaining the comfortable and relaxing atmosphere as one of the best five star hotels in Myanmar.

Please feel free to let me know, if you have plan to visit Yangon again. We would love to welcoming and provide our excellent service to you again in near or far future.

Thank you very much.


Best regards,
Mr. Prachaya Puengpanich (Ned)
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great accommodation, location, food and staff. One of the top places we stayed during our trip. The restaurant provides an excellent breakfast and dinner. The pool is not heated but if you are a swimmer it is truly refreshing.

Room tip: The hotel is in a quiet location. Ask for a room overlooking the lake and with a view of the Swedagon Pagoda.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrachayaPuengpanich, Director of Rooms / Hotel's Executive Committee at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Dan W,

Mingalarpar.
Thank you very much for your review here on TripAdvisor.
We are more than happy to know that you had a very good time during your stay in our hotel especially excellent breakfast & dinner at our Emporia Restaurant and good ambiance at our swimming pool area.

Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon is very lucky that we have an excellent team and also lovely guest as you.
We will keep on maintaining our excellent as one of the best Five Star Hotels in Myanmar.

If you have plan to visit Yangon again in near or far future, please do not hesitate dropping me an email.

Thank you very much.


Best regards,
Mr. Prachaya Puengpanich (Ned)
Director of Rooms
prachaya.pue@chatrium.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews