We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I spent the first and last nights of my trip at the Chatrium Hotel Royal. The staff is incredibly helpful and the service is excellent! Hotel rooms are clean, nice size. Bed was comfortable. What is most exceptional with this hotel is the staff. On my first stay, I had an early morning flight before the breakfast begun so the staff packed me a "to go" breakfast and coffee without me asking. Was a nice surprise to see when I was checking out. Too bad this great customer service is not available at hotels in the US!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Don K.

Thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel and the kind review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon. We appreciated you have taken some of your valuable time to share your remarkable experience with other online travelers.

We could not be happier with any others news than to hear that that you are highly satisfied with our facilities and the quality of service provided our staff greatly contributed to making your visit even more pleasant and comfortable for you.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Chatrium Hotel Royal...an amazing experience. The service from the Staff is faultless (Victoria, Leo, Smiley, Patric and Nolan are just SOME of the amazing people on the Staff who we had contact with). The breakfasts are great, cleanliness is superb and smiling, happy faces are every where. The pool environment is fantastic with loungers, palm trees, showers and clean changing rooms.
Thank you to all the Staff...we had an awesome stay and will stay here again if we visit Yangon again.

Room Tip: Pool or pagoda view on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Bruch A,

Thank you for making Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon your home away from home during your recent visit to Yangon. We appreciate you have taken some of your valuable to share your experience and recommend our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that our services and facilities have met your expectations in every respect.

All of our staffs in particular; Victoria, Leo, Smiley, Patric and Nolan are passionate in creating a remarkable experience to our guests and they were delighted to learn that they were able to contribute in making your stay with us even more pleasant for you. Thank you for letting us know.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time we can exhibit once again the very best of Myanmar hospitality.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel by The Yangon lake, The rooms are excellent, and The hotel offer a more autentich burmese sourounding than The other hotel I am usually staying at In Yangon.
The spa and gym facilities are excellent with a great pool area.
Defanetly recommend The hotel, and looking forward ti my next stay.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Newly decorated in state-of-the-art with japanese ambience, Kohaku returns to Japanese food lovers in Yangon. Chef Sawang offers his special recipe on remarkable snow fish and Kobe beef menus with great service for Rose and Khin Malar. We really appreciate the great service and delicious food at Chatrium as always.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pisanu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Khun Pisanu S.

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

Thank you most sincerely for the kind patronage and for taking some of your valuable time to recommend our Kohaku Restaurant on Tripadvisor. We could not be happier with any other news than to learn that you are thoroughly satisfied with the service, foods we provided and the ambiance of our Restaurant.

In particular, Chef Sawang, Rose and Khin Malar were gratified to learn that they were able to contribute, in their own way, to making your dining experience even more enjoyable for you. Again, thank you for letting us know.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming you back again in not too far distant.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Outstanding Employees, perfect services, a Hotel Manager greeting his guests,not hiding at the office.
We enjoy coming back to this well managed and well located Hotel, it is like a little. Resort in bustling Yangon.
Well tucked away from noisy roads the Hotel is just a few minutes away from down town and the market.
Cultural places are very close by.
The Restaurants offer a great variety of food, no need to go out at night.
Our children love the beautiful well kept Pool section.


Lots of nice reasonable stores at the Lobby, a nice. Cafe. Compliments the Lobby.

We always return to this great Hotel, a home away from home and a bit more
My compliment to the Manager and his Team.

In regard to the Room price,this Hotel overs more VALUE, compared to the small Yangon Boutique Hotesl, mostly over rated!

Room Tip: We have stayed at different rooms over the past years and found all rooms very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Charles W.

Thank you for making Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon your home away from home during your recent visit to Yangon. We appreciate you have taken some of your valuable to share your experience and recommend our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that our services and facilities have met your expectations in every respect.

All of our staffs are passionate in creating a remarkable experience to our guests and value all kind of feedback as these are provide us with one way of monitoring our service standards and the needs of our guests.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time we can exhibit once again the very best of Myanmar hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We just loved Chatrium. I picked up a virus the morning we left Australia, and by the time we arrived in Yangon I was really very sick. We were there in May and it was HOT! I was tired and a little bit grumpy but the Chatrium was our oasis.

The hotel is definitely a bit dated but there are renovations underway currently so they are clearly addressing that. The entrance lobby is quite impressive and we received a warm welcome on arrival (and indeed every time we entered and exited the hotel). The swimming pool also needs a revamp, so hopefully they will look at this at some point.

Our suite was just lovely. A bit old fashioned but clean, classy and extremely comfortable. We had a beautiful pagoda view and overlooked the swimming pool, it was a space we felt very at home in.

We had breakfast once, lunch once and dinner once in the hotel restaurant, mostly as I was just so sick by that point I wasn't game to go out in the heat. The dumplings in the Chinese restaurant were some of the best we have had and the breakfast was great! The restaurant staff were unfailingly polite and friendly.

The location is a little out of the way, it can take half an hour to get Down Town and over an hour from the airport, but that's not a huge issue with Yangon's fixed price taxis. The lake is right over the road and it's walking distance to Schwedagon Pagoda (maybe not in 40 plus degrees celsius - we caught a cab!)

By Yangon standards, I think Chatrium is pretty good value as it's such an expensive city. I would highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay in a great location and I would love to see it in a few years once renovations are complete.

Room Tip: Upper floor with pagoda view - stunning at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whereamysbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for the kind review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate the information you have provided and are certainly delighted to read your positive and favorable impression of our overall service and facilities.

Chatrium Hotel is an Oasis of Yangon; we are located just next to the Kandawgyi Lake (Royal Lake) and easy access to the city center. We are focusing in making remarkable experience for our guest. We just recently finished the renovation of our Japanese Restaurant and ongoing with others product improvement plans. We will always look for the opportunity to improve ourselves and enhance our customer’s experience.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is our 3rd Journey to SE Asia in 3 years.
We enjoy the great Culture, lovely People and the Food.
This Hotel, is our favorite, Location, Facilities, Services and Restaurants.

The tropical Garden Poolside , must be the finest of all hotels in Yangon.
Very pleasant Lobby and Public areas.

Nice Stores, Shops to brouse and or get some Souvenirs.

The staff , at all levels is well trained, speaks good English.

Our Check in took us 2 minutes and we got the same Room, we had on our last TRIP.

Tasty , fresh Fruits and a WELCOME LETTER was waiting for us.

After visiting several other 4 and 5 star hotels in Yangon , we love this HOTEL.

Room Tip: Facing the Garden and Pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Mr. Paul V.

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

Thank you very much for the kind review of our hotel during your recent stay. We were very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided.

It was our great pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Do drop us some e-mail on your next trip to Myanmar so that we can exhibit once again the very best of Chatrium hospitality.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
393 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#14 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,122 reviews
1.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#12 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,096 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#5 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $129 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing