We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel for Yangon stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel for Yangon stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were extremely happy at the Chatrium. The staff were extremely friendly, pleasant and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean, breakfast was plentiful and staff helpful even when they were very busy. They made an effort to accomodate our 3 year-old daughter. The pool was lovely and a good place to relax in the afternoon heat. It's location is a little out of the centre, which we liked as it gave us a break. It's a short taxi to the Shwedagon which was helpful for our sunrise and sunset visits there. Internet was available and speedy.

Room Tip: The rooms with a pool view are nice - you can see the pagoda in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    572
    130
    21
    13
See reviews for
148
514
106
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Good placement, nice and friendly staff and nice large pool (though a bit to the cold side). Nice Big rooms. Why 5? Because they did a bit extra in all areas. The thai restaurant on the other side of the road is also worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bos_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Chatrium is the former Nikko Hotel. The browns in the décor are an indication of its age. I have been traveling to S.E. Asia since the late 1970's and enjoyed the old woods and "patina" of the hotel. Where else would you have teak furniture in a hotel room today? It was comfortable and well run. The rooms were clean and spacious enough. Having a balcony to enjoy the view was a plus and one of the reasons for staying there. I had a club room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trav2learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were a bit suspicious of staying in a luxury hotel in Yangon, but found the Chatrium to be a really pleasant surprise. This is a place you will probably taxi into and out of. Shwadagon Pagoda, airport and downtown is convenient enough. Our room was newly renovated and extremely comfortable. Service was also impeccable. Proper 5-stars, on a par with anywhere. Burmese hospitality is not on its best display in Yangon's tourist spots compared to the less-travled parts, but nothing to complain about here. We had an early checkout and the hotel packed us a to-go breakfast -- nothing special, but a nice surprise. Yangon has an undersupply of hotel options and rates generally may seem expensive, but when considering the rate and offerings relative to more 'charming' hotels (e.g. Savoy) or cheaper options, we found this quite a good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zlisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our stay at Chatrium hotel was good in many aspects. The highlight of the hotel is the service they provide, the staff is very nice and attentive. Our deluxe Suite connecting with the Luxury Suite at the 9th floor fit very well the 5 of us, with enough space for the kids to run around. The complimentary snacks, teas and check in and check out on the 8th floor were a plus. On our rooms we had a big balcony overseeing the lake with astonishing view. The decoration is tasteful and the ambience is nice, the bathrooms are a bit outdated but perfectly functional. The bed sheets are particularly soft, it might be the contrast with the dust and heat outside but we slept like babies at night. We used their services for a day trip to Bago and the car and guide were very good, above average. The hotel is conveniently located close to the Shwedagon Pagoda, a 5 minute ride by taxi.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a high floor. The hotel has a bar on level 1 that is noisy. Moreover we were ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsbeninatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you are visiting Yangon this is a fabulous hotel in a tranquil setting in the heart of downtown and there are spectacular views of the Shwedagon Pagoda from the executive lounge on the 9th floor.

This hotel is a 5 star in every way.

Service at the hotel is some of the best in the world I have experienced. We had the best service every step of the way. There where some hiccups in our reservations that took a few days to resolve but that was to be expected with a group of our size (we had a few hundred in the hotel), but issues were dealt with as kindly as possible and the staff worked hard to resolve even little things and still give you the best hotel experience possible. Much of that can be attributed to the culture of the people of Myanmar. We fell in love with the people during our visit, they are gracious, honest, sincere and eager to please, and ALWAYS have a lovely smile on their faces. From the bellhops, to the concierge, to the security guards at the entrance, to the lobby staff and everyone else, they all greet you with a sincere "Mingalabar" and with a smile and eagerness to make your visit a treasure.

The lobby was beautifully and tastefully decorated in marble and tasteful fabrics. In the evenings there was a piano player (which you could enjoy from the restaurant below as well) and in the main lobby 2 musicians playing the Burmese arched harp (the saung) and the Burmese xylophone. A bakery and refreshment area is located just off the main lobby as well, you can enjoy a nice coffee or drink while listening to the music in the evenings.

We had reserved an Executive Room (which should have been on the 8-9 floors however due to some confusion ours ended up on the 4th floor but we were still given privileges in the lounge). As a side note the only difference between the deluxe and executive room as it turned out was that you get privileges to the Executive Lounge, otherwise the rooms are identical. We ended up in a room with a king bed (which is how my husband wanted it). The room was of a good size, had a loveseat on one side a chair/ottoman and side table on the other. There is a desk and chair to use as a workstation. A flat screen TV sits in the corner of the room on the wall. There are french doors that open to a narrow balcony that overlooks the pool area and in the distance you can see the peak of the Shwedagon Pagoda which is lit up at night and quite lovely to view. The rooms have a coffee and tea station equipped with an electric tea kettle. There are 4 bottles of water provided for safe drinking and brushing your teeth, if you need more water, it is available for a modest cost through housekeeping. The rooms are contemporary and modern with dark woods and crisp white linens. The bed was super comfortable! The bathrooms are good size. With a tub and separate glass shower all in marble with a supply of comfy towels and 2 robes (slippers are provided at the entrance of each room by the closets). Each room has a small safe large enough to hold your computer and a camera or two. There was plenty of storage for our clothes during our 8 day stay in Yangon. The toiletries were excellent and made for the Chatrium itself (I loved the cinnamon smelling soap).
Rooms were quiet as long as you run the AC or fan. Once you turn the fan off at night you can hear the disco until 3 or 4 in the morning, so I highly recommend you leave the fan running even if you don't want the AC on.

Grounds were landscaped very well as was the pool area. There are plenty of loungers around the pool so you can lie out and enjoy the sun. The pool is partially covered by the large looming palm trees on the grounds.

Restaurants were very good. The breakfast buffet is the largest I have seen. There was an asian breakfast buffet, a european style breakfast buffet and the american style breakfast buffet along with an omelet station. The most diverse breakfast buffet we have ever seen. Food was plentiful and very good. We had dinner at both the Asian restaurant in the back and the main restaurant and both were always very good and very reasonably priced. Meals in the asian restaurant were "large" to say the least, everything was for at least 2 people. Service was very good (a little slow on morning coffee perhaps but we were a large crowd at the hotel).

Executive Club (located on the 9th floor) is open all day and until 10pm. There is a tea time from 2-4 in the afternoon and cocktail hour is from 5:30-7:30 where drinks and appetizers are served (or lattes if you prefer). Service was always good there. Visit one evening at sunset as the Shwedagon Pagoda lights up the view is one of the best!


Security was tight at the hotel and I always felt safe. Other than the outside noise (which is typical in most large cities such as Yangon) I can really find no fault with the hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and if we return this is the hotel I would choose for any future visits.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the top 2 floors with views of the Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy-Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My Husband and I enjoyed our ten day stay at the Chatrium during January 5th thru January 15, 2014.
Despite a great influx of guest at the hotel during that time, we experienced entire staff that was always attentive, conscientious and courteous.
We grew specially fond of the hardworking breakfast staff who went out of their way to make sure that we all had our breakfast needs cared for. The breakfast Manager , and her staff members two by name that made our morning start off well daily was Kevin and Nolan.
We deeply appreciated too, the various breakfast chefs who accommodated our varied request in courteous calm way, I loved my daily egg white omelet with all the fixings
Our hotel room 303 was great with a beautiful view of the tranquil surroundings and pool. the cleaning staff daily were outstanding in getting our room cleaned before our return from breakfast.
At the end of the day, when my head lay on the pillow and snugged under the soft sheets, I slept like a baby and woke up refreshed and energized for the new days journey.
We enjoyed listening to the evening live music performed in the lobby by various musicians.
Thank you to the entire hotel staff for making our stay a positive one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlstealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#10 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing