We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Very Busy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #9 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Very Busy Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a very large and heavily-trafficked 5-Star hotel. Be prepared to deal with a lot of people, conferences, and tour groups. I actually caught a glimpse of Aung San Suu Kyi en route to a Woman's Conference and dinner. Hillary Clinton also supposedly stayed here. The lobby area can get crazy. The breakfast buffet is typically horrible and confusing and a fellow traveler became ill after eating off the dinner buffet. I should state that I detest mass buffet-style dining. You cannot control other peoples bad hygiene or etiquette, and that is why I only ranked it 4 out of 5. However, the rooms are quiet and beautiful and the service is generally great. The staff does whatever they can to accommodate requests. Somehow, I lucked out an got upgraded to a suite. It was one of the most beautiful accommodations I have ever been in. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was able to use my balcony, but many of them are permanently locked to keep mosquitos out. So, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkambinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    579
    130
    22
    13
See reviews for
154
519
106
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here during a business trip for 4 nights in the Executive Deluxe Room with Lake View. The hotel is simply fantastic. The room was lushly decorated and well appointed, and the view of the lake was lovely (especially at night when you can see the Shwedagon Pagoda lit up in its golden glory). The buffet breakfast was very good, while the hotel's Chinese restaurant and its dinner buffet was memorable for all the right reasons. Service in the executive lounge was also brilliant -- thoughtful staff and a nice selection for high tea. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shushiii2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Marvellous place to stay in Rangoon. Travelling alone in Burma. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and caring. Great room and facilities. Everything a first class hotel could offer was here.
I was looked after very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel. It was a great place to start our visit to Myanmar. The rooms, grounds, recreational facilities, and restaurants were all very good, and the included breakfasts had a great choice of Burmese and Western dishes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipJ432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I loved this hotel. We stayed here twice - 2 days at the beginning of the holiday and also 1 night at the end before our flight home. The hotel room was large and well equipped and comfortable. It had a good quality hair dyer, tea and coffee facilities, 4 bottles of complimentary water, bathrobes, slippers, umbrella, torch and safe. The room was large with amazing views over Yangon and had complementary fruit. The grounds were pleasant and the breakfast was excellent - good choices for people from nearby and afar. The evening meal we had here was excellent all the staff were friendly and helpful. Checkout was quick and easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceramica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent two nights here at the beginning of our trip to Myanmar and one night at the end of a Pandaw cruise. The hotel staff are very welcoming and the lobby a bustle of activity. The hotel was beautifully lit up for the Christmas holiday season. If you do not get money changed at the airport, there is an exchange desk conveniently located in the lobby. There are also several very nice gift shops. The breakfast was excellent and offered a large variety of foods. The rooms are beautiful and hallways quiet. The grounds are splendid and nice to walk around in after a long flight. The staff was very accomodating on our last night's stay and opened a room off the lobby for the Pandaw cruisers to share cocktails and final farewells.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Shwedagon Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Loved Yangon and loved this hotel. A five-star hotel that would be comfortable sitting on a beach in Bali. Expensive but good that they include wifi and breakfast in the rate we paid, as well as a late check-out. Check-in was pleasant including a welcome drink. The room was comfortable and spacious, with separate shower and quality toiletries. Ventilation was good in keeping the room cool. Slept great.

The breakfast was among the best hotel breakfasts I've seen anywhere. Lots of Asian ethnic diversity including the local coconut noodle soup, but also Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Western options. The staff in the dining room made breakfast a personalized experience by introducing me to some unfamiliar items. We also ate in the Japanese restaurant one night for the buffet, which while a bit pricey by local standards, offered everything you could possibly imagine including fresh grilled seafood and all-you-can-eat sushi/sashimi. The gym is small but has the right equipment, and one of the staff kindly helped coach me through some weights work. The hotel has one of Yangon's few ATMs right out front, and a currency exchange open until 9 PM. Taxis don't really up-charge to take advantage of hotel guests, maybe an extra US$1 at most.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erb162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JovagoAsia, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing