We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Nearby Hotels
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$134
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$126
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
$238
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$132
$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$174
$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Parkview Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$70
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$105
$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$35
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,765)
Filter reviews
1,765 results
Traveler rating
897
679
149
26
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
679
149
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshwedagon pagodatiger hilllobby barbangkok kitchenjapanese restaurantswimming poolsmall balconybeautiful hotellake viewbuffet dinnerthe executive loungespecial thanksclub floorwelcome drinkbusiness hotelnice poolrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
1,072 - 1,077 of 1,765 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent two nights here at the beginning of our trip to Myanmar and one night at the end of a Pandaw cruise. The hotel staff are very welcoming and the lobby a bustle of activity. The hotel was beautifully lit up for the Christmas holiday season. If you do not get money changed at the airport, there is an exchange desk conveniently located in the lobby. There are also several very nice gift shops. The breakfast was excellent and offered a large variety of foods. The rooms are beautiful and hallways quiet. The grounds are splendid and nice to walk around in after a long flight. The staff was very accomodating on our last night's stay and opened a room off the lobby for the Pandaw cruisers to share cocktails and final farewells.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Shwedagon Pagoda.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolynvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Loved Yangon and loved this hotel. A five-star hotel that would be comfortable sitting on a beach in Bali. Expensive but good that they include wifi and breakfast in the rate we paid, as well as a late check-out. Check-in was pleasant including a welcome drink. The room was comfortable and spacious, with separate shower and quality toiletries. Ventilation was good in keeping the room cool. Slept great.

The breakfast was among the best hotel breakfasts I've seen anywhere. Lots of Asian ethnic diversity including the local coconut noodle soup, but also Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Western options. The staff in the dining room made breakfast a personalized experience by introducing me to some unfamiliar items. We also ate in the Japanese restaurant one night for the buffet, which while a bit pricey by local standards, offered everything you could possibly imagine including fresh grilled seafood and all-you-can-eat sushi/sashimi. The gym is small but has the right equipment, and one of the staff kindly helped coach me through some weights work. The hotel has one of Yangon's few ATMs right out front, and a currency exchange open until 9 PM. Taxis don't really up-charge to take advantage of hotel guests, maybe an extra US$1 at most.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erb162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent four nights at the Chatrium in late October prior to joining a Pandaw cruise. Our room was comfortable and at the standard of an American Marriott. It was attractive with dark woods and the bathroom was fine. The room had a view out the back of the hotel but there was an amazing view of the Shwedagon pagoda from the front of the hotel, which could be appreciated from the hall area in front of the elevators. The room did not have windows that could be opened.
The public areas were pleasant and the lobby bar became our favorite place. They served lunch and snacks there as well as drinks and it was a great place for people watching. There was a Chinese restaurant which was OK (my husband quite liked it) and a western style restaurant which was also just OK. The wait staff were slow in the morning to take one's order, and slow to bring coffee, and the coffee was bitter. (I am a harsh critic in the morning) The pool area was really pleasant although we did not use the pool. Staff were pleasant and helpful with getting taxis and communicating with cab drivers. It was always pleasant to return to the well airconditioned hotel after a steamy outing in Rangoon.The location was good and cab rides never seemed to be more than $5US or so. Internet serve was quite good, the only good service we had during three weeks in Burma. Overall this was a good base for seeing Rangoon and recovering from jetlag.

Room Tip: The front of hotel rooms must have a view of the shwedagon, that would be lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cambridgtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed here on business and found the rooms to be well appointed, the grounds to be immaculate and the pool a dream! The service was excellent, with the concierge doing all he could to find a way for us to stay when we were initially told that the entire hotel was booked. While quite expensive compared to similar amenities found in other countries in the region, given the current shortage of nice hotels in Myanmar at the moment, understandable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This Hotel was a good start to our holiday in Myanmar. Well run with lots of smiling staff ready to help. Spotless rooms and comfortable beds. Walk to the Pagoda and in the park across the road.Food good and a Thai Restaurant across the road offered another option for meals.One problem though is that they seem to have nightly "receptions" for around 500 people. These took place one side of the swimming pool area and involved large amounts of staff "setting up" which went on chaotically for hours !Worst than this was one afternoon there was a band rehearsing with synthesised electronic vibration and a voice repeatedly "testing testing" etc. Numerous requests and protests from the paying guests around us that we be left in peace to read,doze and recover from the afternoon heat and humidity fell on deaf ears so we could not recommend this Hotel for that reason.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Oscar 0737,

Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to write a review on Tripadvisor during your recent stay at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

We regret to note that an otherwise pleasant visit was spoiled by an unpleasant experience with the pre set up for function at Swimming Pool and the rehearsal of function. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience as a result.

Management is aware of the situation and corrective measures are underway to ensure that similar problems do not occur again. We truly appreciate your bringing the matter to our attention, as it is through comments such as yours that we are provided with one way of monitoring and further improving our high standards of service.

Nevertheless, it was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcoming you again to our property on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.
Sincerely yours,

Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews