We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hotel is over the road from Kan Daw Gyi Lake (Royal Lake). Our room was large with a good sized bathroom and two king single beds. Our room overlooked the large pool and we had a great view of the Shwedagon Paya, which is floodlit up at night. We normally don't eat in hotels but because the hotel is a little out of town and there is plenty of selection within the hotel - Japanese, Chinese and international / Burmese - we ate in both nights. We found the food excellent and reasonably priced. There is also a cafe and bar in the lobby, where there is happy hour each evening. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of dishes both European and Asian. Free wifi was available though we did have problems and did pay for it in the lobby, $2 per half hour, not unreasonable. All the staff we came in contact with were both helpful and cheerful.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the Shwedagon Paya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Noel and Maxine,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon!

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to write a review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon during your recent visit. We are most delightful to read your positive experience of our overall service and facilities especially our Breakfast and others food beverage facilities

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time we can exhibit once again the very best of our hospitality.


Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    600
    135
    23
    12
See reviews for
167
530
108
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My first ever trip to Myanmar and for business, I was conducting training in this hotel and staying there too. Check in was smooth and very personalised and set the tone for the whole week as every staff member went beyond their way to be polite and help. The room overlooked the pool with a great view of the Shwedagon Pagoda. A bit olde worlde but that is not really a criticism. Everything worked and the heavy dark wood accent of the room won me over. The food at breakfast and lunch was excellent though I would have preferred more local food rather than the generic Chinese food served in the Chinese restaurant. As stated above though the stars of the whole trip were the staff, especially Robert and the F&B staff overseeing my function. They never looked anything other than extremely willing to help and never ever stopped smiling - they made me feel so special throughout the stay it was almost embarrassing. The only real let-down was the training room which was too small and not an ideal shape for training. Of course this may not be the main business for the hotel but it was the reason I gave four and not five stars. All in all a great first impression for the country.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Steve H,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon!

It was our great pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel on your very first trip to Myanmar. Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to share your experience on the Tripadvisor.

We are grateful to know that your first impressing of Myanmar was very positive and even more delighted to know our staff particularly Robert and his F&B crews were able to contribute, in their own way, to making your stay with us even more remarkable for you. Thank you very much for letting us knows.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning and end of holiday. First 2 nights my room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a concrete building and no view. Had a large balcony but sign said not to open door and no funiture on balcony and room was very dark and depressing although the facilities were in place including separate bath and shower. Good sized room and fresh fruit on arrival.
Lobby and reception good and spacious although always very busy with tourists arriving and leaving all day from 5-30 in the morning when they provide packed breakfast.
Food outlets very good and reasonably priced for a hotel.
On return visit had room over looking the pool which was much brighter although noisier as there does seem to be continual parties from weddings to baby`s birthdays. Staff seem very friendly

Room Tip: Try to get higher up the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbhPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The staff upon arrival were very good, courteous, with good English but most impressive was their desire to help and be informative about what Yangon had to offer. Maps were provided with commentary of the things to see, costs, and good places to eat.

The rooms were fine and the breakfast was good. We had dinner one night in their Chinese restaurant and again the prices were reasonable.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in October. The food was wonderful and so was the service. WiFi worked really well and they know how to take care of there customers. If you feel like the food is to expensive you can walk across the street and have some wonderful Thai food at a great price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebenezer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Yangon and very comfortable. The executive rooms were worth the extra cost for the afternoon snacks and cocktail hour plus later check out if you are leaving Yangon in the afternoon. The hotel is a 25 minute walk to Shwedagon Pagoda and a 20 minute taxi ride to the downtown colonial area - taxis are cheap but the traffic is lousy so it can take much longer if you hit rush hour. Breakfast was very local and a bit chaotic as there were several groups at the same time. Restaurant options in the hotel were not very appealing and there are not many alternatives nearby - not sure that many other locations were better.....

Room Tip: Executive rooms were worth the extra cost and had a lovely view of the Pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexgirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed in Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon for one day during the weekend, mainly for relaxation purpose.
The staff is well-trained in comparison with other hotels in Yangon and every staff spoke very good English.
Great variety food was available for breakfast and my daughter and I both enjoyed it very much.
I happened to lose my house key and went back to the hotel on the following day. And of course, they kept it for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosquito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mosquito 2009,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Thank you for making Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon your prefer weekend getaway and for taking some of your time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you have had a relaxation weekend with us and very happy to know that you have found our services and facilities have met your expectations in every respect.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we are looking forward to welcome you back to spend your weekend with again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
316 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,373 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing