We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jet lag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Jet lag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived from a long long flight. The Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon was the perfect place to recover from horrendous flight. The room was very clean , cool A/C , very helpful staff. Our check in went smooth. FREE Wifi !! The swimming pool is picture perfect. I don't know if it's the jet lag but the bathrooms are so nice and clean here. The view from the fifth room looking over the pool is just stunning. I recommend !

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosegomez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Rosegomez07,

Thank you for choosing Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon for your home away from home in Yangon and for taking some of your value time to write a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you have found our hotel a perfect place to recover from a long flight. We also happy to read you are highly satisfied with our rooms and service rendered by our staff.

It was real nice having you as our guest; and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    580
    130
    22
    13
See reviews for
154
520
106
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okayama-shi, Okayama, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Located in good calm neighborhood. Buffet-style brekfast is very nice, you can choose typical American style brekfast, Continental, Thailand style, Myammer style and Chinese style as well. But they need to train hotel clerk a litle more. On the whole, however, it deserve being evalueted as "5 star hotel" as Myammer standard goes.

Room Tip: The room w/ Downtown-View is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkifumiOHAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our stay at Chatrium was wonderful, everything is well managed and hotel staff are so helpful! Concierge provided us everything including booking domestic flights, driver, recommendation to restaurants and even where to visit. Hotel is located near the lake, and it is very quiet and peaceful. One of the best to stay in busy Yangon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semistark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A delightful hotel overlooking Royal Lake on the edge of Yangon.
From the comfort of our deluxe room to the excellent Tiger Hill chinese restaurant and the terrace for a relaxing cool drink this hotel oozes charm and friendliness.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the lake and also had a view of Shwedagon pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisnMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Chrismarge,


Thank you for choosing Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon as your preferred Residence in Yangon and for taking your valuable to review as well as highly recommend our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are most delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided.

It was a great pleasure having you as our guest, we look forward to your next visit. Please be so kind to let drop me a note when you plan your next visit.


Sincerely yours,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed at the Chatrium again and found it another wonderful stay. Room had a nice view of the pagoda which looked lovely at night. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Pool was lovely as usual with an almost resort feel. Nice peaceful environment compared to the noise and crowd in the city. Transport may not be easy as it is not in city centre and most place would probably not be within walking distance but had someone to ferry me around so not a problem. Chinese restaurant standard is good and comparable to that of most major cities. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 28STS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear 28STS,

It was indeed a great pleasure having opportunity to welcome you back to Yangon and to our Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for sharing your stay experience with other online Travelers.

We are most happy to learn that you have had another great stay with us. Most of our guest found the same as you that location and ambiance of our hotel is a city resort environment with a great view of Kandawgyi Lake and magnificent Shwedagon Pagoda view.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind support. We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.


Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good old fashioned service. Very good room, exotic grounds, Abundant service but not intrusive.Restaurant-cum-coffee shop has an extensive menu to suit all tastes. We enjoyed our stay on two separate occasions.

Room Tip: Had two different rooms in two stays; both faced the pool and were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Oldsheepish,

Thank you for choosing Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon for your home away from home in Yangon and for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you found every aspect of your accommodation highly satisfactory; and that the quality of service performed by our staff greatly contributed to making your visit even more pleasant and remarkable for you.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time we can exhibit once again the very best of Myanmar hospitality.


Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed on night in June 2013 while on company business. Yangon is still rather under-developed, but this property is very well maintained and has all the necessary amentities guests would need. Room was good size but with older furniture, something that was expected in Yangon. Some construction was going on while i was there, but nothing bothered me much. Included breakfast had good selections of both eastern and western items. Staffs are very friendly and helped with taxi to the airport next day morning. Did not get to try the pool but its a good sized pool in the courtyard. Overall a lovely stay and would definately recommended to others.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms facing the Pagoda has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Jack L.


Thank you most sincerely for the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon during your recent stay. We are most delightful to learn that you have had a lovely stay and thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided.

Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon promised to keep improving our facilities and services. Through feedback from our guest make us aware of areas that need attention. As part of our improvement plan, we have finished upgrade some of our suite rooms. Our new suite rooms will provide even more comfortable and enjoyable to both business and leisure customers.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.


Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, JovagoAsia, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing