We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start our Myanmar travels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My room - #408 – was quite nice with a robe, slippers and coffee pot. The breakfast buffet was generous too.

My one complaint is that the lights in the bathroom were positioned to throw a shadow on the face of anyone looking in the mirror.

I don't know what is in the neighborhood because we made the mistake of being there during the water festival. Even a simple walk down the block ended with a blast of water from a variety of directions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Randiin Chicago,

Thank you very much for having taken some of your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our hospitality and our facilities. We appreciate the information about the light in bathroom and will definitely look into this matter for the further improvement of our product.

Once again, thank you for your kind support. Meanwhile, we are looking forward to your return visit to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time it will be entirely our pleasure to extend once again the very best of our Myanmar hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here two nights at the beginning of our visit to Myanmar. After a very long flight and arriving at midnight, we were pleasantly surprised to find this lovely hotel was even beyond our expectations. The staff was absolutely excellent in every respect. They went out of their way to accommodate our specific needs and were always gracious and friendly. We were able to change currencies at a good rate. The room was comfortable with a nice view of Shwedagon Pagoda. The bath was immaculate and well-stocked. With temperatures outside in the 100's, we especially appreciated their well-functioning airconditioner and lovely, large, clean pool. The breakfast buffet was excellent and could be eaten either inside or on the patio. The area next to the lobby was a relaxing place for a drink or light food. The hotel is not located in the "colonial", older downtown area, where a lot of the action appears to be, but that was not a problem for us. We appreciated being a little removed from the busy, crowded area, and taxis were plentiful and inexpensive. The doormen were helpful in ensuring the taxi drivers knew where we wanted to go, and they told us what the fare would be. Some would call this place a "businessmen's hotel", which for us is a positive aspect. It has everything one needs and without hoardes of tour buses. The clientele appeared to be a mix of people traveling for business and those for pleasure. Because of the heat we did not walk around the area, but the lake looked lovely. We recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Mrs. Joan, New York City,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to compose such a great review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon on TripAdvisor.

We could not be happier with any other news than to learn that you are thoroughly satisfied with the hotel facilities and delighted to note that the quality of service rendered by our staff greatly contributed to making your visit even more pleasant and comfortable for you.

Once again, thank you for your kind patronage. It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.


Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A very pleasant hotel in a very congested noisy city. Situated on the edge of a lake with a delightful view of the Shwe Dagon Pagoda. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Very attractive outside surroundings with lovely swimming pool. Food was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1937Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review us and share your experience online. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable time staying with us.

Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon is located on the western shore of Royal Lake-Kandawgyi Lake, Kandawgyi Natural Par and facing the magnificent Shwedagon Pagoda. Our guest can enjoy both view of the Lake and the Shwedagon Pagoda from their own Balcony.

Once again, thank you for your kind support to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we can once again offer you another remarkable stay in the Golden Land of Myanmar.


Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel. Excellent staff, great facilities and great food. This is the place to stay if you are visiting Yangon.

Rooms were modern, large and well equipped With good air-conditioning. My room was at the back of the hotel with view of surrounding area. It was very quiet. A very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Direcotor of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Bill W,

Thank you for making Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon your home during your recent visit to Yangon and for taking your value time to recommend us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that our services and facilities have met your expectations in every aspect.

At Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, our staffs are passionate about creating remarkable experience for every guest, we are promised to continue seeking for the opportunity to delight our guest as well as opportunity to exceeding guest satisfactions.

Do drop us a mail when planning your next holidays to Yangon, we would be delighted to show you again the very best of Myanmar hospitality

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We hit the button on this one because it was the best 5 star deal at the moment of decision! Great shout! Hotel excellent in every aspect - people & service; room; facilities. Never worked out how hotel rooms are allocated but we certainly treated by the hotel computer on this occasion. Lovely pool; good size & crystal clear; warning - dont do the buffet unless you're elephantine in appetite;
wouldn't think of anywhere else in Yangon. Even got a send-off wave from the staff.

Oh, a tiny little carp - why is the pool entry route via the restaurant?

Room Tip: get an upper floor overlooking the lake - a view to take away with you
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Logiealmond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Logiealmond1,

Thank you most sincerely for the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon. We could not be happier with any other news than to learn that you are thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided.

Our ground and swimming pool areas are recognized as one the most beautiful swimming pool and ground among hotel in Yangon. Our swimming pool areas can be accessed both via the main hotel lobby and also via our Emporia Restaurant. Next to the swimming pool we also have Fitness Club features the latest fitness equipments with stand-by instructor who is able to assist in creating a customized workout session. Our new Spa and relaxation centre will be soon available in the same area.

Once again, thank you for your kind patronage. It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay with us again not too far distant.


Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, stayed there twice in a fortnight. Reception was good, it will exchange £
and take credit cards. The bedrooms are spacious. l had a nice one overlooking the pool. There was a torch by the bed, plus a safe, slippers and fridge. Everything very clean. A small balcony. Nice pool with the depth markings, but deep steps to go in the out, so not so good also no hand rails Towels provided. The BF was good a good variety and you could sit inside or out. It also has a spa. I did't go to the park as l found it too hot, but some of the group did for a walk, you pay to go in. The restaurant buffet was good value in the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located bang in front of the Royal Lake (hence the name, duh), it's in a quiet location - a nice area for an evening stroll. Large grounds and a good pool (which we didn't use because there was a wedding on and the area had been taken over by the wedding reception complete with Bollywood dancers).

Included was a slap-up buffet breakfast and the rooms were spacious with civilised bathrooms (read: includes a jet spray, which Indian travellers will identify with!). The hotel is first rate and the food was uniformly good (the restaurant, Tiger Hill, had particularly good Chinese food) and if you have a hankering for it, there's an Indian restaurant called Asoka that is around the corner, a five minute walk away. Free wi-fi too.

We stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank VivekH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Vivek H,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon and for taking your valuable time to compose the review.

We are delighted to learn that you have had an enjoyable time with us and also enjoy our hotel facilities. Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon is very much strive to provide high service standard and facilities that most suite the need to today world travelers. We promise to keep upgrading our products and service to make it more remarkable to all our guests.

Once again, thank for stayed with us and we hope to have the opportunity to be of your service again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,692 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
650 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
958 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $120 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing