We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough for Hillary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good enough for Hillary”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was a 5 star experience, a beautiful hotel...everything was great. You will not be disappointed but very pleased with your stay at Chatrium. Sec. of State Clinton stayed at the Chatrium during her stay in Yangon, Myanmar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    592
    134
    22
    13
See reviews for
156
526
108
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here in late January. This
was our overflow location since Governor's
Residence was fully booked with other members
from our Myanmar tour. The hotel shows some
wear and tear but the executive service for those
staying on the top 2 floors never disappointed.
My room didn't have the coveted Shwedagon Pagoda
view. All the best hotels in Yangon were overflowing
with travelers like us and Chatrium seemed to be
coping well. Staff was helpful affixing stamps to my
postcards - the stamps have no glue. The rate for
currency conversion from US dollars was a bit more
favorable than elsewhere. Breakfast food was fine
but the ambience - noise, crowding, quick removal
of plates to hurry us along - was a bit disappointing.
Late evening dining in a nearly empty restaurant
featured no rush and adequate fare. Would consider
staying here again but would dine elsewhere.
See my review of Strand Hotel downtown, posted soon.

Room Tip: top 2 floors have executive service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simple_Country_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Chatrium was a great hotel. The rooms were nice--clean, attractive, modern. The service was wonderful-everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. The buffet breakfast was extensive and good, and the gym had fairly new treadmills, and a good selection of weights (key to me). Despite the fact that previous reviews had mentioned that the pool/gym were closed for renovations and that there was noise from the construction, we did not find this to be the case (although Saturday night we did hear noise from the concert at the venue across the street at the Royal Lake).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ea701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

As The Governor's Residence was fully booked (often many months ahead apparently) when we arranged our trip to Myanmar, our tour company sugested staying here ,and we were not disapponted.We had no complaints at all, and particularly enjoyed the complimentary snacks and drinks in the executive lounge.The pool and gym were great, with particularly helpful staff there.
It is not situated in a particularly interesting area from a walking point of view. Apart from the Shwedagon Pagoda, we didn't find nearly as much to see in Yangon as Mandalay.
We found that both the Chatrium and our hotel in Mandalay priced everything in US dollars, whilst our hotels at Bagan and Inle Lake wanted local currency.

Room Tip: Higher the better as they do seem to have a lot of functions on by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M.R.Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

my first night in Burma and not expecting such a well run beautiful hotel Coffee shop decorated beautifully, rooms comfortable and fully equipped. staff helpful and friendly. evidently popular with the local elite. Lake view rooms are better, location fine- you need a taxi or tour guide wherever you go.

Room Tip: ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robbiew117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stay at Chatrium for business trip during Feb 17-19. This is the best hotel in Yangon. Got a room on 8 floor with view over looking to the beautiful Chwedagon Pagoda. Room is comfortable and good space to work in the room, nice color of carpet. Hotel also provide complimentary internet although sometime a bit slow but sufficient to connect and cruising on the web. Food is very good especially Chinese restaurant is fantastic. Breakfast was also serves with good verities mixed between local and western. The highlight for this hotel is staff, everyone is very polite, friendly and helpful particularly club lounge and lobby reception. Very nice big smile. Hotel is very close to the lake and park but if you need to walk around the lake you will need to pay for entrance fee??. Overall very impressive staff, good experience and definitely will return to stay here again if the price is not too high??

Room Tip: Room on high floor with lake or pagoda view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamephoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
253 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great hotel for the area. Truly a quality hotel with amazing amenities. The pool was high quality; the executive lounge hosted by "Christine" was amazing and the service level was very, very high. The hotel does an amazing job making you feel welcome. As others have mentioned internet speeds aren't the greatest, but frankly that is to be expected. Breakfast buffet was very nice with plenty to chose from no matter what region of the world you live. The coffee situation could improve; two machines for the number of persons seemed a bit slight. We ate at all three restaurants during our 7 nights and had very high quality food at each. The spa prices and service were very good; the discount for hotel guests is a nice bonus.

Overall very good visit, great level of attentive service and very good accommodations. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Executive level is worth the price. Access to lounge and free wifi really made it worthwhile. Flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing