We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went to Yangon this past week and stayed in Club Rooms Floor at the Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food in every outlet there ( chinese and Japanese and breakfast room) were all good with wide selection of food.. The snacks at the Club Lounge were also good. The only thing that dissappointed us was the shower . The shower was not so good as other 4-5 star hotels. The view of the Shwedagon Golden Pagoda from our rooms were truly amazing.

Room Tip: Should choose a room with the Shwedagon Golden Pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammy174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel with a tour group. It is modern and comfortable. Like many newly available tourist facilities in Myanmar (Burma) it is expensive compared to surrounding countries in SE Asia (but not compared to major western cities). For example, we enjoyed a buffet dinner with a good selection of food and one drink for $30 a head - but we ate nice meals in Cambodia and Laos for around $20 for the two of us. (By the way don't bother with wine in SE Asia, it's usually pretty rough so opt for a beer or soft drink.) The major complaint we had was that there were loud functions around the pool both nights we were staying there, our room looked out over the pool and sleep was nearly impossible. The second night (we were getting up at 4am the next morning to catch a plane) we asked to be moved - the desk clerk assured us the party would end at 9:30pm. At 10pm the throb from the dance band was even more unbearable and we demanded to speak to the manager. He apologized, but, he said, the wedding was "of an important person" so, although it was supposed to end at 9:30 he couldn't stop it. He offered us another room, but we would have to pack up everything because they needed a room for a late arrival. By that time my wife had moved a stack of bed linen and cushions into the bathtub where she was getting some sleep, so I declined. If you stay there, demand a room that doesn't face the pool unless you like to stay up late.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, don't face the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I would agree with many of the posts here. We stayed in a club room but did not use the full complimentary snacks as we were out all the time. Jet lagged from the long journey we were grateful for the comfortable sleep and convenience of the hotel. Our visit co-incided with Obama's recent visit so this might reflect the type of guest there- the hotel was full of business people from around the world but particularly the US, Australia and Europe. It felt comparable to me to a Marriott - as a general rule of thumb. Large spacious and impersonal but provides a comfortable night's sleep and reasonable facilities

Room Tip: Ask for corner room for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is located near the lake and around 15 minutes walking to the famous Shwedagon Pagoda. The staff are friendly and the room is clean. Choose the room in the high floor overlooking the Pagoda. The night view is truly amazing.....

Room Tip: Choose the high floor with the view of Shwedagon Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mangkoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had a club room which was very comfortable. Enjoyed the complimentary snacks and drinks early evening in the club lounge with great views over Shwedagon Pagoda. breakfast was good. Didnt eat there in the evening as we went to nice Thai restaurant called Bangkok Kitchen across the road. Not enough staff on duty though in the restaurant or collecting bags which caused delays.
Royal park opposite. Excellent panoramic views over the city from bizarre fake mountain.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Chatrium is nice and huge hotel, with large rooms. There are numerous dining varieties. Preferred to dine in the hotel itself rather than outlets in the city. Tried the Japanese restaurant, Kohaku. Food was decent and inexpensive. One of the drawbacks were the wifi connection, barely had any signal and internet speed was ridiculous & highly over priced. Had wifi connection for 3 days and had to pay about USD 40 ? Had no signal going on. Apart from that, the lobby lounge is quite relaxing, great atmosphere and suitable to try out or drink your myanmar beer and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyongadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Chatrium is a high end hotel with large rooms, swimming pool, spa, and a good breakfast spread. The dinners are not very good and it is best to go out on the town. The park is directly across the street - great for walking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kciff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#7 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
425 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#3 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#6 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
378 reviews
1.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#12 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#14 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $122 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing