We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a stunning old hotel with a beautiful location at the lake. When you come in everybody is do helpful and friendly and greets you w the warmest smile. Rooms are very big and the bathroom has a shower and a bath tub, but the disappointing thing is the bed. I was so tired and looked for a good night sleep but I couldn r sleep at all. Mattress is so hard and pillows are 100% made from polyester and are so hard that the bed is the most uncomfortable one I had for a very long time. So utterly disappointing.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank doritg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staffs. Good service. Location is not too far from downtown but during night time should live in. During my stay, I saw many of business people especially Japanese and Thai.
No doubt to return and stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsmaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is the first trip to Myanmar and I heard so many positive reviews here, of course a high expectation because I paid a lot through their website with non refundable. Room is a bit old but still maintain in a good shape but who's cares as most of the day we went out for tours and city around. Service, generally is under expectation when compares with the price we paid at almost USD 190. I ask for another wifi password and was informed to come down to pick up at the desk. Internet system in the room is so slow and was so slow and the explanation is a normal circumstance here. Staff does not understand much of english and this took so long time for them to call a taxi for us to town (staff still do not understand my english well). There is a chemical smell from the renovation, I guess comes in to the room (from air con) and I call to speak to Front Desk and they ask us to wait for the new room change but never come. The great thing of this hotel is nice pool and good restaurant but as I mentioned for USD 190, I expect second to none - not like this

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HW48CaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have booked a Executive Club room for over a month and the rate is not cheap at USD 180 over. Upon arrival, we found that there is a renivation going on at the Executive Lounge without prior notice to guest. Lounge was moved to a small suite room. Service at Executive Lounge is not as we expect and we are regular guest at Traders and would like to try something different this visit and selcet Chatrium because of the right location to Golden Pagoda. Room is large and good even a bit run down but in general, they are lkeeping in the best condition but need to improve much more in service area.
Check out takes so long time and no one check our satisfaction duirng our stay. Staff are all good in english but juts greeting us in thier language but never creat other converstaion. Comparing with the rate we paid, you better find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oscrtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

stayed here for three nights and all I can say its excellent hotel with great services. The room is clean and spacious. House Keeping service is great. The food is good. Had Chinese and Japanese for dinner and both was very good. If you're staying at the executive suite, you are able to enjoy the executive lounge at the 9th floor. Quiet setting if you want to relax after a busy day. Free flow of all kinds of drinks including (alcohol during happy hour only). Ask for Thomas in the executive lounge, funny dude with great personality and service as well. Overall, its an awesome experience and this will definitely be my choice of hotel for the next trip.

p/s: They all speaks good English as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raylim1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Summary:
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon provides excellent accommodation within walking distance of the Shwedagon Pagoda, in the bustle of Yangon.

Arriving at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon:
From the airport it's a USD10.00 taxi ride. The taxis usually want USD so make sure you have enough with you. Check-in is nominally 2:00pm. If staying in an Executive Room, early check-in is possible (subject to availability).

Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon:
This is a very nice hotel that is continuing to be upgraded. So expect it to be even better in the near future!

Rooms:
Rooms are large, comfortable and modern. The bathroom is big and well provisioned. Rooms are serviced twice a day. The free wi-fi throughout the hotel is good.

Executive Floors:
I stayed in an Executive Room and though it was very good. There many benefits including all day refreshments, high tea in the afternoon and excellent evening canapes with cocktails for 2 hours from 5pm. The staff in the executive lounge (David, Zaw Zaw, Thomas) are very helpful and knowledgeable about the hotel, Yangon and Myanmar.

Meals:
There are several restaurant and bar choices. The buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice which changed each day.

Activities:
There's a spa, gym and a big pool. There a guest relations desk that can help with tours etc. You can even walk to the Shwedagon Pagoda in about 20 minutes.

Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon staff:
All staff were extremely pleasant and friendly.

Leaving Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon:
Check-out is nominally at noon. If staying in an Executive Room, late check-out is possible (subject to availability).

Room Tip: Room viewing the lake are the better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austman_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Chatrium is an amazing Hotel with all-round perfection we were greeted by finally english speaking an very friendly staff which basically aranged everything for you. All you had to do was give them your passports. We got up to our room which was big and very clean. The food is brilliant from top chefs and everything just seemed unreal thats how clean it was. Taxi booking was easy and trips were easy as well. We only stayed for 4 nights and I wish we stayed longer. Definitely worth the money :).

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmoothTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,791 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
374 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
712 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#14 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $121 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing