We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prices gone up dramatically”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 154 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Prices gone up dramatically”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Chatrium continues to be one of the nicest and best-run business hotels in Yangon. However prices have gone up astronomically in the last six months, and rooms now start from around US$180 per night (compared to barely $70 last November). The staff and facilities are clearly straining to cope with the high demand (rooms are constantly booked out). Although the hotel has expanded the number of seats at breakfast, there are still long queues at peak times (e.g. at the egg station) and the decrepit gym clearly needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: for first-time visitors it's worth trying to get a room that faces out towards the Shwedagon Pag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD_Dcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    609
    135
    23
    12
See reviews for
170
535
108
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here for business in May 2012. Have to say that out of 3 hotel experiences in Yangon, this one stands out as being the best for business. Check in was done with a welcome drink, internet was extremely stable and of satisfactory speed (always a major issue in Myanmar) and there were ample places to have meals. I of course, especially loved the internet as it is essential for my work. You can change money and purchase a sim card in the convenience store at the lobby. Oh yes, the view (i had a room facing the Shwedagon pagoda) at night was just amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakecomo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel met our every need. We arrived late and there was a bit of a mixup. The manager, John, was exceptional with his regard for our needs and put us in a beautiful suite for a night until our reserved room was ready. We thought the breakfasts, which are included, were exceptional and offered a wide variety of well presented dishes. The pool was well maintained and in a beautiful setting. The gym, which is included, had great machines, free weights, steam room and jacuzzi.
Although he restaurants were slightly high in price, you can walk to two or three across the street that are on Royal Lake. Oh, and the best part? ...fabulous views of the Shwedagon from many rooms. We plan to stay there again on our way out of Myanmar next week.

Room Tip: Book a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay in Yangon on our way to Bagan. It was less expensive than the hotel we were staying in for our return, extended stay in Yangon. The Chatrium was a little more than half the price of the other hotel and the service was twice as good. I was with my wife and children and we were very well taken care of at the Chatrium. The internet connection was the best we encountered in Myanmar (though not up to international business hotel standards). If our later stay had been refundable, I would have switched to Chatrium.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pagoda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepyJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel is fairly nice and the staff very helpful. We stayed (the six of us) for only one night and we had dinner and breakfast there. We did not like the set menu they had for us but it was easily changeable for the buffet (paying the price difference, of course). The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. We checked out at 5 am and they arranged us some boxes with breakfast.
It wasn't luxurious but it was pretty, clean, great staff and well located. Will surely come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed here in March 2012 for 3 nights. Agree with other reviews - ideal location, good room + facilities. Slept like a log after long haul from UK!! One niggle was the cost for water at check out. I can't remember now but one make was free and the other was charged. Used the tour company Grand Lotus Tours - they were superb and arranged all the hotel accommodation in Myanmar. They say they have Wifi facilities at the hotel but it's really random whether you get a connection (ask for your money back if you can't get one!), this also applies to the whole of Myanmar. Tour guide (Toe) took us to a bank in town and we got an excellent rate of exchange, but remember to take brand new dollars (no creases at all). I kept them in a couple of jiffy/padded bags and this worked well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Spent 2 nights there. Great start for a trip in Myanmar or Yangon. Very nice, modern, clean and spacious rooms, very good western 4 star standard - however has the feel of a business hotel rather than resort. Excellent service, very friendly staff. Good restaurant on round floor focused on western food which is quite pricey for Myanmar/Yangon standards - if you want local food you've got to ask for local menue which is very good and also less expensive. Great breakfast with a lot of variety. The hotel is near the Shwedagon pagoda but a bit distant from the city center - you would need a taxi or own car to get to the center or around the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tueby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
326 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
947 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, JovagoAsia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing