We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Nearby Hotels
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$126
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
$238
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$139
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$132
$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Parkview Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$70
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$174
$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$105
$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,026)
Filter reviews
3,026 results
Traveler rating
1,714
1,026
211
40
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,714
1,026
211
40
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubgallery barsummer palaceclub roomscott marketchinese restaurantbusiness hotelexcellent hotelriver cruisemain restaurantbogyoke marketbreakfast buffet ispublic areasfive star hoteldowntown yangoncentral locationan oasis
Filter
Updating list...
1,825 - 1,830 of 3,026 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

In an age where a good internet connection goes hand-in-hand with business travel, you can't get better in Yangon than the Traders Hotel. Most of the other reviews for this hotel will tell you what I am going to say - the Traders has an excellent location, it's an oasis in the city and that its breakfast, both in the lobby restaurant and the club floor are very good.

Service is also excellent. And while there was an isolated small bomb blast in the hotel reported on the day we departed the country, I would return to this hotel without hesitation as this experience will probably mean that security has stepped up even more now and the Traders will likely be one of the safest in the city too.

Don't expect much in getting a "cultural experience" within the hotel - it's an international business hotel - but you should be getting "out there" for that anyway. Burma is fantastic - enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explrdvr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Traders was exactly what we expected: a first-class hotel in the Shangri-La chain with excellent facilities and a very attentive staff. The bonus is that it is in a very good location, within walking distance of some attractions and lots of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenaiAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent hotel to relax in Yangon. Location, service and very good breakfast in about 200m from the splendid Sule Pagoda.
It takes a little while to go through security every time you enter but you forget as soon as you can seat in the beautiful lounge!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Vittoria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent hotel in Yangon compared with all the other hotels which I have been staying in the last 20yrs. Good location, very good and the best breakfast I have had in compared with all other best hotels in Yangon. Rooms are supper clean and with great feelings of being at home. I recommend to all who wish to travel to Yangon please choose Traders Hotel the best 5* hotel though the hotel is rated 4*.

Room Tip: Great room with a window with a excellent view of the city
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is an oasis in a crowded, busy city. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Since I was on the 8th floor, it was surprisingly quiet. The fitness center is first rate and has great hours. The pool and pool area is a refreshing place to relax after sightseeing. I enjoyed a wonderful massage at 9 PM at night! Staff is extremely accomodating; the hotel concierge was able to arrange some private tours at the last minute. The breakfast buffet is the best I've experienced in all my travels to Asia!

The beds were comfortable and I slept well. The hotel has increased security at the entrances and on the elevators.

The only thing sorely missing from the hotel is an ATM. There is one across the street at the movie theater, but crossing that street takes time and effort. Make sure your credit card works before you leave your home country. Mine did not work, even after notification AND making my initial reservation using the card.

Room Tip: Higher up the better
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews