We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel before and after a trip through Myanmar with a small
group and were surprised by the quality of service and the very comfortable
rooms. Breakfast was excellent (very large choice) and the buffet dinner in
the evening is a must.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,842 - 1,848 of 2,712 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel very nearly got an excellent rating from me but let itself down on one major point.

We stayed here on two occasions, for one day only on each time at the beginning and end of a touring holiday of Myanmar. On the first trip I could not find fault - but there were two major irritations on the second visit (of which more later).

The rooms are comfortable and are of reasonable (but not massive) size. The beds are inviting and the bathtubs are such that it is possible to have a reasonable soak providing you are not much over six foot tall and not too overweight.

The bar is excellent, albeit a little smoky. The service provided by the waiting staff is very good. The club sandwiches come with chips/french fries of some sort and are excellent value. The beers are reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard - but many drinks are "two for one" in the "happy hour" between 5pm and 8pm every day. During those hours the beers and wines become excellent value for money.

On the first stay, we left at 5am so could not have breakfast at the hotel. They provided a boxed breakfast to our group which was above average. Had we been able to stay just a while longer, we could have eaten buffet breakfast in the hotel cafe, which starts early. We did eat breakfast in there on the second occasion and it was one of the best buffet breakfasts I have ever seen on any of my trips. The selection was broad and the food was fresh. Omelettes were cooked to order at an omelette bar. At a separate station, another chef made pancakes and waffles to order. In both cases, the food was brought to your table when ready so you did not have to stand around whilst it was cooked.

So what were the bad points? The first was that our room on the second occasion, room 1701, was right next to two of the lifts (there are five in a central area and three in another area). The noise insulation was not good, so there was a lot of clunking whilst we were trying to sleep, especially prior to midnight and from about 5am. I would therefore strongly recommend that you avoid any of the rooms that back onto a lift shaft if you are a light sleeper.

The other point was far worse. We were being collected for our return journey at 5pm. With a 24 hour trip ahead of us, we wanted to have a room until we left, so that we could have a siesta before the long journey. The hotel would not let us keep the room that late (which is a common problem) without payment of half of a day's room rate. We therefore had to pay over $100 to keep the room for a few hours more. This would have been fine, had we been left in peace - but we were not! We went out for a few hours in the morning but when we came back the room had still not been cleaned. We therefore put on the "do not disturb" sign so that we could sleep in the afternoon. I was awoken by the phone ringing at 3.15pm - it was housekeeping asking if they could clean the room! What is the point of putting the do not disturb light on if they are then just going to ring you? This was even more annoying given that the hotel know that we were leaving at 5.00. What possible reason would we have for wanting the room cleaned just an hour or so before we were leaving it?

So I ended up paying over $100 to rest and did not get the rest that I had hoped for. There was no offer of compensation, which I felt was very poor for a hotel of this alleged calibre. I will probably not therefore choose a Shangri La hotel as a preference in the future and will certainly not pay an extortionate figure to keep the room for a few hours in the future. So the chain has lost future income because of its attitude here.

Had it not been for the last problem, this hotel would have earned an "Excellent" rating overall (reduced by one because of this issue) and would have earned the same rating for "service" and "value". It is however certainly worth considering if you do not need to stay past midday on the date of your departure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift shafts - the sound insulation is poor for a hotel of this quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip C, General Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

It was very kind of you to share that our food and beverage offers were considered good value for money and you enjoyed the breakfasts at Traders Café and the Gallery Bar. Thanks for sharing that one of our rooms has some insulation requirements and we will address this. I am disappointed that you could not enjoy your last afternoon with us and leave with fond memories of both Myanmar and Traders Hotel Yangon. You have alerted us to a training need and we will immediately reinforce our procedures for the DND policy we have in place as our team had prior knowledge you were staying late and needed a rest. DuncanHockley please accept my apologies for this, and hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again. Please feel free to email me should I be able to assist you further with this at phillip.couvaras@tradershotels.com. Phillip C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've stayed for 1 day, only. Anyways, I could fell how great the service is. The room is comfortable, big enough. The bed is quite good, and the bathroom was really nice. The wifi worked well, even though I could not get full access...
The concierge was really helpful, helped me find a taxi driver to drive me to the Greater Pagoda and around. Not cheap, but one doesn't have many more options in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After traveling around Myanmar, it is such a joy to arrive at Trader's! The hotel is not anything particularly special compared to other 4 or 5 star properties elsewhere in the world. But here, it is just wonderful to find a hotel where everything works. The bed is comfortable. The room is spotless. The amenities are lovely. Internet always works. The shower does not leak, burn your skin or come out of the showerhead in a dribble. My room was not ready when I checked in and the manager was so apologetic that she dispatched a bottle of wine and a fruit basket. Such a standard of service really needs to trickle down to other places (even a little bit of such attention to detail would be welcomed). In addition, Trader's is fantastically located. Walking distance to many of the key locations in the city and a short distance from other key tourist points. Given the rapidly growing traffic problems here, this is becoming a critical issue for travelers. I highly recommend staying in the club level as well. Although it is crazy expensive, it is nice to be able to enjoy a drink and snacks in the lounge in the evenings as well as breakfast with a view (once the renovations are completed).

Room Tip: Stay in the club level, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed only for one night, so we were not able to check out the whole hotel. But we liked what we saw.

The rooms are small (especially for a family with two kids) and the mattresses are a little hard.

The pool area is nice. Nothing special – but it works very well.

In Burma it is not easy to find good Internet, but it was actually working very well on Traders Hotel (at least the day we were there).

The breakfast is great with a lot to choose from.

The hotel is centrally located in the busy part of Yangon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morten-Elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Although it is a bland, corporate hotel it was in a great location (near the market, Pagoda etc), the staff were really friendly, the rooms were spotless, food was varied, lounge was spacious. Free buffet around tea time was a winner with us. Gin and tonic and lovely small bites? What's not to love!
very priecey place to stay though so prob won't afford this ever again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katharinejg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Rooms were a bit small and musty but clean enough. Came with a free breakfast buffet that was absolutely excellent. Overall my biggest gripe with this hotel was what they charged for the service and quality they gave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoran13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,546 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $159 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing