We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ShaifulKL
Malaysia

Good hi-end choice in Yangoon

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 30, 2012via mobile
Rates in yangoon has increased due to the hi demand for rooms in the city. Traders hotel has been my choice due to its service and location. The bogyoke market is 100m away. Taxi is always available whenever you need and they are quite reasonable. The room is clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast has many local and western choices...it seems that they have something for everybody. I have tried about 5 hotels, 3-4 star and this hotel is definitely in the top 2. I will be back and look forward to see the development of this new country.
Date of stay: September 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $93
  • Booking.com
1.2 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $58
  • Booking.com
0.3 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Infinity Pool overlooking to Shwedagon Pagoda, Trinity Church and Yangon City
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $66
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $31
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
    $54
  • Chatrium Hotel
1.6 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Melia.com
    $72
  • Hotels.com
3.3 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $19
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
    $15
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    $63
  • Expedia.com
    $72
4.7 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Novotel
    $61
  • Booking.com
3.3 miles from Sule Shangri-La, Yangon
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (4,335)
Filter reviews
4,335 results
Traveler rating
2,881
1,151
221
43
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,881
1,151
221
43
39
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,445 - 3,450 of 4,335 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you're looking for an international mother-ship on a trip to Yangon, this is excellent. The location is superb, right in the middle of everything. It's near offices and embassies, it's 1.5 miles from the Shwe Dagon, a couple of blocks from Scott Market, and in the midst of street markets on every side. It's easy to get taxis there, (and they're not very expensive).

The rooms are spacious and modern, including the bathroom (where the water pressure is excellent and the temperature control good). The pleasant and hospitable staff try really hard.

The hotel has lots of nice touches: International power outlets, so you can use any kind of plug without an adaptor; an in-room coffee bar with an electric kettle (only instant coffee, which I am fine with); a good compact walking map to slip in your pocket when you wander out; a jogging map on a card on a string so you can wear it round your neck. The generators generally provide 24-hour power. The restaurants are pretty decent and the food tasty (though healthy choices not so easy to find). The internet is really good most of the time. I had trouble only on 1 day of the 6 I stayed.

It does get booked out, though, especially in the peak seasons. And it's not cheap; the prices are pretty much what I'd pay in California.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at the hotel recently and the highlight of the stay is definitely the quality of the staffs, which are always friendly and helpful. I ordered car servies from the hotel and the drivers are friendly. Check-in was efficient, as I was directed right to my room since I used the hotel's car service. The club room is nice, despite the air conditioning units are not working too well due to renovation. Please note that AMEX is not accepted here, and only visa and mastercard with a surcharge on top of the room rates and tax and fee. They definitely prefer cash payment in US dollars but make sure you have fresh bills, as they will return any torn bill even a tiny cut in the corner will not work. There are three restaurants - the Traders' Cafe, which is under renovation and is located temporarily in level three. The temporary location definitely sucks but the staffs are friendly, and the breakfast buffet is nice. However due to renovation, they only have buffets and not opened during non-traditional meal hours. There is a Chinese and Korean restaurant as well. My only complaint is that they did not honor my Golden Circle Jade benefit of late checkout at 4pm. They only let me checkout at 2pm, which was unacceptable. Other than that, it is a good stay and will use it again in the near future.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Newly renovated club rooms are very nice but it could have been better if your room has the view of the Shwe Dagon but unfortunately in this trip, I was given a room with a not so nice view...The Traders Lounge which is temporarily in the third floor since it's undergoing renovation, could use a lot of improvement in their food choices. You get the same thing everyday - even tried Traders Cafe but it's the same dishes that you get daily. Maybe the hotel should look into this when they are finished with the renovation - food choices! Price that you pay for the club room is quite high, too. Front desk staff should be properly trained on how to handle guests - preferably with a smile and with the sincere attitude to help out a guest. Since Myanmar has opened up, it will have an influx of international guests with varied needs so they should be trained properly how to handle these varied needs.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view of Shwe Dagon!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marosales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a good business hotel well located downtown near sule pagoda. There are a few restaurants around and the Scott market is just up the road. It's generally a good hotel and the service is great with good personal touches. The issue for now is that the room rates have skyrocketted to international levels but the quality is not there. Significant renovations are ongoing causing noise and a downgrade of facilities. It sticks in the throat a bit when the daily rate has doubled in 3 months. I would shop around a bit to see if a better deal is to be had although to be fair demand is high for Myanmar at the moment. They need to lift their game to justify the price.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

It is located strategically at the city's center near Sule Pagoda. The rooms are nice and clean, and amities in the bathroom are excellent for a four star hotel standard. Breakfast selection and quality of food are great. Most importantly, the staff are friendly and helpful!

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Totofore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews