We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Timeless Jewel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #5 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Timeless Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Consistant with the feeling of 1970's Asia that is still found in Yangon, the hotel is a joy to step back into afer a sweaty day of touring. Unlike the glitzy metamorphasis found in many Asian population centers, this hotel is a wonderful oasis in the noisy, dirty, hot and beautiful city that is Yangon,without wrenching you back into some cultural aberation of returning to a cooky stamped hotel. The facility is positive in every facet. We like the Club. There is even a view of wonderful Shwedagon from some rooms. The city is rapidly changing: go soon and book early.

Room Tip: Club floor is a good value and is appreciated after long day out. Ask for a Shwedagon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 29grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    911
    190
    38
    32
See reviews for
275
925
201
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed for three nights on business. Great location and lovely rooms. The staff could not hvw been kinder or more friendly. Everyone seemed to remember my name and room number.

I paid $25 per night to upgrade to a club room which I felt was worth it. The club breakfast was al la carte where the normal breakfast was fully buffet. The club cost included breakfast which meant it didn't cost much more than just buying breakfast.

The evening happy hour in the club lounge was not quite to the standard you expect elsewhere but the service could not be faulted.

As you would expect on an emerging country, some thongs are a little rough around the edges but you will leave charmed by the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjh2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our first and last night of our wonderful trip to Burma.
We has a lovely room on both occasions, we had an early morning flight after our first night stay, we were to early for breakfast, so we were provided with a breakfast hamper.
On our next visit we had plenty of time to enjoy our breakfast, which was very nice.
You are also just round the corner from the Scott's market. Over all we enjoyed our stay, and would use it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heathrow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Traders Hotel is well positioned for sights & markets though may be lacking in character - staff are attentive & conceige was really helpful. The club floor was OK but not sure if it was worth paying the extra cost as the range & availablilty of food/drinks was more restricted than other hotel 'club/executive' offerings. Overall good value for money and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the Shwedagon Pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traineebiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Whilst it may lack local charm and is very large, Traders is well located for tourists in central Yangon, just round the corner from Scotts market and half way between the riverfront and chaotic old town and the Shwedagon Pagoda.

We asked for a room with a good view and were upgraded to a Club Room on the 18th floor, but without club facilities. Breakfast was much better in the main restaurant anyway and we were at the Pagoda in the evening 'happy hour' so that was fine.

The staff in all areas were terrific, helpful and friendly, but the people are all so lovely in Myanmar.

The restaurant is excellent. Breakfast buffet was extensive and evening meals well priced and of a good standard. There is a sandwich and cake bar where you can select a snack and have it with coffee in the lounge area which seemed to be busy with business meetings.

Nice pool on the fifth floor.

A good, safe choice for a hotel stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Shwedagon or the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mops755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Great location, close to the train station, Sule pagoda and lots of interesting old buildings at centre of Yangon. Also very close to the Bokyoke Scott market, though quite far from the Shwedagon pagoda. Good rooms with panoramic views of the city. Full of businessmen, some floors appear to be offices so oftentimes it didn't feel like a vacation. Need faster lifts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KomodoDragonJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night. If you are not very familiar with this city, better not to try those brands you never heard. Managed by Shangri-La, traders is clean, convinient, friendly and trustworthy. Be awared with the noise coming from the renovation. Chinese restaurant is not so well. Staff are warm, smiling and will stay here again when coming back to Rangoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Property: Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing