We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel inside the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Ranked #14 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel inside the city”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We make two stop in Sedona hotel on a Tour in Myamar.
International standard , well manages , nice nd large swimming pool.
May be in the future the location will be less attaractive with the new hotel tour which is build near by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil_750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    412
    182
    49
    26
See reviews for
79
148
63
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been there for three nights. The rooms are ok and they working a lot to refurbish them. Lobby and Bars are ok. The quality of the different restaurants can be much better. In general the service is very good and the staff attitude is really nice. The price, compared to what you get, should be 25% cheaper, but Yangon is not an easy place now. In one year things will be changing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Flying_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a few times. It is good hotel with excellent service. The buffet breakfast offers a wide range of choices from local Myanmar noodles to Chinese siomai and dumplings. As with most Myammar hotels, this hotel is way overpriced,

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mme1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really a very good hotel. Currently undergoing modernization. Most construction outside and noise only during the daytime--inconvenience minimal. Rooms older (being upgraded?) but well designed for comfort and convenience. Very clean. Warm and friendly service. Great outdoor pool. Several restaurants, the Italian one surprisingly good. Excellent breakfast buffet. Short cab ride to downtown if too hot to walk (which it will be)--a cab will run you about a buck fifty, so splurge. Of the several good hotels I stayed in on my Cambodia, Thailand and Burma excursion, this one was my favorite. I felt really at home. Would definitely stay here again. When renovations are complete, it will really shine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Despardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed 2 night for my business trip. Currently don't have so much choice to stay in Yangon. I don't think it is 4 stars hotel. Because of their service is not a high standard right now. The hotel looked quite old and the room was smelly by the old carpet. Sleep quality is't so good due to outside horrible noise. The breakfast is very good in term of a plenty of food and delicious. Room price isn't worthwhile your money compare with quality and services. Hotel need a big renovation. I would rate the hotel 6.5/10.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanaphol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Although some people say that Sedona Hotel is one of the best hotels in Yangon, the hotel looked old and inside the hotel room looked old as well. I could not have a nice sleep due to terrible noise. The next morning when I found hugh airconditioning or ventilation fans on the roofs of hotel, I was stunned. Immediately I requested the hotel to give me another room not facing huge ventilation fans. The second room was a little bit better, but due to the hotel's window did not block external noise, I could not sleep well, The staff was kind and could communicate in Engligh. The buffet breakfast at Sedona was quite good. In particular, the hotel provided a variety of tropical fruit. Bread quality was good.

Room Tip: It would be better to ask to give you hotel rooms not facing huge ventilation fans, which make terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed for four days at the Sedona Hotel, Myanmar whilst on business and currently I would not say it meets all the criteria for a four star hotel. The rooms are serviceable if a little dated; certainly large enough for me and the views over the lakes are quite stunning. The hotel is in the throes of being updated and it can be sometimes quite noisy and I was part of the scramble for rooms across the corridor that occurred on the Sunday when the large pneumatic drill started. I was also happy that the sound of the 5.30am early morning exercise class in the park opposite the hotel did not reach me any more! The single glazed windows do not help in this respect also.

My main gripe was with the food which was not to a very good standard (I will not elaborate on what I was served at the "Barbecue" evening meal) and quite extraordinarily expensive. I don't mind paying if the meal is worthwhile but the only meal I found worth eating was breakfast where there is plenty of choice and is well cooked. I tried both the Italian restaurant and the Brasserie and was disappointed both times.

I am sure that, once upon a time this was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and great food and I hope it will be the same again after the refurbishment but currently it is not coming up to the mark.

On a final note - I cannot understand a hotel that charges guests(sic) hundreds of dollars a night, making their staff stop people leaving the restaurants or lounge and asking them if the newspaper they are carrying is in fact theirs! I was given a copy of the Straits Times on the aircraft whilst flying in to Yangon and thought I would read it at my leisure at breakfast. In the end I stopped taking it as on both occasions I was pursued out of the restaurant and asked if it was in fact mine!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the swimming pool and avoid the 5.30am fitness class and the pneumatic drill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistaPeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#5 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
197 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,661 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
610 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,382 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Property: Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Address: No. 1 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road | Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Hotel situated on 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens facing the south east end of Yangon's famous Inya Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JovagoAsia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing