We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Nearby Hotels
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$127
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$139
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$146
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
$242
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savoy Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$174
$110
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Parkview Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$70
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveler rating
430
480
201
50
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
480
201
50
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew winginya lakelobby loungebusiness tripshopping mallfitness centerchinese restaurantbig hotelnice hotelbreakfast spreadswimming poollake viewluxury hotelnice poolbusiness hotelvisiting yangonclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
754 - 759 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This review could go one of two ways: either comparing the Sedona to five star hotels in other cities in Asia or comparing the Sedona to its competition in Yangon. If I were to take the former approach, it would get a bad rating. It is not on par with five star hotels in Jakarta, Singapore, and the like.

That being said, it's probably the best hotel in Yangon and is certainly acceptable for business travel. It's not flashy, it's not great, the rooms aren't the most modern, but it's just fine. There's nothing to wow you, but similarly, there's nothing egregious either.

The hotel situation in Yangon should change rapidly over the next year or two as new properties open up. Until then, there is a short-term supply issue and the Sedona is as good as you can find.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is very dated, shoddy furniture, everything is 15 old and tired. The service is spotty at best. In the lobby I had to wait 15 minutes for the occasional waitress to swing by. The pseudo-italian restaurant lacks a foreign chef, and the GM is from Sri Lanka. Besides that it is really far from the downtown, and the pool is in a barren landscape. The prices are sky high, so I would not return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

After staying here for several weeks I think I can say that the Sedona Hotel is a great place to be in Yangon. The hotel rooms and serviced apartments are spacious, furnished with taste and the pool area is perfect place to be in the afternoon.
The breakfast buffet is a great place to start your day as it offers a good variety of food and fruits.
During the day or further in the evening you find a couple of good restaurants in the hotel and you can finish of in the lounge area with a drink listening to live music.
The management as well as the staff are very helpful and friendly and make your stay a pleasurable experience.
Also I noticed during several visits this year that there have been some noticeable changes and upgrades in the the hotel that clearly benefit the guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutante15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a good hotel. You get a 5-star hotel for slightly less than what you will pay in the city centre. The overall atmospheric of the hotel doesnt feel old and the lobby is spacious. It is also located in a less stressful part of the city since it is located away from the centre. (which can be a minus if convenience is the most important consideration). It is situated right beside the lake.

I stayed in a standard room. The room is spacious with all the basic facilities you expect a 5-star hotel to possess. Wifi access is reliable and efficient. This is a major plus.

The club lounge at 11th floor has a great view of the city and the lake. It is a nice place to be in the morning. The fresh coffee was also up to mark. I was mildly disappointed that the breakfast was not ready when i arrived at 5.30am (esp since breakfast is suppose to be available from 5am). But quality and variety made up for it.

The pool is not very big but it should do. I will choose this place again if i am here for business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecSoviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel has a great swimming pool and Gym, but don't hope to use it, the hotel has opened both up to the paying public. In the gym you often have to put your name on a list and wait for a machine to come available. I stayed here on a business trip so can only use early morning / evening, no chance. My wife travelled with me, same for most of the day.
Swimming pool is very large but feels small as there are lots of swimming teachers with small groups so its difficult to enjoy an un interupted swim.
Service in the restaurants is average at best.One evening in the italian restuarant there where about 6 tables and the service was terrible the staff appoligised because they where so busy!!!!!!!!
Breakfast service is little better. We avoided the chinese restuarant as they serve shark fin, our personal policy is to avoid any establishment serving this.
When we arrived we where given a smoking room opposite what we requested, but in fairness changed quickly.
The main lounge area is very difficult for none smokers as it is full of smoke, it would be a good idea to ban it, or at least complimentary laundry to get the smell from your clothes.
If your room is on the side of the hotel where there is a large construction site it could be noisy for the next few years, our wasn't.
The wifi coverage is limited, ok in the smokey lounge but very slow in the bedrooms
Location is remote, you really need transport, not many options for dining if on foot.
I travel to Myanmar evry month and now looking for an alternative.
The hotel manager introduced himself one day and we had a very cordial chat, not once did he ask if every thing was Ok

Room Tip: Avoid the side where the construction is happening
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubbleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews