We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Ranked #14 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked The Sedona reluctantly as it was hard to get a reservation anywhere. In reading the Trip Advisor reviews, I almost cancelled the entire trip. That would have been a BIG mistake.

The Sedona is a business/convention style hotel. It is not exciting. That said, it is clean, efficient, has a huge pool, great breakfast buffet, etc. Would I have preferred to be at Governor's or the Strand? Of course. That said, there is nothing wrong with The Sedona. It turned out to be a terrific base from which to explore Yangon. At the end of the day a trip to Myanmar is not going to be about the hotels anyway.

I recommend the hotel highly as long as your expectations are set correctly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSF3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Sedona Hotel Yangon has a 5 star rating, but I would rate it 4 stars.
The rooms which we are in were quiet, well equiped, clean and well serviced.
We have had lunch in the italian restaurant and we had twice a dinner in the Chinese restaurant, which was of excellent quality.
The hotel staff was nice and friendly .
We were in a group and guided , so we had less contact with the hotel staff for arrangements etc.
We thought the breakfast buffet was really excellent, a very wide choice for all nationalities - in fact the best breakfast we have had during our 19 day roundtrip in Myanmar.
The swimming pool is very nice, but slippery when you get out ! Pay attention !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Sedona Hotel has a 5-star rating but it cannot be compared to the many other 5-stars in town - Trader's, Park Royal, The Governor's Residence, The Strand. The rooms are a decent size but make sure to ask for non-smoking. the 5th floor is non-smoking so that (currently) is your best choice if you do not enjoy a smelly room. The customer service in this hotel is far from anything other 5-star or even 3 star or no star have to offer. Staff's English is limited which is surprising given the excellent English in many other hotels. Things that are standard in other hotels - like helping you get a taxi at a reasonable rate - are unheard of here.

The hotel does offer a nice breakfast buffet and has a decent on-site gym (with 1 elyptical and 3 treadmills) and a nice pool.

Also, there are many weddings at this hotel - they have a lot of meeting rooms - so many a night there are loud events in the pool area that you will have the dubious pleasure of enjoying from every room in the hotel.

If you are looking for a quiet hotel to relax with good customer service this is not the hotel to stay. In addition the Sedona is not the most centrally located so with the heavy traffic it will take 30 minutes or so to go downtown and during rush hour even longer.

I stayed at the Sedona Hotel 3 times for 3-4 weeks each so know this hotel better than others.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here and are non-smoker choose the 5th floor as that is (currently) the a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Eva G

Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We have designated certain smoking areas around the hotel, including certain guestroom floors. We are looking into reducing the number of smoking areas in future.

The hotel is a popular venue for weddings, and we apologize for the sound levels during peak periods.

We hope you will stay with us again, especially during our non-peak season and enjoy the serenity we can assure you of.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was part of an 8 night trip during which we also stayed in the Parkroyal (2 nights) and the Myanmar Life hotel (1 night). 5 nights in Sedona. From the minute we arrived there I didn't like it. First problem - I booked overseas as part of a conference and had already given my credit card and (I was told) charged for the room. But I had not been and they wanted cash, or a 5.5% surcharge for using my credit card. ZERO flexibility was shown in the discussion. They charge extra for 2 people in the same room - nobody else in Yangon did that. Generally the room was average - about 3 or 4 stars in any other country, but good for Myanmar. The internet was terrible - but about the same as the other hotels in Yangon so I think this is a Myanmar issue not a hotel issue. The food in the restaurants was OK - didn't get sick and prices not too bad by hotel standards. The pool is quite nice but they have events poolside every evening and shut the pool off to guests during the events, meaning that you cannot really use it after going out during the day. The fitness centre was small but adequate for a hotel - but they also allow outside members in so it gets crowded in the evenings. The hotel is all about "events" - it's never about the guests. You are always second to the conferences, weddings and other things going on. Fine if you are part of the events (as I was for some of the days) but if not, forget getting any decent service. Generally the staff were the least friendly of all the hotels we stayed in - very strange given how generally friendly the Burmese are!
The location is pretty awful - nothing at all near the hotel (no restaurants or shops) and it's a taxi everywhere to anything.
On balance, this hotel is hugely overpriced for the quality and service and will suffer greatly as soon as the major western brands enter Yangon. For now, if you want a 5 star hotel, go to the Parkroyal. It's also a better location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairhsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear fairhsa

We apologize for a stay which did not meet your expectations.

Credit card payment, intermittent internet services, and feedback from multiple events being held in our hotel, are constant challenges we face and are trying to improve.

We hope you will give us another chance again, the next time you visit Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

service is excellent. room is clean.dinner are nice and clean also service are very good. pool area is clean. food are good too.people are friendly and helpful. has warm welcome.decoration are nice and pretty. good parking spaces.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear alice a

Thank you for this lovely review, which my team & I are very happy to receive!

We certainly hope you will stay with us again… as well as our other Sedona properties.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five nights.
Although built in the 70's it is large and well run. The staff are very eager to please, the rooms are excellent, pool huge. There is a lot going on at the hotel, weddings, business meetings etc. good theatre if you are just there for a holiday.
The breakfast buffet is superb.
Things to improve:- suggest the hotel introduces a no smoking policy inside the hotel.
The Internet is slow and charged for, except in the lounge area. Suggest that guests are given a password that comes with their room.
The decor is beginning to look a little tired in places so a Re vamp would be good.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Nigel P

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate the useful feedback for improvements!

We will look into designating certain smoking areas within the hotel, and improve the constant intermittent internet network.

We are planning a revamp, and hope to welcome you again when you next visit Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Sedona Yangon is a luxurious hotel with huge rooms, swimming pool, pro gym, and all of the customer service to go with it all. The beds were very comfortable, rooms were quiet, and bathrooms were clean and functional. The buffet breakfast is plentiful, with a wide selection of foods from Asian and western cuisines.

On the down side, the water in the pool was not heated, and had a strange smell. The biggest downer was discovering that such an opulent hotel does not include wi-fi access with its already high-priced rooms. Apparently, it's included only with an even more expensive "deluxe" room. Six US dollars for three hours of slow internet access for everyone else!

Were it not for this ridiculous nickel and diming by a luxury hotel, I would've given it another star. But they don't deserve it with such an attitude.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onbalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear onbalance

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We face a constant challenge with the internet network and hope the overall system will be improved in due time.

As the average temperature in Yangon is around 27 to 28 °C, installing a pool heater may not be helpful when most guests use the pool during the day. We will study this option before deciding whether to implement it in future.

We are glad you enjoyed our service, rooms and breakfast; and hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,540 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#5 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
345 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,408 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Address: No. 1 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road | Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11081, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $126 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Hotel situated on 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens facing the south east end of Yangon's famous Inya Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing