We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Yangon, but far from city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Ranked #14 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best in Yangon, but far from city center”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's arguably one of the best you can find in Yangon. Spacious room even for the lowest room type. Wide selection of breakfast. Located in front of Inya lake, you can spend your morning seeing and breathing good air in Inya lake.

Unfortunately it's quite far from the downtown. That's the only downside though.

Room Tip: Find a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear agentenzo

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is an estimated 15-20 minutes drive from the airport and downtown areas, and we also provide complimentary shuttle service exclusively for all hotel guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and we hope to welcome you back again the next time you visit Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    412
    182
    49
    26
See reviews for
79
148
63
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Sedona hotel is one of the better hotels in Yangon; the new city of Gold. Because it's so compressed, I ended paying ridiculous rates despite getting a company discount. I wouldn't mind coming back here though as the location is central enough for me and the breakfast spread is not only decent but is Halal too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frozk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Frozk

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast and like the hotel's favorable location.

We hope you will stay at Sedona Hotel Yangon during your next trip here!

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frittenden
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is a chain hotel with good sized rooms, very large beds and a good sized bathroom. It has an excellent swimming pool and large restaurant plus two specialist restaurants. It is not however in a central location and it would be difficult to walk to another bar or restaurant. Obviously you can catch a cab. we went to the basement bar on the Friday night and there were some ladies of the night there and lots of business men. But the Philippine band that played that night were absolutely excellent and obviously bought in a lot of local people.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaFrittenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear PatriciaFrittenden

We thank you for your positive review.

The hotel is a short drive from Shwedagon Pagoda, and the main business and shopping districts. While Du Fu Chinese Restaurant and Orzo Italian Restaurant remain favourites of guests and non-guests alike, many also enjoy having a drink at Paddy O’Malley’s, and listening to the ‘’live’’ music our band plays.

Thank you for staying with Sedona Hotel Yangon and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip here.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Family and I stayed in Sedona Hotel - Balcony Suite Rooms - one with swimming pool view , the other is lake view.

Pros
Room - Clean, spacious. Room has a fresh fruit platter and rose bouquets! Daily complementary mineral water.
Housekeeping - Clean and good service. Friendly staff.
Breakfast - Good choice and generally good. Recommend sit near the glass ceiling area, sunny yet comfortable.
Bathroom - spacious, complimentary toiletries which includes bath salts!
The hotel met our expectations.

Cons
The hotel is a bit dated, otherwise fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view Higher floor better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear cali118

Thank you for taking the time to write us this wonderful review.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I am in the middle of spending 3 weeks at the Sedona Hotel. I have been very happy with it. The staff are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay more comfortable. The buffet breakfasts and lunches are very good - I think the standard is high given they are catering for a wide variety of guests from multiple countries. I am particularly impressed with the Chinese Restaurant - probably some of the best Chinese food I have ever eaten. Bring your own laptop and DVD's as the TV choice is not that good. Wi-Fi is free and there is also a business center. Each room is air conditioned (I had a problem with my air con and they happily moved me to another room). The hotel is across the road from Inya Lake (lovely to go for an evening walk). There is also a very good fitness center and swimming pools. The hotel is located about half way between the airport and downtown area..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petal090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Petal090

Thank you for writing us this encouraging and positive review on TripAdvisor.

We will take your feedback into consideration and work towards improving our cable television channel selection.

Du Fu Chinese Restaurant and Orzo Italian Restaurant remain favorites with our guests, do give the latter a try during your stay!

Please feel free to approach my team & I at anytime, and we wish you an enjoyable stay for the rest of your trip in Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Sedona Hotel was selected by my Yangon office. The staff are so warm and welcoming. They are not always up to international standards, but make up for it with their genuine interest in helping with whatever you need. Restaurants and breakfast was good. The rooms are fine, have a nice view, good AC and are quiet. There are more hotel options more centrally located, but nothing is very far away in Yangon - but the city is changing fast. Free WiFi, but good luck getting a reliable connection, especially if you need to log onto a VPN.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Michael C

We thank you and your office for selecting Sedona Hotel Yangon during your visit here, and are glad you had a pleasant stay.

We apologize for the intermittent WIFI connection and are working closely with our vendor to improve this service.

Thank you for writing us this review and we hope to see you again on a future visit to Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you need to be not far from Yangon airport, is a good place to stay. Other than that there are much better hotels for that price. I only stayed one night and did not try the breakfast. The swimming pool is very nice if you are not visiting during rainy season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clody17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Clody17

Our location is favourable with guests, an estimated 15 to 20 minutes from Shwedagon Pagoda, National Museum and the main business district, among others.

We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.5 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#5 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
610 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,381 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Property: Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Address: No. 1 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road | Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Hotel situated on 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens facing the south east end of Yangon's famous Inya Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, JovagoAsia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing