We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No.1 Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Ranked #13 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I had the opportunity to stayed at Sedona (Yangon) for a couple of time during my visit between 2010 and 2011. I must say that I did not experience any discomfort during my stay. The breakfast buffet was delicious with many varieties. The pool was amazing. The services were pretty much the same as any other hotels. The room is spacious and clean. The location is pretty close to the city itself so I could just go out and get to the place I wanted with short period of time. The view is spectacular if its facing the lake. Overall experiences was full satisfactory.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

Finding an available room in Yangon is difficult now, with booms in tourism and business fueled by the recent political reforms. So, given the alternatives, staying heremay not be a worst-case scenario. It is a Western hotel--clean with decent food (breakfast buffet was plentiful; the Chinese and Italian restaurants in the hotel are quite good).

That said, there are a lot of flaws that need to be fixed before this place can be considered a four or five star hotel. The internet connection is fragile, often breaking down in the best of circumstances, and totally inaccessible from some rooms. My room's air conditioner just could not kick in with any power; the temperature never got much below 78 degrees in the five nights that I stayed here, despite several service calls from hotel technicians. The electrical system in the rooms is completely outmoded; you will need to unplug lamps in order to charge your computer or anything else.

The fitness center is a little antiquated; the stationary bikes are about 30 years olld. The four treadmillls are okay, but there are not enough to accomodate all of the customers, so there are queues during certain times of the day. There are no elipticals. Like many Asian fitness centers, the temperature is kept pretty warm--probably around 80 degrees.

The reception/cashier desks are understaffed, so there can be waits of several minutes or longer to check in, check out, or get anyone's attention.

One nice thing is that the hotel is quite close to the airport--only about 15 minutes when traffic is light.

So, as said earlier, staying here is not a terrible experience-but certainly not up to the standards of other mid-level Western branded hotels in Asian cities (like Hyatt, Hilton, Intercontinental).

Room Tip: If you can, ask for rooms where wi-fi is available and where air conditioning is functioning fully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric_Hemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Sedona seems to specialize in placing hotels in cities where good Western hotels are difficult to find. This one is no exception; it’s somewhat of an Oasis in the middle of a backward country. Room was nice and clean, but not special by international standards. For our second night stay, the hotel informed us the Myanmar Government needed our room for international visitors and we were asked to leave, welcome to Myanmar! We were forced to find another hotel and ended up at the Chatrium, which was a pleasant surprise, it’s a nicer hotel. You may want to have one or two hotel’s contact info as a backup when coming to Myanmar.

WARNING: as of this writing, most (all?) hotels in Myanmar cannot accept credit cards and there are no ATM machines in the country. Thus, you must bring very NEW USD$ or Euro into the country for all of your expenses, all money should look like it was just printed at the mint, or it will be rejected.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars_of_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our stay in the Sedona Hotel was excellent. We had some of our most rewarding meetings there. The hotel has four international chefs (Indian, German, Chinese, Italian). The chefs and staff were very willing and ready to prepare interesting, varied and delicious meals. We had 3 meals a day in the hotel and they were all excellent. Everyone was happy, even after more than 10 days in the hotel. They have a main restaurant, a good Italian restaurant and a Chinese restaurant.
Our meeting halls were standard but always kept clean and ready for our next meeting. Staff was very attentive and quickly fulfilled all of our varied needs and requests. The hotel has a very large, dividable ballroom as well as many other smaller rooms and halls. The Sedona Hotel always seems to have a convention or meeting of some sort going on, particularly on the weekends, parking can be a little crowded. I noticed also that many government people and businesses choose to have there meetings in the Sedona. Our experience was excellent so I can see why others also choose the Sedona for their important meetings.
Most all of the rooms have a very nice view of either the lake or the pool area and you can see the Shwedagon Pagoda from some of the rooms. The rooms are pretty large with the usual facilities, clean and neat.
The Hotel is just across the road from Inya Lake, good for exercise, walking and running. They also have a very good gym, large pool and sauna area and two tennis courts.
Good security and active concierge/bellman desk. Easy to get a taxi or hire a hotel car. About a 15 minute ride to city centre.
The front desk was very helpful and did their best to assist with most any request.
We were quite satisfied with the availability of free wifi from almost all the rooms and easily in the lobby area. Wifi speed was adequate even when being used by many guests.
We would definitely like to return to the Sedona Hotel for one of our future meetings. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savyasachi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Yangon. The location is excellent. It is a quiet oasis that is convenient to the markets etc. The best part about this hotel is the staff. They are incredible in their attention to detail and trying to meet the quests needs. I liked my room very much. The view of the lake was beautiful and inspiring. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I suggest getting a room on the lake side. It is near the road but the views are incredible (see pho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chetanacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights on a business trip. In short:

Rooms: very old, very basic. Not entirely clean even after a housekeeping service. Furniture is desperately old, TV even older. There's no wifi access in the room nor is there a LAN connection. If you want wifi, you need to go to the lobby. Not very useful, for a country where mobile phones don't even work. Faulty water pipe in the shower.

Breakfast: very simple and limited choice. Not very attentive staff. Had to wait a while before being seated.

Overall, a horrible stay. I think they're extremely complacent as there aren't many choices available in Yangon and most better choices are always fully booked. Try and avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozymandez O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My stays at Sedona Hotel Yangon as Group, Family & Individual make me feel at home, since rooms are fully occupied need to built extensions Hotels to accommodate more guests for their conveniences. Most of the guests had the same impression like me.

Also suggest to open more Sedona Hotels like in Mandalay, at least 5 more in other destinations,because very soon Myanmar will be one of the Tourist Destination in Southeast Asia and not too long will be Major Tourist Destination in Asia.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking Inya Lake are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,539 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#5 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
345 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,406 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Address: No. 1 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road | Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11081, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $126 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Hotel situated on 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens facing the south east end of Yangon's famous Inya Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing