We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF you can afford this is the place to stay in Yangon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at Strand many times before I found this place. All I can say is wow! a place with so much character and charm. If you are looking for a elegant, quiet and old world charm, this is it. This hotel must be booked months in advance during tourist season.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phyu p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

This small hotel is a beautiful oasis in hot and busy Yangon. The grounds and rooms are beautiful, the food very good and the service is excellent. It isn't cheap but if you can afford to treat yourself it is a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is the best hotel in Yangon.
We have visited Yangon 7 times since 2000 to holiday and now fly up just to stay over and enjoy a few nights at the Governors! Only problem is all the positive reviews means that there is not always rooms available when we want them, as it is a small boutique hotel. Outstanding staff, fantastic breakfast and a wonderful experience. Only issue no gym to burn off the calories put on at breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dijo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A simply amazing hotel in all aspects. This is our second stay.

The staff are all wonderful and incredibly friendly and helpful. They made our stay here and were a big part of the reason we returned.

The hotel itself is stunning, from the huge rooms, comfortable beds to the amazing oasis like swimming pool complete with a pair of peacocks!

The restaurant is very good. Breakfast is amazing and the Burmese Curry Table evenings are really good.

This is without any doubt the best and the nicest hotel in Yangon!

Room Tip: Get a room facing into the hotel garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend - three generations ranging in age from 90 to 7! It suited us all as there was a large pool and plenty of shady outdoor space as well as air-conditioned interiors. The air-conditioning in one of our rooms really did not work but the room was changed with no fuss. Breakfast was excellent and every taste was catered for from local mohinga noodle soup through European hams and cheeses, to English egg and bacon and American pancakes! We never dined there but lunches were acceptable salads and burgers. The staff were exceptionally helpful and always smiling!

Room Tip: There are very good ground floor rooms which are useful for handicapped and elderly people as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvcoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Belmond's Governor's Residence is the best boutique hotel in Yangon. From the moment you enter to the moment you leave, a sense of tranquility surrounds you. That's not the easiest feeling to get in this crazy city!

Room Tip: Go for the Governor's room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenarcikMarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

In Australia we had an advertisement for a brand of soap. The family flew around in a 747 dreaming of the best places to fly to. In all cases they would have flown to this hotel. The staff perfect, the rooms lovely. It is not a traditional western hotel, the rooms are not what you would expect, but they are what is on their site. You get what you pay for.

The hotel is all about that something that you get that is not possibly to quantify, it is the extra mile the staff goes that makes it special. The welcome back drink because it was hot, the ringing of the "special bell" when you arrive, the cool towel if they see your hot, the umbrella because they worry you will burn, the concern if your going out, will one be OK? or was it the the welcome home sweet, or the fruit on a stick while lying by the pool!

However it is expensive, the food and drink is outrageous, but the quality is exceptional. A wine is $14.00 US, but a beer on the street is 60c. The other guests seem not to worry about these prices.

They do have local tours and event every day. Live like a local, or markets tour, or house cocktails. If you are in Yangoon I would say young in cheek "don't stay here" because I don't want it to be to popular for my next visit. Hotel is 100%

Seriously if you want a nice place to stay, select this hotel, and eat and drink out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUSISYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
745 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,007 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,662 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
393 reviews
2.9 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#5 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $283 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Belmond's international collection of iconic luxury hotels, trains and river cruises, Belmond Governor's Residence is a 1920's teak mansion and hotel situated in the heart of Yangon, Myanmar. Surrounded by lush gardens and lotus ponds, and home to two resident peacocks, the property is a peaceful oasis and retreat from the bustle of downtown. The hotel features the Kipling Bar and two restaurants, including the renowned Burmese Table, a gourmet introduction to the cuisine of Myanmar. The Mandalay Restaurant on the lower level of the mansion serves international fine dining al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lotus ponds. Guests can enjoy swimming in the fan-shaped pool in the gardens or indulge in treatments at the Governor's Oasis Spa. Complimentary daily guest activities and complimentary guest bicycles are provided. The hotel is located near the iconic Shwedagon Pagoda and a short taxi ride to the city center. The People's Park is located within two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing