We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Much has already been said about this beautiful property, but it is well deserved. Could unfortunately only stay 1 night, do did not have the time the enjoy all of the facilities/services offered. Enjoyed though a great buffet dinner on the 1st floor and breakfast the next morning. (I also had another dinner when I returned a week after at their restaurant downstairs).
Orient Express has always some wonderful properties (stayed in Luang Prabang, Siem Reap and Samui), and The Governor's Residence certainly met with miy expections (which were high...).
Expensive yes, but definitely worthwhile.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelmontreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    267
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
182
741
79
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the "Oldie Colonial" style. It is all beautifully done and the staff kind and efficient. However it is a taxi ride from the central area. You couldn't walk it in the evening because there are no pavements, the roads are rutted and the lighting is poor, so you really need to be central. If you want a hotel where you just plan on sitting around the pool all day and not exploring the city, then this is the place. Otherwise find somewhere more central.

Room Tip: I think they are all probably all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a beautiful hotel! Nice rooms, very nice swimming pool and very nice restaurants.
The service was perfect!
We ended our myanmar trip in this hotel and had the burmese buffet as a last meal: it was absolutely delicious, and it reconciled us with burmese food!
Expensive but worth it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Being Yangon a place which is just opening as a choice for tourism, I would recommend this hotel emphatically !!
The decor is very chic in a colonial good teak building ,the service super and what is very important in Burma wifi through the whole hotel works great !
We stayed during a week at arrival and on our way back from visiting other places in Burma ..
Both times felt the satisfaction of being in a great peaceful base within more isolated and exotic places we visited in the country .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nora k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Knowing this was an Orient Express property, having also stayed at the Strand Hotel at the beginning of our month-long vacation, I was a little surprised with the accommodations. While the main residence building is impressive and perfect for dining and enjoying the upstairs bar, I found the rooms themselves a little disappointing. The rooms are good size, but the bathroom is quite cramped and I missed the "little touches" of luxury. Pillows were flat, mosquitos seemed ever present due to the ponds outside of the rooms, etc. If I had to do it over, while it was nice to check out a different area of town, I might have elected to return to the Strand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob92110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A peaceful oasis, wonderful base between flights in and out to discover all the exotic beautiful regions of Myanmar. Not at all cheap, but worth it! Also eccellent breakfast at dawn and anytime later . .

Room Tip: Overall, first floor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer-RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This must be the best place to stay in Yangon if not the whole of Myanmar. We stayed over Christmas before going on to the 'Road to Mandalay' river ship. The whole experience was delightful right from the very special reception to our departure. The setting is perfect, with the teak building, the sheltered swimming pool and the lovely grounds. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, a wide choice of Western and Asian cuisine and a lovely room helped make this just a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
609 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,510 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Belmond's international collection of iconic luxury hotels, trains and river cruises, Belmond Governor's Residence is a 1920's teak mansion and hotel situated in the heart of Yangon, Myanmar. Surrounded by lush gardens and lotus ponds, and home to two resident peacocks, the property is a peaceful oasis and retreat from the bustle of downtown. The hotel features the Kipling Bar and two restaurants, including the renowned Burmese Table, a gourmet introduction to the cuisine of Myanmar. The Mandalay Restaurant on the lower level of the mansion serves international fine dining al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lotus ponds. Guests can enjoy swimming in the fan-shaped pool in the gardens or indulge in treatments at the Governor's Oasis Spa. Complimentary daily guest activities and complimentary guest bicycles are provided. The hotel is located near the iconic Shwedagon Pagoda and a short taxi ride to the city center. The People's Park is located within two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing