We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base in Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Channel Islander
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An excellent base in Yangon”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great style and ambience are combined with superb service from the staff and excellent food in the restaurants. My wife and I stayed here as part of a trip through Myanmar and it was the perfect beginning to a fascinating journey. Try the curry buffet - second to none! Just one small quibble - some of the buildings need a facelift, but it looks as though that process may well be under way. Once the work is completed, this will be one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampsonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    267
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
182
741
79
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful tranquil oasis provides the perfect retreat from the hustle of the streets. Staff are well spoken, kind and very helpful. After 2 days the staff will know your name and coffee order.
The gardens are rich and well maintained. The main building is a perfectly maintained open planned colonial building which is the perfect place to kick back and recover from the often crazy local temperatures.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100by40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great Hotel/ stayed there two nights before going on the Orient Express Road to Mandalay. The staff is wonderful and attentive to anything you may need. Maybe it is me, but I didn't like most of the Burmese Buffet for dinner. Would stay there again anyway because the rest of the experience is so good. Near the National Museum, which we enjoyed greatly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokesey541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Stokesey541

Mingala ba from Yangon and thank you for writing.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Governors Residence, the National Museum is indeed a treasure good that you mentioned it.

As for the Burmese Curry Table,I must say that Burmese food is not for everyone,it is quite substantial with thick sauces and lots of coconut milk,the good thing they are not spicy like Thai or Indian Curries hence something everyone could try.

In any case we do have a choice as the a la carte Service at Mandalay Restaurant is open every day for a more lighter and modern fare as well as the usual comfort food.

Thank you for your feedback and looking forward to have you here again sometime soon

With best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our visit to the Governor’s Residence sounds very similar to other guest’s visits. We used the hotel as our starting point and ending point for a two week trek through Burma. If you are going to be in Yangon this is the only hotel to stay. Despite its expensive pricing, it is worth every penny. Yes they quote in US Dollars!!!
We loved this hotel on our initial arrival and could not wait to get back at the end of our Burma excursion. Upon arrival we had a warm welcome (literally) it was horribly hot even at 1.00 AM when we finally made it to the hotel. We were escorted to our room across the bridge and through the main building to a tucked away suite overlooking the pool – Suite 211. As expected our suite was perfectly appointed with everything we needed, lovely teak furniture, a proper desk, a day bed at the window, and an amazingly comfortable bed. Don’t laugh, but the hotel has the best internet in Burma? If you have traveled around the country you will understand. Many hotels in Burma say they offer free Wi-Fi, however it does not work. You will never connect!
The physical features of the hotel are outstanding – the pool one of the prettiest I have ever swam in was inviting after a day walking through the markets of Yangon. The restaurants which overlook the grounds and the pool from two levels are quaint and nice. The service is remarkable in that they remember your name, even after one short introduction.


Located in a residential area of Yangon we found the hotel to be very well centered. If you can do it, you can walk into the center of the city. It took us about 20-25 minutes in the rain. There are several very good restaurants outside of the hotel and within walking distance including the restaurant FEEL. I suggest that you bring a torch with you as the streets and sidewalks are not very well lighted and in poor condition. Anyways you will need a torch for the rest of your trip in Burma.
However the best part of the Governor’s Residence is its staff. Everyone from the wait staff at breakfast to the pool attendant to the Resident Manager are outstanding. We have stayed at many of the Orient Express properties however this one by far is definitely top on the list.
On our return visit 13 nights later, we were greeted by the staff by name and escorted to another beautiful suite - number 442. Pure Serenity!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect. While we were there they were in the process of upgrading the rooms for the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just can't say enough about this amazing little hotel - from the moment we arrived until the time we left we were treated like treasured guests.
Lovely room (see pics) - well equipped with hairdryer, safe, good quality toiletries free wifi and international tv stations. The hotel is in beautiful, well kept grounds with a lovely pool.
The food was all delicious and daily newspapers are available.
But the very best thing about the Governor's Residence is the staff - within a few minutes of our arrival, everyone we met addressed us by name, thereafter remembered our likes and dislikes at breakfast and went the extra mile the whole time to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
Special mention to guest services staff Oscar, Sue and MeiMei who greeted us with a smile and helped us to plan itineraries to make the most of our short time in Yangon. Wonderful desk staff Mary Ann who gave us lots of little local tips and help.
We were so impressed by everyone we met at the hotel, so many extra thoughtful touches -from a sunhat and fan on the sunloungers at the pool, to meeting us from the taxi with an umbrella when it rained, to extra English Breakfast teabags each morning..nothing was too much trouble and we really can't wait to return to this beautiful gem of a hotel and it's wonderful staff.
Many thanks

Room Tip: We had a top floor room so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear 1K

Mingala ba from Yangon and thank you for writing

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the Governors Residence and that our team made you feel so welcome and looked after you in the way they did.

It is of course always a great encouragement to receive such words of praise and we are most grateful that your are "spreading" the good word.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you again here in the not to distant future

With best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was our first stop in Myanmar and our last. Upon arrival we had a warm welcome that was announced by the gong and them we were escorted to our room across the bridge and through the main building to a tucked away suite over another small bridge. The water features are beautiful, the friendliness of the staff in the restaurant exceptional, the food outstanding and the pool one of the prettiest I have ever had the pleasure to swim in. They used tiles of differing tones of emerald greens and s that the pool appears to be a pond and it circles the restaurant. Our suite was perfectly appointed with everything we needed, the bed amazingly comfortable, the internet worked well everywhere on the property and the massages we had were incredible and inexpensive. The hotel itself is expensive but the service and quality help to take the sting out of it. When we explained that we had a day to kill at the end of our trip the manager generously invited us to return for our last day. So after traveling for 2 weeks throughout the country we returned to the hotel on our last day to eat and linger by the pool until our late night departure. We even fit in another massage! It is truly an oasis that you will enjoy and appreciate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Canadian_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

super hotel. Huge comfy room, with wooden floors and shutters and wondeful snuggily bed.
pretty veranda overlooking pool for b/fast.
Prices are very high, but you are staying in the best hotel in Yangoon.
I stayed on my arrival in Myanmar and was blown away by the level of service. ( I also stayed at the Stand, which is no-where near as good)
Residential area , so calm haven, but good restaurants nearby. Staff will help you make reservations.
I had b'fast at 4am my last day ( you can take it as a box to the airport if you wish) and the standard was just as high
Lobby ATM useful when you've just arrived ( don't rely on ATM's though, they frequently are out of service)

Room Tip: top floor rooms will have less chance on hearing heavy footed guests clomping over the wooden floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_broadabroadVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
609 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,510 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Belmond's international collection of iconic luxury hotels, trains and river cruises, Belmond Governor's Residence is a 1920's teak mansion and hotel situated in the heart of Yangon, Myanmar. Surrounded by lush gardens and lotus ponds, and home to two resident peacocks, the property is a peaceful oasis and retreat from the bustle of downtown. The hotel features the Kipling Bar and two restaurants, including the renowned Burmese Table, a gourmet introduction to the cuisine of Myanmar. The Mandalay Restaurant on the lower level of the mansion serves international fine dining al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lotus ponds. Guests can enjoy swimming in the fan-shaped pool in the gardens or indulge in treatments at the Governor's Oasis Spa. Complimentary daily guest activities and complimentary guest bicycles are provided. The hotel is located near the iconic Shwedagon Pagoda and a short taxi ride to the city center. The People's Park is located within two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing