We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Governor's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
258 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I began my visit to Myanmar at the Traders Hotel which I have reviewed, it was dreadful. I ended my visit two weeks later with a couple of nights at this hotel and will forever be glad that I did.

I'm not going to describe the hotel except to say it's sublime. The rooms, the food, the pool, the staff, everything was superb.

I had a few minor niggles but they were dealt with perfectly, for example the bath in my room was enormous and I wasn't able to reach the taps, a man was sent to stand on the bath and run it for me, problem solved and I got an exclusive photo as a bonus!

I'm sure there are other good hotels in Yangon but I think they are all a lot larger and none can possibly offer the peace and personality of Governors.

One warning, although this is a nice area it is quite a walk from anywhere so you will probably want to take a cab but it's only a dollar or two to most places.

I understand they are going to build a small spa but currently there isn't one but you can order an in room massage which are excellent.

Room Tip: All good. I actually liked the base level room better than the higher rated Governors room, but both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LollypopSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear LollypopSunshine

Thank you so much for your review,what a refreshing way of writing, we really appreciate the time you took to share your experiences at the Governors Residence with everybody out there.

Great to see that you enjoyed yourself and we managed to get that bathtub sorted out for you :)

Hope that you will be able to come back as we would love to welcome you again here at the Governors Residence.

Wishing you and your family a prosperous 2013

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    262
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
174
718
76
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
193 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our Holiday in Myanmar. We definitely saved the best for last and was pleased that we did things in this order. Certainly the most luxurious place that we stayed in or so in Myanmar. Not cheap but what do you expect. Value for money? We thought so, but everyone has a different take on value propositions.

Room Tip: We had no wifi reception in our room 512, which is located on the rear edge of the property. As you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear SteveHK_8

Mingalar bar from all of us here at the Governors Residence thank you so much for your review and for spending the time to write and share your experiences at the Governors Residence.

We much appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

Looking forward to welcome you back here sometime soon

With best regards and all the best wishes for an exciting 2013

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here twice in November, for a total of eight nights, four at the start and another four at the end of three week stay in Myanmar. Words are inadequate to describe the beauty of this property. The hotel consists of a cluster of colonial style structures with wide verandas, and a wholly open second story in the main building. This serves multiple purposes: a seating area with comfortable, over-sized furnishings, as well as one of the hotel's outstanding restaurants and bars. The surrounding grounds are secluded and beautifully landscaped. The upper restaurant serves a lavish buffet of Burmese dishes, while the second restaurant, on the lower level, features and up-scale, continental menu. A lavish breakfast buffet, featuring both local and western dishes, is served on the wide veranda of the lower level, surrounded by extremely attractive pools, which extend up to the hotel, itself. The accommodations, restaurants, bars, pool, and spa are lovely and include all of the amenities which one expects in a fine hotel. The very extensive hotel staff, under the able direction of the general manager, Thomas Henseler, is efficient, very friendly, and extremely helpful. They provided assistance with everything from local sightseeing, day trips, and restaurant reservations, to ongoing travel arrangements. He is clearly a hands-on manager, and this is reflected in the overall operation and appearance of the property. The location of the hotel, in the quiet embassy district, is conveniently close to the Shwedegon Pagoda, the National Museum, Kandawgyi Lake, and several very good, local restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HP-MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear HP-MM

Thank you for your detailed and rave review,we are so pleased that we managed to exceed your expectations.

We much appreciate the time you took to write and share all this with the travelling community out there.

Looking forward to have you back sometime for another great experience at the Governors Residence,we are all certainly looking forward to welcome you back here.

With our very best regards and a fantastic start into 2013

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Located slightly away from the city centre in the Embassy Quarter, The Governor's Residence is in a quiet and safe neighborhood. The landmark of Yangon, Shwedagon Padoda, is within walking distance (although I wouldn't say it's really that close). The estate features a colonial charm and you can indeed get a sense of its beautiful history while wondering around the pool, the garden and public areas. Our room is huge, with a humongous bath tub in the washroom, although I would say the overall decoration is more on the minimalist front. Breakfast should be nice, but the hot food station was not ready at 6ish when we had ours (although we were told breakfast starts from 4:30am) - frankly quite a disappointment. Overall I would say it's a nice boutique hotel but probably a bit overrated given its price (hotels with similar quality in Bagan or Inle Lake would cost at most half of the price at the Governor's Residence).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMontage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear TravelMontage

Mingalar bar and thank you for taking the time to write,we really appreciate your feedback.

So sorry to hear that you feel we are overrated,no doubt we are on the very top in terms of rates and are eager to live up to these high expectations,our apologies if we failed you this time.

We are highly motivated to assure exceptional service to all our clients,however are aware that there can be hick ups here and there possible from time to time and usually manage to sort them out while our clients are still in house.

Looks like we missed one here and would like to invite you to visit us again to show you our improved efforts,we are working hard to assure continuous training and improvements are taking place at all times.

Best regards and a great 2013 from all of here

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We started our trip to Myanmar with two nights at this quiet sanctury from the city, and returned for one night at the end of our tour. Our first rooms, both on the ground floor, were teak lined, elegant and enormous - the only problem being that they were quite dark: reading and packing were difficult; the large windows overlooking the ponds and walkways required us to keep the blinds closed whilst the lights were on.. When we returned, we were allocated much smaller rooms, to the rear and upstairs. In many respects we prefered these - lighting was much brighter and the logistics of the rooms worked far better by being on a smaller scale.
The breakfasts won our 'best breakfast' award from the 6 hotels we stayed in whilst touring Myanmar. Service throughout the hotel was constantly superb; from the charming reception staff to the legions of attentive staff at the stunning pool - iced water melon, fresh towels on getting out of the water and 'gentle wake ups' for those who dozed off in the searing sun.

Room Tip: The suites are very grand and atmospheric but we were also very happy to be in the standard rooms. U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portcred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Portcred

Thank you so much for your kind review,we are very appreciative of the time you took to write and rate our services.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services in line with your expectations.

We would be looking forward to welcome you back at any time

Wishing you a happy festive season and a great start into 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in this 6*++ hotel
in early December 2012 after a hectic 14 days 'doing' Burma. From the moment we were greeted at reception by Thomas, to our departure the attention to detail from All the staff was fantastic, there was nothing that was too much trouble.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable and had everything one needed and the public areas were beautifully decorated.
The food was excellent and we discovered that the chef 'Mr Murray' was from Scotland and had been there for a couple of years, and sitting in the gorgeous garden having a late breakfast we had a charming conversation with him and he explained all about the combination of various cooking cultures he used to make such an interesting menu.
I mentioned nothing being too much trouble and a little ps. We decided to buy a painting of Aung San Suu Kyi we had seen up in Began and arranged to have it delivered to the hotel to be UPS delivered to UK, Thomas arranged to receive it and informed us back at home that it was ready for collection. Thank you.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear EdwardR

Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to write and share with everyone,we very much appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and are greateful of your feedback.

We are looking forward to many more returns to the Governors Residence

With our best regards wishing you a great festive season and a perfect start into 2013

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern, Schweiz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

great place to relax, beautiful garden, great architecture, excel excellent service.
The restaurant serves international menus but upstairs they do have a great local buffet dinner, it's a great experience and a very good insight to the Burmese Foods.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HOE_Lucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear HOE_Lucerne

Minagalar bar and thank you for your review,we appreciate the time you took to share your recent experience at the Governors Residence with all the fellow travellers out there.

Looking forward to your return and wishing you a great festive season as well as a good start into 2013

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing