We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not brilliant...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice but not brilliant...”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

After a 7 hour bus transfer from Prome, we were so looking forward to checking into our room. After all the formalities we were courteously informed that we were not expected! and that even though it was 3.30pm our room would not be ready for another 45 minutes - well excuse me! I really am wondering what time check in is and considering we made a booking over 6 months ago to not be expected?? confused! Anyway, Thomas (reception manager) had a chat with house keeping and voila a room magically opened up 5 minutes later.
After returning from the pool, house keeping had been and a letter announcing our iminent departure had appeared, slightly odd as we were staying for three nights! Visited reception who again apologised for the inconvenience and confirmed we were checked in for 3 nights!
Spent some time in one of the best pools around, lovely lush and must be heated because I could walk straight in. The bar has a nice selection of cocktails...but be warned if you order something that is not on the menu, like a long island ice tea prepare to be slugged $15 ++, expensive in any language! A down side to pool is the continual tour groups that trample across the bridge adjacent to the pool...say cheese!
The room was beautifully furnished and softly lit, the bed was firm and large, the shower lacked a little bit of pressure but had even temperature. Perhaps a little more luggage storage may be a good idea as we ended up using the day bed.
Just be aware that there is a high level of noise from the neighbouring rooms. if you are a light sleeper expect to be woken by the toilet flushing, shower running, doors opening and closing and people talking...paper walls!
If you are intending to stay for any period of time, check out the local supermarket about 10 mins walk away the beer is much more reasonable priced!
There is one amazing staff member who you need to look out for, her name is Me Me and I think she must manage the restaurant because every time we ate, she was there - morning, noon and night. Me Me is just a lovely person and probably this hotel would be better served if she managed it. So amazing how one person who is so welcoming can make such a difference to your hotel experience.
The restaurant food is expensive and pricing is comparable to what you would pay in Australia. However the food is delicious, perfectly cooked and served with a high level of care. Our last meal in Myanmar was made even more special by the beautiful secluded garden setting, perfect food, perfect location and perfect company.
This is a good hotel, and could be a great hotel with a little bit of tweaking from someone who knows something about good customer service.

Room Tip: The Governors Room overlooking the pool is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chirpchirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    268
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
183
741
79
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Yes the place is nice, the garden very green and relaxing, the atmosphere like in the old colonial days, which I find personaly too formal and too old, but my husband loves it...

But we were disappointed by our 'garden view deluxe' rooms, on the ground floor, behind the stairs, quite dark and little view. The worst was to be woken at 5:45 up by works very close and the repeating noise of a hammer, we would have loved to sleep a bit before to take the evening intercontinental flight back home !

Very nice service at the restaurant.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the ground floor, ask a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank legoutdesautres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Yangon is rapidly turning into a congested, polluted nightmare, and The Governor's Residence is an amazing break from the chaos. The building is stunning, the rooms have amazing bathroom facilities (I'm 5' 11" and the tub was so large I could not touch the other end), highest speed wifi of any hotel I stayed at in Myanmar (though still slow by normal western standards), and the staff was incredibly responsive and helpful.

One word to the wise, just because you are staying there doesn't mean they have room for you in the restaurant. If you want to eat downstairs on the veranda, make a reservation in advance. We arrived on a Friday night and it was already booked up. That said, there's an amazing looking curry buffet upstairs for $42 per person.

Be sure to bring bug spray as well. The rooms are clear, but it can get buggy if you at sitting outside having a drink (or you score a table on the veranda).

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ACS416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked the GR as we were at the end of our journey in Myanmar and I wanted to give the rest of the family a treat after a gruelling fortnight of the road.

It was an amazing welcome from the moment we stepped off the van. What a welcome gong!.

The rooms were beautiful, large, with wooden paneling, a fridge, safe and some comfortable sofas. The feather pillows were such luxury. The daily supply of fresh fruit and free bottles water, bucket of ice delivered daily and the bed was turned down every evening, it was indeed a great experience.

The gardens are really well tended and it was really tranquil. The location is also great, amongst the Embassy mansions. All the gardens nearby were all well maintained.
The breakfast was excellent, many choices, Myanmar, Chinese, cooked breakfast, cakes, pastries, lemon grass crème brulee to die for. I could go on an on, the list is endless. The setting of the restaurant is superb, in between the lovely swimming pool in aquamarine waters and a pool for fish at the opposite end. It seems seamless.
We were invited to join management for Friday drinks which we all rushed back for. The management were all present and was such a lovely touch. There were canapés and drinks provided. We had drinks at the Strand hotel the previous evening, the bar was great but overall the place didn’t somehow match up to GR.
I don’t think my review would make that much difference to GR as the reviews have all been excellent. The only gripe I have with GR - is the lighting in the room. It was very difficult to read. The other negative is the front office/reception, I wish it was as good as what the previous poster had commented. The booking process was very tedious. However, I understand there are IT problems in Myanmar, but the booking process was rather too lengthy. I understand there is now an IT wiz in situ and hopefully things have improved. Reminder (or instructions) at the time of check in and messages left at front reception did not however filter throughout the system. I nearly missed a dear friend due this mishap. All in all a wonderful experience.
By the way, great wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Amas

Thank you for your efforts in writing such a detailed review,good to see that you enjoyed your stay and sorry for the issue that you encountered, we are continuously working on improving our services and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to show you first hand .

thank you and best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed there for a night only but I wished it could have been more. A very kind and efficient service. A very nice place indeed. We simply loved it. Our travel agency forgot to mention that we needed an extra bed for the kids (and also forgot to pay for it) this wasn't a problem. In five minutes we had the bed in place and it was never charged. First class.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TG

Thank you for writing and mentioning that your issues were resolved quickly,we appreciate your positive feedback.

looking forward to your return

best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

As soon as we cleared Customs/Immigration at Yangon Airport, the Driver was there to meet us. He carried our luggage out to the van where we met Mary Ann. Throughout our stay she took care of us and importantly won over our Children.
Our room (611) was a lovely 2 bedroom suite. Our children had their own room which was wonderful, giving us a peaceful evening!
In the afternoons we would relax by the pool where the attendants looked after us very well too.
Breakfast each morning was very peaceful with a nice variety of dishes to choose from.
Thomas was another staff member who was brilliant at looking after us and our children.
He helped with Babysitting and reservations for us at Le Planteur, which is highly recommended.
We stayed for 4 nights then went on to The Strand for 3 nights. We wish we hadn't.
The Governor's Residence was a wonderful experience for our first visit to Yangon. We will be back!!
Thanks to Thomas and Mary Ann in particular for making our stay such a great one.
Andrew & Ange Burt
Manila
Philippines.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Steagnes

Mingalar bar and thank you for taking the time to write, we much appreciate your kind words of praise and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back here sometime soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our home away from home for the first couple of nights of our wonderful trip to Burma / Myanmar in October 2012 was at ‘The Governors Residence’ in Yangon. We didn't stay at one of the large, rather impersonal hotels you can find in any big city centre anywhere in the world. No, we stayed out in the quiet, tree lined streets of the Embassy area. It was a really good choice.

This imposing teak mansion, beautifully restored, decorated to reflect Burmese culture and set in a tropical garden, is a delightful, small hotel.  There are no 'plastic smiles' here. This is a place where you are instantly made to feel at home, part of an extended family. Here we were introduced in a very special way to the genuine warmth and hospitality of the Burmese people. How lucky were we!

Manager Thomas is an excellent hands-on Manager, well respected and liked by all the Burmese staff and instantly liked by his guests. It did not take us long to learn what an excellent establishment he runs. Thank you Thomas. And thank you Me Me, Suzie, Thai Pie and all the staff. You are all gracious, warm and very hospitable.

A popular place in the lovely garden is the pool... especially after a hot day out exploring the city. (All such explorations can be planned by the hotel.) And the food served in this hotel is exceptionally good - fresh and beautifully presented. Thank you Ian and all your staff.

We both highly recommend TGR as part of any journey to this fascinating country.

You can see more of our photos and more description of this hotel on our website at www.jtdytravels.com

Room Tip: We were up on the third floor up among the tree tops and that was great. But as there is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear JTDY

Thank you so much for your rave reviews and for remembering all the staffs names,it was apleasure to have you and we are looking so forward to welcome you back to the Governors Residence sometime soon.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,660 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
610 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,510 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Belmond's international collection of iconic luxury hotels, trains and river cruises, Belmond Governor's Residence is a 1920's teak mansion and hotel situated in the heart of Yangon, Myanmar. Surrounded by lush gardens and lotus ponds, and home to two resident peacocks, the property is a peaceful oasis and retreat from the bustle of downtown. The hotel features the Kipling Bar and two restaurants, including the renowned Burmese Table, a gourmet introduction to the cuisine of Myanmar. The Mandalay Restaurant on the lower level of the mansion serves international fine dining al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lotus ponds. Guests can enjoy swimming in the fan-shaped pool in the gardens or indulge in treatments at the Governor's Oasis Spa. Complimentary daily guest activities and complimentary guest bicycles are provided. The hotel is located near the iconic Shwedagon Pagoda and a short taxi ride to the city center. The People's Park is located within two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing