We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat in a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great retreat in a busy city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Governors Residence is a terrific property located in a residential area that obviously was a diplomatic precinct of Rangoon. As such, it is a little out of town, but it is not a real issue.
The building is an old mansion that has had 'guest houses' added into the garden. The restaurants, bars and verandahs are delightful and it has a magnificent pool which is really refreshing after a had day being a tourist in this interesting city.
Staff, service and food are all impeccable.

Room Tip: upper floor room are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gra1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear gra1sidney

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for the time you took to write about the Governors Residence and its services,we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be lloking forward to your return.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    263
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
177
725
77
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thailandd
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

There is a good reason this is one of the most expensive hotels in Rangoon: it is one of the best by far - the style, the attentive service, the tranquility, and the good food. It is somewhat remote from the centre but a taxi is always on hand and it only costs around $2 or $3 to most locations downtown.
We arrived very early (8.30) expecting merely to drop off our bags, but instead were sat down with complementary drinks and cool towels and our room was ready within 20 minutes. Staff were all courteous, knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast was varied and tasty. The swimming pool was long enough on the outer edge of its crescent shape to allow for decent laps to be done.
Cheap, no. But so long as you intend spending some time in the hotel it is certainly stylish (beautiful teak everywhere) and relaxing. A real colonial throwback, but with modern facilities such as wifi. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfghanHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear AfghanHound

Greetings from Yangon and the Governors Residence,we are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and are sharing this experience with the travelling community out there.

We appreciate that you took the time to write and are looking forward to have you back with us here sometime soon.

With best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here as a birthday treat at the end of a 16 night tour around the country and wasn't disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive without being intrusive and trod just the right line between being friendly without over-familiar. Excellent English spoken by all too!

Room was large and very clean (i think it was a Govenor's room) and the range of food for breakfast meant that we didn't need lunch for a very long time after! Stayed in the hotel for drinks and dinner in the evening too and the food quality and presentation rivaled any London top restaurant.

Special mention to Thomas the manager and Aung one of the dinner waiters for being stars! An excellent advertisement for the Orient Express brand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteLondonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear CharlotteLondonT

Mingalar bar and thank you for your review,we so pleased that we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is most appreciated that you have taken the time to share with the travelling community your recent experience at the Governors Residence, we are looking forward to welcome you back here soon.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked into stay here for two nights at the beginning of our 14 day trip, and ended up coming back at the end.

The staff are incredible and the hotel is a peaceful oasis. The food is quite expensive, but the included breakfast is incredible and there are many restaurants nearby.

I'm looking forward to a return trip just to return here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElishaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear ElishaLondon

Mingalar bar & thank you for your comments on the recent experience you had at the Governors Residence,we are so glad that we met your expectations and would be indeed pleased to have you with us soon.

Best regards from all of us here

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked a family room for 5 of us as the last night in our round Burma tour as we wanted a little luxury. What a disappointment! One toilet and shower in the family suite (in the same room) made getting ready for dinner a nightmare, especially when the shower ran out of hot water. Dinner in the garden was a lovely setting, but utter disaster. Despite our ordering five dinners only four came out, very late. The Burmese platter was barely edible, and a total disappointment as we had expected the best of local cooking.

The prices charged are shockingly high. I would never consider again. The setting is nice, but everything else was a let down.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Richard J


Thank your writing about your experience at the Governors Residence and sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

As your visit has been a while back we are happy to let you know that we have been able to improve on our services and facilities and would encourage you to give us another shot on your next stay in Yangon.

We appreciate all the feedback we get as this gives us a chance to better ourselves

We would be looking forward to welcome you back at the Governors Residence

Best Regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a converted residence into a luxe hotel in a third world country. Everything almost works. Staff is very helpful and attentive. Breakfast is good. Rooms vary and many are up difficult stair access but are spacious with full bathrooms and good amenities. Dinner is varied and good. The buildlng itself is beautifully maintained and obviousl has a great deal of historic character annfelel. As the country develop this will continue to be THE place to stay.

Room Tip: ask about stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear reviewerabc

Mingalar bar from all of us at the Governors Residence,thank you for your review and the kind words on our facilities and service.

We work hard to keep things on a top level and are always most encouraged if we can delight our guests,we most appreciate the time you took to post your comments for the traveling community out there.

Looking forward to have you back here with us sometime soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just back from four wonderful nights at the Governor's Residence.
We loved everything about this hotel.
Great location near several beautiful embassies in a quiet section of Yangon.
Beautiful and well-maintained pool.
Excellent breakfast buffet with local specialities.
Very nice hospitality from all of the staff, especially Me Me.
Thanks again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Family Suite with 1 king bed and 2 twin beds, ideal for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Wland

Thank you so much for your kind review,we much appreciate your time to write,it is a great inspiration to us to get such feedback, this will make us work even harder to assure continued exceptional service at the Governors Residence.

We hope to be able to welcome you back here soon

Thank you again and best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing