We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Really stylish hotel with colonial character. Overall service was excellent, suite very nice and breakfast good. Otherwise some negative points are very hefty prices in their restaurants excluding happy hour from 5pm till 11pm in their bar. Also room minibar prices were almost double compared other 4/5 star hotels in Rangoon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarangPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 745 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice boutigue hotel with a great bar and restaurant, reasonable price point. Needs at least a small gym. Good wifi service, pool and gym will be needed if you were to stay for more then 2 nights. Tea and coffee machine in the room would also be a good addition.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nusadua2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Yangon, and we wanted to stay at the Strand since we were interested in wandering around viewing the colonial architecture in this part of the city. Our family of four had two rooms, both very attractive and well-appointed. The staff was extremely attentive, and we especially enjoyed afternoon tea and an evening drink in the historic bar. Breakfasts were very good, and offered a choice between continental and traditional Myanmar cuisine. Given the traffic congestion in Yangon, we were so glad we stayed in this area where we could spend hours walking - the waterfront was bustling, and the streets were endlessly fascinating. We purchased a book before traveling that I highly recommend if you are interested in the architecture of Yangon and want to do a walking tour on your own: "30 Heritage Buildings of Yangon" written by the Association of Myanmar Architects.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank lauriecoconutgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just arrived back to australia,after visiting my birthplace,many years since evacuating with my mother during the japanese invasion of burma(myanmar).The strand hotel,and ballroom,was where my father and mother used to socialise and dance.The hotel has long been brought back to its original glory in the time of british rule,and likewise the ballroom,was refubished in 1993.It is used now for weddings and parties etc.
The cuisine is based loosely on some burmise fare,at the meal times.There is of course an array of western fare if one desires.The party I was with tried all types of the food available,me included and we were very satisfied,no complaints at all.The service was great,by the native burmise waitresses and men.By the way there is a nice bar,and some shops on the ground floor as well.The hotel is managed by a frenchman with great expertise,and friendliness.We will be returning again in the future,to stay again,where the likes of Somerset Maughn,Peter Ustinov, and David Rockerfeller,and others called home.

Room Tip: I had a suite on the east side facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in an interconnecting room in this lovely colonial hotel in Yangon. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic and the rooms were enormous (with our own butler). It was utter luxury and provided a relaxing place to go back to compared to the hustle and bustle of the noisy Yangon. We also got a 3 nights for the price of 2 deal, which made it more affordable - check out the website for more details.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanASH442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I enjoyed an afternoontea here in the year 2003. Very nice tea and bakery. Cozy but exotic. It was like eating tea but so far away from home. Then they got live music in the lobby. The traditional music came to my ears while relaxing. Great! Would love to go there again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwerty189847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Location
East Central Yangon. Within walking distance of Sule Paya, Botataung Paya, General Aung Sang market, the ferry terminal,many colonial era buildings etc.
20-30 minutes by taxi to Shwedagon Paya
45 minutes to 1 hour to the airport
The only downside of the above is that the immediate surroundings are busy, urban & showing their age badly. You cannot expect a view and front rooms may suffer from traffic noise: Strand Road is a major thoroughfare

Accessibility
No ground floor rooms that I'm aware of. Lift available. Short flight of steps to main entrance. Ramp at a side entrance but looked too steep for a wheelchair. Not under the hotel's control of course but be aware that most Yangon pavements are challenging: steep kerbs, missing/uneven slabs etc.

The hotel
Atmospheric public areas with a more solid, less airy feel than e.g. Raffles in Singapore - perhaps with earthquakes in mind? Out of season lacks the tourist circus feel of Raffles which is much to its' credit.
Service overall was friendly and elegant. Perhaps a little slow but not to excess.

Food
I found the cafe a good first introduction to Myanmar food in tranquil surroundings. The Gentleman's Club atmosphere of the bar makes for a great evening if you don't want riotous entertainment! The Mandalay rum cocktails are highly recommended. For a change, why not walk round the corner to Monsoon for a Myanmar curry?

Rooms
Keep the nets drawn and ignore the surrounding dereliction which the hotel can hardly help! Glorious polished wood floors, high ceilings and beautiful beds and sofas to relax on. A huge bathroom with amazing shower (& separate bath) accompanies. Lovely flasks of toiletries provided which look refillable so are hopefully keeping Myanmar from turning into a plastic bottle mountain.

Room Tip: Front roms likely to be noisy but more interesting outlook. Side rooms very quiet but overlook derel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ptahsuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,860 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,662 reviews
1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
4 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $312 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901The Strand has featured as a landmark of this vibrant city for over a century, offering guests an oasis of calm, timeless elegance and understated luxury. The recent renovation project afforded a complete overhaul of its infrastructure, and restored The Strand to its former glory, featuring marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers and lacquer wood furniture, interspersed with Burmese antiques. Our 24-hour bespoke Butler service attends to the 32 suites, ensuring every whim is taken care of, and The Strand offers guests a welcome respite from the frenetic city, buoyed by the warmth and kindness of the Myanmar people, which remains the very essence of The Strand. Often regarded as the Grand Dame of Yangon, The Strand offers guests the opportunity to languor amidst a rich tapestry of past meets present, seamlessly blending architectural heritage with history, set against a backdrop of Colonial splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing