We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for long stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Been here for a little over two months now. The location is excellent.. Yes the hotel is old and so are the rooms but the staff and management make up for most of it. The sunsets at magical inya lake , the walk in the gardens..we love it all!
The food is OK, though I'd wish for some more variety.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shveta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 477 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had been to the Inya Lake Hotel for numerous times. It had been serving guests for the last 40 years with similar hardware and software. The hotel was built years back by the Soviet Union in the shape of a ship. The facilities within the hotel was considered better than the other hotel within Yangon. However little had been done to improve the hotel. Maybe due to the government's foreign investment policy, it discouraged outside investors.

For a city that needed capacity, it is sad to see a hotel with huge ground area sitting back with no-way-out. Hopefully the present government will come up with a win-win policy that the investor can invest into the improvement on the hotel infrastructure and rooms to cater to the ever increasing guests. Let's wait and see.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki_Singh, General Manager at Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments and despite the amazing location the hotel needs an upgrade.
The good news is that a very significant program is in place to both add capacity and improve the existing product.
We are working on some contractual matters and will ensure the site gets the justice it deserves in respect of development
Kindly contact me when you next visit and I would like to connect with you again
Kind regards,
Suki Singh
suki@inyalakehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here on the last night of our trip to Myanmar and couldn't fault it. It was clean, the staff were pleasant and professional, the room was large with a comfortable bed (& pillows, that isn't always the case in Myanmar). It was a little outdated, as has been mentioned and it also lacks character but fine if you aren't making this a main destination or are on business.
The evening meal in the restaurant was rather disappointing and wouldn't necessarily recommend it as a first choice.
All in all, fine but a little soulless.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedgerows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Inya Lake is an ideal place to stay in Yangon. Aside from Mr Singh and his attentive staff, the location is ideal. Close to the airport, all taxi drivers seem to know the location and convenient to the downtown area as well. To keep up with the increase tourism, Mr Singh and Inya Lake continue to update the rooms.

Situated on several acres bordering Inya Lake, there is a pleasant sense of tranquility around the grounds. The pool is suitable for all ages. There is a large shallow area for children and a larger pool for laps. Poolside service is also available for drinks and food.

Headed back again...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank_Baldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days on business, in the deluxe, lake facing room. Even though the overall feel of the hotel is aged, I was charmed by the peace and quiet throughout the hotel, and also the warmth from the staff.

Waking up early mornings meant enjoying the lovely view of the Inya lake from my large balcony, taking in the greenery and seeing little creatures like squirrels running about the yard. Also loved the walks and runs I took along the lake. The gym was pretty well equipped and machines ran smooth. Swam in the pool as well and found it clean, albeit in need of some revamp.

The simple deluxe room was comfortable and clean, and of good size. Wifi connection was available in the room, and most places in the hotel but connection was iffy from time to time, especially since it was a public network. Being on business, it was sometimes inconvenient.

Had many meals at Orchid Cafe, including the buffet breakfast. Food was generally delicious and at each breakfast, there was a local dish - mainly noodles - which I tried and relished! Variety at breakfast was reasonable although I had wished for some change from day to day. What impressed me most, was the staff at the cafe. Generally, they were attentive and accommodating. Once, a dish I ordered arrived rather late but I received profuse apologies from the staff and they also went through lengths to make up for the slight tardiness. And even though my stay was short, my preferences were already taken into account by a few staff by the 2nd day.

To get to the shops will require a cab ride. It cost about 5000kyat and takes about 20mins if the roads are not jammed, to get to downtown where most shops and some supermarkets are found. Try to avoid the roads between 5.30 - 7pm, as most roads leading to, and around town will be packed. I consider one of the nearest supermarkets to the hotel, to be Citymart at Junction Square, which was about 2-3km away.

Will I return to this hotel? Yes, if peace and quiet is what I'm looking for, especially when I need good space. And a stay that is filled with friendliness and warmth.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CW_6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Mr. Singh and his team made my 3 days stay just perfect. It is good to come back to this quiet place in a city busy with construction on every corner, loud and noisy.
I enjoyed a great brunch on Sunday with free flow of beer, wine and champagne. The ladies in the spa have magic hands and wherever you go the hotel staff will ask if you desire something.
The pool was refreshing and is a great size for lap swimming. I simply felt home away from home. I definitely will be back to this wonderful landmark in Yangon.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank DirkWSKubitschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

It is located on a Huge area near a lake.... Gives you a feel of a resort...
Rooms are a bit outdated but everything works and they do make you feel comfortable. Don't expect a Posh new state of the art hotel... The thing to enjoy here is that it is a bit away from the main road but at the same time getting a taxi is No hassle at all...
Mango trees, Nice pool, jogging track and sitting area near the lake makes it experience of its own.
nice Gym with Sauna and steam... All in all, if you can ignore the old furniture ( or enjoy it ). it wil be a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#31 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon Managed by AccorHotels
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon M...
#48 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
146 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#13 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,078 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,576 reviews
3.6 mi away
Summit Parkview Hotel
Summit Parkview Hotel
#20 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon

Address: 37 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 112233, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $67 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inya Lake Hotel, surrounded by 37 acres of verdant gardens, a serene lake resplendent with lotus, leafy trees and a free-shaped swimming pool offers the perfect retreat for guests to simply sit back and relax. Exploration of Yangon and the surrounding area is also a must and we would be delighted to arrange a variety of tours and excursions for you during your stay with a private guide.A 15-minute drive from the city centre, and 20 minutes from Yangon International Airport, the colonial styled hotel with its teakwood floors and oriental feel evokes charming memories of a by-gone era. The 129 guestrooms are decorated in retro style offering guests astonishing views over the city of Yangon and the Inya Lake.Experience the exotic delicacies of Myanmar, this secret tropical cuisine so redolent of the spices, textures and flavours of both this country and its neighbours. Unwind and enjoy the magic of sunset at the Lake View Bar or just relax at the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Dusit Yangon (Rangoon)
Yangon (Rangoon) Dusit
Dusit Inya Lake Hotel Yangon
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing