We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old worldly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
Ranked #26 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old worldly Hotel”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had large room with balcony overlooking lake-high ceilings, very comfortable and clean
The restaurant was excellent and the staff very kind and gracious.
They were very attentive and friendly-felt very much "at home" at this hotel.
Good location with transportation at hotel on regular basis.
Concierge was very informative and helpful.
I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to any traveller that wants to stay in a park like setting with a lake in Yangon..

Room Tip: The plus for this hotel, is the lovely park like setting with the lake in middle of the hustle and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zebra70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    208
    119
    31
    13
See reviews for
53
107
43
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Back in the day this was THE hotel but it has seen better days. It's a little tired to say the least and the rooms are drab and so are the common areas...lots of wasted space. We had a balcony with no furniture which was good because with the exception of seeing a little of the lake all we saw was trash below. We ate in the dinning room which was drab and served awful food. I suspect in a few years more higher end hotels will be popping up in Myanmar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyStayMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at our recent visit to Yangon, because of the SE Asian games going on there, we could not get a better room in the hotel, for a lake-view room would have been much nicer.

Anyway the room has AC, very clean and comfortable. The dining room serves great buffet breakfast, sometimes also buffet lunch & dinner, with very nice variety and I really enjoyed the local dishes.

The hotel also has very nice shops, a great salon and reflexology foot spa for very reasonable prices and great service.

If you like vintage building, big outdoor grounds and a natural lake environment, away from the busy downtown area, then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view room for the spectacular sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thwangfsdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

One of these old beauties
Colonial classy with landscape garden overlooking Inya Lake
The place has this elegant, charming decadent atmosphere all over
Food is delicious and buffets somehow small but good quality
Used the sport facilities: small gym with limited equipment but clean and with helpful stuff
The pool is old fashioned but large and clean....a long trip to get there, you have to cross roads and gardens and parking lots and the lockers are a bit messy considering such a great hotel
Anywyas, overall it is a great experience but not a full 5 star thing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrosisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Inya Lake Hotel was the only place thta was vailable when we booked….the staff (like all Blocal Burmese people) were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was very dated and minimalistic, the room we were given was large but the bathroom antiquated. The shower was in a very narrow tub, almost borerline dangerous. If they could give the property an upgrade it would be a fantastic place to stay. Overall I gave it an average, the price we paid was simply not worth it, thats Myanmar!

Room Tip: Dont pay the 250.00 USD plus to stay there. You would be better off with the Sedona or even Traders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is built by the Russian in the 60s. Many parts of the building and rooms are upgraded over time in a very slow manner. Size of the room is spacious with higher than normal ceiling. It was a corporate trip so we were given a superior room. Everything is old. Wooden doors to the balcony is basically rotten. Balcony is dirty with one dusty chair. Very under-use. Many rotting areas can be easily detected. Pillows are hard as rock, bed is ok. There were toiletries and fresh towel everyday. If you're at the lake side I am sure you can see nice Inya lake. Daily buffet breakfast not great but decent. Friendly service. Good location. Quieter than Sedona Hotel. In general, this hotel is poorly maintained.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthling2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Fremantle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Selected hotel due to its location (near airport & views over lake). Trouble started with room that was on the same floor as extensive renovations where lots dust and strong odours of fresh paint and varnish everywhere with workers everywhere.

As we were coming back in a few weeks at the end of our visit to Myanmar, we complained and requested a room away from the renovations. We were moved one room down the same hallway on the same floor (again freshly painted).

Taking the hotels advice we went to the 'Happy Hour' to view the sunset over the lake and to get away from the smell. The upside was the two for one drinks during happy hour (6:30 to (9:00pm) on Friday and Saturday nights. We had missed this on the first visit, but to console ourselves, thought we would take advantage the second time at the hotel.

When we got the bill it turned out we have arrived before the 'Happy Hour' started and our bill didn't enjoy any discount despite the majority of the drinks being purchased once 'Happy Hour' started. It seemed the time of arrival was the determining factor not buying drinks during the Not so happy 'Happy Hour'.

Needless to say strong words were exchanged with first the bar staff and later the front desk. A request to discuss with the either the hotel or duty manager was dismissed, as they couldn't be disturbed by these issues.

A visit to the pool area found many loose & broken tiles that could be a danger especially to children.

Overall a very poor experience and a hotel we will never stay at again. By comparison all the other hotels we stayed in Myanmar were exceptional with staff very attentive.

P.S> we did get a token refund on the two for one drinks but only after waiting in the foyer for over an hour.

Room Tip: Insist there are no renovations in progress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChairmanWIFB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#37 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
81 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,381 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#5 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon Managed by AccorHotels
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon M...
#39 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon

Property: Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
Address: 37 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 112233, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inya Lake Hotel, surrounded by 37 acres of verdant gardens, a serene lake resplendent with lotus, leafy trees and a free-shaped swimming pool offers the perfect retreat for guests to simply sit back and relax. Exploration of Yangon and the surrounding area is also a must and we would be delighted to arrange a variety of tours and excursions for you during your stay with a private guide.A 15-minute drive from the city centre, and 20 minutes from Yangon International Airport, the colonial styled hotel with its teakwood floors and oriental feel evokes charming memories of a by-gone era. The 129 guestrooms are decorated in retro style offering guests astonishing views over the city of Yangon and the Inya Lake.Experience the exotic delicacies of Myanmar, this secret tropical cuisine so redolent of the spices, textures and flavours of both this country and its neighbours. Unwind and enjoy the magic of sunset at the Lake View Bar or just relax at the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Dusit Yangon (Rangoon)
Yangon (Rangoon) Dusit
Dusit Inya Lake Hotel Yangon
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing