We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, don't be put off by the name.”

Happy Cafe & Noodles
Cuisines: Asian, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Yangon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, don't be put off by the name.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A nice restaurant with easy going feel and value for money meals. Shame about the sign and name.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank talk2tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    49
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good variety of noodles in a charming location”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Was told that Happy Cafe is now very popular with local celebrities and I can understand why. It serves a good variety of Burmese noodles, some with a modern twist. We were there for breakfast and literally had the entire place to ourselves. It is a lovely cafe/restaurant in a colonial house with al fresco garden seating. Highly recommended for the pleasant atmosphere. Food is good too, if you like noodles. Pricey of course, compared to local eating houses. We also really like a Shan noodle place just round the corner. Once you walk out from Happy Cafe to the main Inya road, turn left. If memory serves me right, it is about 150-200m from Happy Cafe.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FatboyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great spot for casual sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Place was recommended by local resident, lots of choices for noodles n the like, pictures on menu made it an easy place to order even though language capability was only so so for the serving staff. Outdoor deck seating made it a atmosphere that wasn't too local. Noodles were hot and just the right portion, lots of condiments and veggies to freshen things. Dining in Yangon can be a little tough if wanting to try local food with a foreign palate but this was just the tonic. Noodles and rice hard to disappoint.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bwkuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Real Typical Myanmar Food in a Nice Location.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The food here is wonderful. Try the purple rice! Also, they make fresh fruit juices which are terrific on those hot Yangon days. It has become very well known, and deservedly so, so it is best to get there a bit before the lunch time or dinner time crowds, or you may have to wait for a table. My only (small) complaint is that when the electricity failed, which happens all the time in Yangon, they made us "sweat it out" a long time before someone started the generator. I normally wouldn't mention that, but it was 40+ the day we were there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dab107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
287 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
“Burmese Noodle at mansion ?”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

If you want to try Burmese Noodle in an elegant place, this is the place, Happy Cafe & Noodles.
I think there are several outlets in Yangon but the original outlet is a very beautiful mansion ! (close to Inya Lake)
There are nice terrace area and garden. Another outlet is in Gamonepwint Shopping Mall.

I tried one of Burmese Noodles but I can't remember the name, it comes with Deep Fried Pork Skin as complimentary.
It was a great experience to taste a Burmese noodle with lovely surrounding.

The menu of noodle is countless, seriously.
They serve alcohol as well, but the price of alcohol is same as a bowl of noodle :-D
Beside of noodle, they serve rice menu, salad and snacks. I would say, Happy Cafe& Noodles is for Noodle eaters, but the atmosphere is cozy, if you want to sit down in quiet garden having sunshine, you should give it a try.
I needed a taxi after my meal, the staff was very helpful to hail a taxi for me.

Tax and Service will be charged afterward, maybe 17-20%.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Cafe & Noodles also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Happy Cafe & Noodles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing