We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Okinawa Guest House
Ranked #86 of 173 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our third stay at the Okinawa. Paid $7 each for dorm room as this was all that was available. Me Me speaks excellent english and has a reputation for being rude, however he seems to give this impression but once you talk to him he is quite friendly and remembered us from our past stays. Okinawa guesthouse is located on 32nd street near sule pagoda.
Dorms were very clean. Bathrooms could use extra attention.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Okinawa Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 130 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed in the 5 people dorm room. It was just a hot, attic room with thin matrasses next to each other on the floor. Really uncomfortable - so absoluetely no sleep quality.

The shared bathroom was horrible. It smelled like they never clean it. I suppose the fact that there are so few guesthouses in Yangon and so many tourist now is used by this place to just not do anything anymore. The only English pseaking person working there is also very unfriendly, while the other boys are nice, but don't speak English.

The location was OK, but Yangon is anyway pretty small.
The breakfast was fine, however, I would never stay there again. I found another guesthouse in Yangon after one night and moved.

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay.....
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MySunnyDays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

In the old part of town which is the pits - endless broken pavements, trash in the streets. Yangon is a mess. This is a small guest house. My room was $50 a night with two beds, no windows, No hot water, no plug, sort of place we all stayed in when we were 20 and didn't care. Horrible really. If you are a budget backpacker then ok but for anyone else avoid. I needed a wake up call for an early flight and they went out and bought an alarm clock (thank you). The staff sleep in the corridors outside the room. Breakfast is served on a table in the street. Guess you could say it is atmospheric!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was frightened to go there after having read the reviews in Tripadvisor and having paid a room without even seeing it. So I was positively surprised after checking in. It's a really nice wooden house, the rooms have wooden floors. The matresses like on the floor, Japan style. Unfortunately I couldn't see if the rooms were clean cause it's really dark all over the place – except unfortunately at night when the light of the sink room is shimmering through some nice colourful window. Okinawa has dorms too and is altogether quite wafer thin. I guess it's still one of the best cheap accomodations in Yangon.
And it's true what is said about the receptionist: He is very unfriendly – although he has some shining moments of being nice. He doesn't speak English anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OMOOM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

PROS:
- Central location in Yangon (easy walk to most places);
- Aesthetically pleasing within the common areas of the hotel.

CONS:
- Cold showers (poor drainage);
- Toilet access (must walk through wet shower area, which eventually gets dirty as you cannot wear footwear inside the hotel).


Stayed at the Okinawa Guest House for 6 nights with my girlfriend in a double private room ($28 USD/night).

Were welcomed from our taxi by one of the younger family members who wanted to take our bags inside for us. Reception was easy, unfortunately owner was rather apathetic and large A4 forms were required to be filled out (possibly for government reasons), however they didn't mind us paying day by day.

The inside of the hotel was rather aesthetically pleasing. Same goes for the rooms which included A/C, cold shower, toilet and mosquito net (mosquitoes are common inside). The double bed was extremely uncomfortable and essentially felt like a piece of foam. The biggest problem however was the layout of the bathroom whereby you had to walk through the poorly drained shower area to access the toilet. This was problematic after a while as a thin film of water remained on the floor due to poor shower drainage which when mixed with bare feet (they become dirty after taking off your shoes at the hotel entrance) the floor would become dirty and muddy. The lights were also extremely dim however this is to be expected due to the poor power availability.

The free breakfast in the morning which composed of a nice mix of noodles, fruit and both tea and a coffee was also rather nice. No other options to eat were included however a fridge with beer, Coke and large water (300 kyat/bottle) was really handy.

The owner also organised a taxi for us to come the next morning to take us to the airport which was rather nice.

A word of warning though to people departing in the morning, the currency exchange opens up at 9:30 am, there are plenty of them at the airport before the check-in desks as well as just before you enter the plane near the shops. You won't be able to exchange the local kyat currency easily anywhere else in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsyChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Such an awful stay! Dirty, extremely stinky, noisy and just a terrible place. Ants and spiders is something what i can tolerate, but a large worm in my sink is beyond this. Also I travel lots and i can't remember ruder management than here. Breakfast is terribly poor. In a word- i would better spend a night at the airport than at this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trubo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed her in early June 2012. We stayed on the main floor, and it was alright. The walls were a bit thin, leaving little privacy. Staff here are friendly, and we did enjoy the authentic Burmese breakfast. This was little more than a hopping off place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASeanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.2 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#85 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#27 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#51 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#10 of 93 in Yangon (Rangoon)
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
May Shan Hotel
May Shan Hotel
#76 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cherry Guest House
Cherry Guest House
#15 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okinawa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okinawa Guest House

Address: Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $21 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Okinawa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okinawa Guest House Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing