We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty noodles!”

999 Shan Noodle House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We provide the different kind of Shan traditional noodles and Shan cuisine.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very tasty noodles!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Before the trip, I did a research on tripadvisor and found this place. I was so happy I went there. The owner speaks good English. He recommended to try Shan noodles.The noodles was so tasty and the soup was really good. A bowl of noodles costs only 1000-1500 kyat depending on what you order. My husband and I like this place so much that we went back again before we left Yangon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank usahana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    475
    172
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tiny Gem in Yangon”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We ducked in on a rainy October day for lunch. Our guide recommended it and it is great food for rock bottom prices. Our food include Shan noodles with pork and a fried rice noodle with chicken. The owner speaks good English and runs a tight ship. Lunch for four -- 6 bucks total!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lawyer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“cool, cheap and convenient”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

cool little shack. Convenient location. Its reputation among foreign travellers (being reviewed in Lonely Planet, for instance) makes it easy. Staff easygoing and efficient. Good Shan food (although not spicy enough) at affordable prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Farwell Dinner”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We took our driver/guide and his family to dinner on our last night in Yangon. The food was really good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lilysnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great and tasty noodles!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Slightly tricky to find on a side street just down from Trader's Hotel 999 offers some excellent noodles and dishes. Definitely worth time out to try and the prices are very low even compared to other often mentioned tourist friendly places.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank logic8482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 999 Shan Noodle House also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to 999 Shan Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing