We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again, musty dank horrible rooms and god knows why they were putting up their prices from march by 15usd”
Review of Queen's Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen's Park Hotel
Ranked #117 of 152 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never again, musty dank horrible rooms and god knows why they were putting up their prices from march by 15usd”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Terrible place but had to stay as I had no other go. Single standard room on the 4th floor. Window could not be opened. Bed felt a bit damp. Infested with mosquitoes. Noisy aircon. Breakfast was cold toast.

Bathroom was the worst. It stank as there was no proper ventilation. Needs a complete overhaul and shower curtains were absolutely filthy.

Avoid if you can

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayeshasitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
2
11
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My original room was dirty enough, but I was moved to a slightly cheaper room due to availability, and found that I had no windows, the toilet was blocked and there was seepage across the floor. I would have understood if it had been USD20 a night, but at USD50 a night this was well overpriced. Nearby hotels offered clean rooms for the same price. Food, however, was reasonable, and the location was pretty good.

Room Tip: It is worth paying more for a room with a window. Also there is a good restaurant for Burmese Mohing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NxNW39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Aosta, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

As it’s written in every traveller forum it's hard to find a room in Yangon and in every tourist destination in Myanmar, during peak season, besides the prices are double or tripled in the last 12 months.
We couldn't find cheaper so we booked this place as they had room, We stayed in 2 different double rooms - $55/night/room breakfast included, overpriced for what you have but … this is Myanmar!
The rooms looked old and sad because of the dim light and the furniture of low quality, they need a fresh painting.
Location is more or less central, about 10 minutes' walk to Sule Pagoda.

PS: many buses leave early in the morning and the stations are far from the city center; so if you have a early check-out the hotel doesn’t provide you a breakfast pack, even though breakfast is included in the room rate. Instead other hotels and guesthouses also cheaper offer this service.

Would not recommend, unless it's all that's available as was our case.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank galcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallorca spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

stayed here for two nights in jan 2013, i was given room 702 which had a decent view. The room was clean and air con worked perfect, the bathroom was a bit grubby but plenty of hot water and acceptable for the price paid, the staff were very nice and helpful. All in all the place needs a revamp as everything is old and weary but acceptable for the price paid, an added bonus is the restaurant round the corner called you and me who served up the best food i have ever had in my life

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It's hard to find a room in Yangon around the holidays, and the prices are double what the guidebooks were just a year or two ago.. which are already more than double the last editions.

We booked this places as they had room. We stayed in three different rooms - $60, and $55/night. All had mosquitos that prevented any chance of a good nights sleep. I killed a few, but there was always another ready to attack.

There's AC and hot water, and cable.. but that's about it.

The internet room downstairs is usefull, but you will get bitten here for sure as there are more mozzies here than in the room.. wifi would be better, but not available. The staff are not great.. they will help you get a taxi, but will "bargain" you a horrible rate.. you can walk out yourself and catch your own and negotiate a cheaper ride.

Would not recommend.. unless it's all that's available as was our case.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_H_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Queen's park Hotel in Yangon is simply awful : the rooms are dirty, noisy, smelly and without any comfort. Moisture in the bathroom. Not worth at all the USD 75 they charged me.
No remarks were made to people who smoked in their rooms, in the corridors, or in the lobby.
The hotel makes a very tired and badly maintained impression.
In general the hotels in Myanmar are very expensive, compared to other countries in South East Asia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lobby is ugly and depressing. Seems like a place for low budget businessmen. It is very old and tired and for what we paid, did not even get water or wifi or coffee cups & coffee which hotels in same price range offer. Bed is hard. East hotel is 10 times better for same price and also better located.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver Green Hotel
Silver Green Hotel
#112 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pearl Inn
Ocean Pearl Inn
#94 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#51 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Yangon
TRYP by Wyndham Yangon
#91 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#55 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Laurel Hotel
Grand Laurel Hotel
#63 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Park Hotel

Property: Queen's Park Hotel
Address: 132 Anawrahta Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 152 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JovagoAsia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Queen's Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen's Park Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing