We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burmese-Style Inn”
Review of Kaung Lay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaung Lay Inn
Ranked #28 of 173 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not a bad option in Yangon if you like small hotels and if you don't mind staying on the outskirts of town. The rooms are comfortable enough with a lot of carved wood and lacquerware decorations, but don't expect much from the bathroom facilities (water runs cold sometimes) and wifi is super sloooooow. The staff is pretty friendly, too. My favorite part about this hotel is that it's located near Modern Tea House, a local open-air restaurant that serves up tea, cake, pastries, and noodles.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank DKBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Kaung Lay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel: 2 at our arrive in Myanmar and 1 before our return flight. At the first two nights we had a good impression of the hotel. We checked on internet all Yangon hotels, and we were resigned to sleep in an average and overpriced hotel (like New Aye Yar or Panorama or Asia Plaza). We have been many times in Yangon, and we already been in all these hotels, pleasant places , such as the Traders, and they are now unreachable for us.
We took the deluxe room at the highest floor, the room was nice , completely covered by wood, and a lot of small terraces, where you can read a book or smoke a cigarette. The hotel is located far from downtown, but with 2000/2500 kiat taxi ride you can reach Sule Pagoda or Shwedagon or the lake. But the second time the impression was not so good, the bathroom (the wc) was not clean, the sheets were stained and we had to kill as many as 3 cockroaches. The hotel is, however, a good compromise and represents a quite good value for money in Yangon, where the prices of the hotels have tripled , but their quality remained the same.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isoladilipari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in another hotel earlier in our trip closer to downtown which cost 55$ and was just about OK. This was only 30$ and SO much better. Room felt very clean and new. Great staff and good location on quiet side street. Def better to avoid the overpriced downtown hotels and stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 111Sarah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

the hotel have a good location , the staff is super friendly , but the rooms are dark and most off the time there was no water , i have checkt no other hotels in Yangoon so i can t compair ,
price quality ok . no wifi .

Room Tip: check out wat room you want
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pearlppland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

To resume: eleven days of stay. Arrival 3pm 35°C in the room and I put the slow air conditionned...Asking for only fruits for the morning breakfast only two bananas then I have to argue: the answer we are not a five star!...then 2days no cleaning and taking care of the room. Then I was absent 3 days but paid the room.When I come back at night the room is not done (the bed not done, the room not cleaned, no new towel). Last event my lotus scarf 100$ value missing. The answer nobody came in your room with myanmar language comments that I could not understand.
I wish you good luck if you have holidays there.

Room Tip: last floors rooms are better whatever the stairs are narrow and dangerous.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thierry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Needed a room for a night at short notice and this turned out to be the most reasonable option. Emails were responded to promptly. Staff were friendly. $30 incl breakfast is reasonable for Yangon at this time of the year. The room smelled moldy and the bathroom shower leaked throughout the stay. Wifi signal did not reach the room. We were glad to have got a room for this price, and were equally glad to leave and move to a nicer place downtown for $60.

Room Tip: The rooms have different levels of 'moldiness' - try to smell a few before selecting
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loneranger76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel was great. The room we had (on the top floor) was very nice. Air-con, hot water shower, fridge, comfy bed and very clean. There was also a lovely common area on the top floor and a restaurant on the third floor. (Breakfast included but we didn't partake due to a very early flight.)
The staff are very helpful and organised taxis for us and/or told us the going rate for a fare downtown. The receptionist speaks very good English.
The hotel is a little further out from what could be considered downtown Yangon (Shwedagon Pagoda or Scotts Market) but it is in a very quiet and peacful setting. A taxi to Scotts market only took a few minutes and was only 2000kyat.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stairs are quite steep but staff will help with any bags. Top floor rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#28 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Palace Hotel
Eden Palace Hotel
#136 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
8 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shwe Eain Taw
Hotel Shwe Eain Taw
#78 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pho Sein
Hotel Pho Sein
#114 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alamanda Inn
Alamanda Inn
#25 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
221 reviews
1.0 mi away
KH Hotel Kokkine
KH Hotel Kokkine
#54 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaung Lay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaung Lay Inn

Address: 75B Moe Ma Kah lane Bahan township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $20 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaung Lay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, JovagoAsia, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Kaung Lay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaung Lay Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing