We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservations needed”

Mandalay Restaurant at Belmond Governor's Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $52
Cuisines: European, Asian, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the exotic, local cuisine of Myanmar, with its subtly blended spice, or select from a wide variety of European fine-dining specialties. Mandalay Restaurant at Belmond Governor's Residence benefits from a romantic location, surrounded by tropical gardens and lotus ponds. Dishes are created with carefully selected local and seasonal quality products and also with love, enthusiasm and passion.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Reservations needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went for dinner at the Governors Residence. The food was delicious and well presented. Try the home made ice cream and fresh leaf mint tea. The service was outstanding. The location in the garden of the hotel lovely. The pricing is appropriate for the standard. Reservations were recommended and necessary.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    99
    37
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
394 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had dinner at the Mandalay our first evening in Yangon. The tropical garden setting is magnificent and the food was excellent. The food was beautifully presented and served.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Several Lovely Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have just spent 5 nights at the Governor''s Residence and several lovely meals at Mandalay Restaurant, lunch and dinner.
The food was lovely, really worthy of good restaurants anywhere in the world. Perhaps I would have liked a little more Myanmar food. The setting lovely, sitting on the verandah under the stars, great. The service excellent, again as good as any all over the world. We also had the buffet breakfast and again the service excellent. Me Me "'the manager"' said her aim was to have great staff and I can assure you she has. They knew exactly what to do when, very friendly and helpful, with a great manner.
Chef Iain has a wonderful kitchen staff, congratulations on a great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carltonCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Last month (January 2013) we went for dinner at The Governor's Residence,what can i say,except that the food was superb and the service excellent,in the beautiful residence all set in a magnificent tropical garden.This was our first trip to Yangon and the dinner was undoutably the most unforgettable experience.We will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovingly prepared, beautifully presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

we enjoyed all our meals at the Mandalay. Chef Ian has put together an ambitious yet unpretentious menu for this lovely spot. The team had no problem creating vegetarian meals for one traveller. The tomato shooters were great! Staff service from restaurant through bar all excells without suffocating. We did not go out to eat as we were so happy with all offered.
Breakfast buffet was one of the best. The menu, selection and pricing outdoes The Strand.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apsaramaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandalay Restaurant at Belmond Governor's Residence also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Mandalay Restaurant at Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing