We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget to see the Turtles!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Botahtaung Pagoda

Botahtaung Pagoda
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
3-Hour Cultural and Historical Walking Tour in Yangon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't forget to see the Turtles!!!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I actually liked this pagoda more than the others in Yangon because it had a lot more character. The 3 dollar entrance fee for foreigners was just par for the course in Burma but I thought I got my money's worth on this one. The highlights for me were the turtle pond, amazing photo opportunities as monks ask for alms against a brilliant golden background, an area to throw money into bowls to make wishes (Burma has no coins so you can buy folded money from a lady next to it). I wouldn't put much stock in Buddah's hair relic, it was crowded and not that cool, but the rest of the temple was really neato!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    325
    139
    19
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the only Stupa you can go inside and well worth a look it is...

The walls were lined with intricately carved / molded gold. Totally overwhelming...

Not much else to see here though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chilliedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Quite a sweet temple, and you can then walk down to the river and watch the action down there - a market, some boats etc.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
789 reviews
467 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
“very golden and very decorated”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The one thing that is special about this Pagoda is that normally you cannot get inside and the relics cannot be seen. In this case it is different you see the relics, you see the donations that Buddhist have given and you see the inside.

Alone for this it is worth a visit. Of all the Pagodas we visited in Myanmar (and they were quite a few) this is the one with the most delicate ornaments.

Around is a nice little place and do not miss the two pools which house the turtles. If you want to outside are dozens of small shops to sell donations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The sacred relics and a nice stroll around the temple”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The area of this temple is around a jetty for many local ferrys and small taxi boats, just walk down the temple and pass the Monk's residences and see the river. When you go into the temple you see an amazing golden maze where the sacred tooth relic of the lord buddha is enshrined in pure golden box. When you get out, walk around the temple to see the pagoda and then after the visit, I took the 1000 kyat taxi (3 minutes) to the Strands hotel and have a drink in their bar, the hotel is over a 100 years old.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AsianTravelGuru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botahtaung Pagoda also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Botahtaung Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing