We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price they charge, especially during off season, not worth the stay.”
Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #36 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Highly priced for the quality of rooms and service.

Room given to me was with no natural light. Clean alright, but they did not change the sheets for the entire time I was there - about a week.

The service - Not up to the mark. The staff was untrained, not empowered to take the smallest of decisions. The bell boys, restaurant, and support staff very kind and helpful otherwise.

The best thing about the hotel is its Restaurant, it over looks the Shwedegon Pagoda, the view at night is stunning. Ask for "Myanmar Food" which is not on the menu and they make these dishes quite tasty. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puljal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 295 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is spotless, great location and super nice people. We had booked one night and then booked another and then again at the end of the trip. Be aware that this is not the Clover in the city central which the taxi first took us to and looked not very good and is on a street with construction. This clover is on a very nice street within walking distance to the Pagoda. The breakfast is good and all the staff are so helpful. They helped us with all our travels needs. Also, there is a beautiful view of the pagoda on the 7th floor where the restaurant is. Also, the food in the restaurant is really good. We would go back for sure. We booked it on Agoda which helps since you can't use your credit card in Myanmar and that way we could keep some cash.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 rooms and they were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haunani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Like most hotels in Myanmar cash only for this one. It is situated near the Schwedegon Pagoda which is a mesmerizing view from the hotel restaurant. I chose this hotel for its location near the pagoda, although it was really affordable for how well kept it was. The street it is on has many taxis and local eateries. The only difficult part was not being close enough to walk to the city center. Cab rides are very affordable but are necessary to get to everything else. Overall the hotel compared to others I saw was a great deal and a little more modern and has a good complimentary breakfast alongside a helpful staff if you want to arrange train or bus tickets. No regrets!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antoinetteCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

In Yangon for 100 US Dollars, one can barely afford a mid-level hotel. And out of all the hotels I have stayed in Yangon, I found this hotel bearable. It is pretty basic with basic comforts. The room is large. It is clean. The linen is polyster and unbearable.
The breakfast is nice with a proper western menu.
The staff is very polite, courteous and try hard.
The laundry takes more than a day to get back to you.
The reception is decent and always try and help out.
The stairway outside the room is a bit cluttered and the housekeeping staff hangs out blocking the stairs.
The room service can be messed at times due to poor knowledge of English. But they try to make amends and correct their mistakes at their own cost.
Well, I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lata I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at the Clover Hotel for several nights. Although quite small and out of the way down a side street, the staff were kind, the rooms were clean and air conditioned, wireless internet was freely available, and electricity was continuous thanks to a back up generator. The top floor restaurant, which offers a simple breakfast, has an excellent view of the Shwedagon Paya. The hotel is not too far from the middle of town.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit the top floor restaurant to see the view, even if you don't eat there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was just right for an overnight stay in Yangon. The staff was attentive and helped us arrange with our travel agents dropping off airline tickets. The rooms were fine, decor is a little random, but it did the job of a hotel room. We weren't far from the Shwedagon Pagoda, we were able to walk there in about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location is very good, just behind Traders Hotel. The access road is more like a back alley, very congested and a car can barely get through. The Bellboys are attentive and the check-in was efficient. The room was US100.- per night and as usual you have to pay in advance and go through the rigour of careful examination of your US$100 note to make sure its brand new and crisp!
The room is spacious but spartanic. Two narrow single beds with very firm mattress and a low quality polyester pillow. There is no wardrobe or the like, just an open concept hanging rail for your clothes. The working desk is large but cluttered with a Safety deposit box that is not fixed (so just grab it and break it open later ) Hairdryer, Tea/Coffee tray and leaflets.
The free Internet worked but is extremely slow, probably a 256 bandwidth.
The biggest disappointment is the bathroom. The shower is sort stuck to the side of the room with no shower-tray or curtain etc. So if you take a shower the whole bathroom gets soaked........that is if there was any water pressure. As there isn't any water pressure it renders the shower useless. Its just a dribble and a bit of water pulsating as the Jockey pump is hopelessly trying to provide some pressure. The Aircon and TV are fine and they have some decent international channels. The room has no black-out facility so be prepared for a bright room at night.
The breakfast didn't make the mark. Its a set breakfast and they just serve it to you so no idea if there are any choices. You get a plate with a big bun in the middle floating on baked beans with a fried egg on the side, some cauliflower and what resembles two small pieces of sausage. The coffee was coloured water with no flavour whatsoever.
With demand for hotel rooms in Yangon high they can charge these rates but when the tide changes they will feel the pinch first and their rates will head south very quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#40 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#44 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#28 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#24 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#33 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
263 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#19 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $49 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing