We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not far from the Shwedagon Pagoda”
Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was just right for an overnight stay in Yangon. The staff was attentive and helped us arrange with our travel agents dropping off airline tickets. The rooms were fine, decor is a little random, but it did the job of a hotel room. We weren't far from the Shwedagon Pagoda, we were able to walk there in about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 290 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location is very good, just behind Traders Hotel. The access road is more like a back alley, very congested and a car can barely get through. The Bellboys are attentive and the check-in was efficient. The room was US100.- per night and as usual you have to pay in advance and go through the rigour of careful examination of your US$100 note to make sure its brand new and crisp!
The room is spacious but spartanic. Two narrow single beds with very firm mattress and a low quality polyester pillow. There is no wardrobe or the like, just an open concept hanging rail for your clothes. The working desk is large but cluttered with a Safety deposit box that is not fixed (so just grab it and break it open later ) Hairdryer, Tea/Coffee tray and leaflets.
The free Internet worked but is extremely slow, probably a 256 bandwidth.
The biggest disappointment is the bathroom. The shower is sort stuck to the side of the room with no shower-tray or curtain etc. So if you take a shower the whole bathroom gets soaked........that is if there was any water pressure. As there isn't any water pressure it renders the shower useless. Its just a dribble and a bit of water pulsating as the Jockey pump is hopelessly trying to provide some pressure. The Aircon and TV are fine and they have some decent international channels. The room has no black-out facility so be prepared for a bright room at night.
The breakfast didn't make the mark. Its a set breakfast and they just serve it to you so no idea if there are any choices. You get a plate with a big bun in the middle floating on baked beans with a fried egg on the side, some cauliflower and what resembles two small pieces of sausage. The coffee was coloured water with no flavour whatsoever.
With demand for hotel rooms in Yangon high they can charge these rates but when the tide changes they will feel the pinch first and their rates will head south very quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a basic room. Good air-con, reasonably clean and quiet, but GREAT wi-fi. The wi-fi is included with the room, available everywhere, and quite fast relative to other places in Myanmar.

The lobby is quite modern, the rooms a bit less so. The breakfast is OK, mostly noodles and Asian choices, but they do have eggs and what passes for toast. The breakfast area is quite spacious and has a truly spectacular view of the Shwe Dagon pagoda.

The location is good. It’s on a reasonably quiet back street but not so far out of the way that you won’t find a taxi. For the tourist it’s great to be near the Shwe Dagon and it’s a short taxi to the downtown areas. The staff are helpful with the taxis.

This is a smart choice for the business traveler that doesn’t need the 5 star. It’s a bit basic but adequate. You can probably argue about the value for money here but I don’t know about Yangon prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It's a pretty small hotel, but there's a housekeeping room at every level, thus they react fast when in need. The staff were friendly, except that language could be a barrier.

We had some issues with the dripping aircon on our first night, and only managed to change room the next day. The 2nd room which we changed to had issues with leaking aircon too, but it's minor as compared to the first night, thus we only need to shift the bed to avoid it.

Considering it's a 2-star hotel, it's pretty expensive.

Room Tip: There isnt swimming pool/fitness center. For customers who would like to have the view of the Shw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel is in a great location to visit Shwedagon pagoda (USD$5 or 5,000k) and Kandawgyi lake (USD$2 or 2,000k). Rooms are clean, air con is great and plenty of hot water. Beds somewhat hard, but this is the norm in this part of Asia.

Breakfast is simple but edible. We had dinner one night which was good value (big serves!) and provided a great view of the pagoda.

Staff are highly variable; most are brilliant and will do anything possible to assist you. Others, not so much. Note they never seem to have change for the 1,000kyat note so keep some small notes handy if you don't want to be making donations constantly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Friendly staff, eager to assist. Guestroom is simple, neat and clean. Deluxe corner room is quiet. Aircon works well. Very comfortable beds. Spacious room and can accommodate an extra bed. Shower head leaks when in use. The bathroom emits poop smell in the night but as long as the door is closed, it is fine. Lunch at Clover on Level 7 (in house restaurant) is delicious. The hotel is close to Kandawgyi Park, wallking distance to Garden Bistro, Bangkok Kitchen if you do not mind the intense heat during the day. Overall, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSmith413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We didn't have much of a choice as this was the only Yangon hotel available within our budget at the time of booking. We only stayed here one day before traveling on to see the rest of this amazing country.

The hotel would have been fine at $25-50 range max. We paid over $100 and it was just not worth the money. Stinky bathroom, noisy public areas (noise permeated through our rooms all day and night), rushed service, rooms that were not very clean .. I guess they are struggling to keep up quality with the newly placed tourist demands.

The only positive - 10-15min walk to Shwedagon! (perhaps a nice view if you overpay for one of the rooms)

Do not recomemnd

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illusions328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#34 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#41 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#28 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#23 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#31 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#24 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $42 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing